Teresa & Cricket
Member Since 2018
Hi everyone,
I'm new here and new to my Cricket Cakes having diabetes.
Specifically looking for anyone who has experience with a cat friend who has/had both diabetes and Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy with Congestive Heart Failure.
She went into CHF back in February, with no previous signs of HCM. It was a shock, but she stabilized within a month on her diuretics and has no signs of clotting. She's doing very good on the heart side for someone in CHF.
Hyperglycemia showed up 1 month ago.
We've been having a hard time getting her BSL down (I didn't know about 1/2 and 1/4 slow increases yet, vet increased 1U per week)
I did some looking and saw references to Furosemide (Lasix), her diuretic, potentially interfering with insulin.
Has anyone here had this experience in real life?
Out of concern, I altered the timing of her diuretic over the past few days.
I used to give it 2-4 hours after food mixed in a tblsp of TikiCat mousse (no carbs) which also meant 2-4 hrs after insulin.
I'm now giving it to her either 10 min before food or within 1 hour of eating and taking insulin. Hoping it will help.
Vet says if it doesn't help, he wants to raise insulin more.
Bright side: today I got my first <300 reading at her afternoon nadir: 285.
Anyway, if anyone has knowledge about diabetic cats concurrently on diuretics, I would love to hear what you have to say.
Thank you!
Teresa
I'm new here and new to my Cricket Cakes having diabetes.
Specifically looking for anyone who has experience with a cat friend who has/had both diabetes and Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy with Congestive Heart Failure.
She went into CHF back in February, with no previous signs of HCM. It was a shock, but she stabilized within a month on her diuretics and has no signs of clotting. She's doing very good on the heart side for someone in CHF.
Hyperglycemia showed up 1 month ago.
We've been having a hard time getting her BSL down (I didn't know about 1/2 and 1/4 slow increases yet, vet increased 1U per week)
I did some looking and saw references to Furosemide (Lasix), her diuretic, potentially interfering with insulin.
Has anyone here had this experience in real life?
Out of concern, I altered the timing of her diuretic over the past few days.
I used to give it 2-4 hours after food mixed in a tblsp of TikiCat mousse (no carbs) which also meant 2-4 hrs after insulin.
I'm now giving it to her either 10 min before food or within 1 hour of eating and taking insulin. Hoping it will help.
Vet says if it doesn't help, he wants to raise insulin more.
Bright side: today I got my first <300 reading at her afternoon nadir: 285.
Anyway, if anyone has knowledge about diabetic cats concurrently on diuretics, I would love to hear what you have to say.
Thank you!
Teresa