It is best if Kya has a good meal before the shot. Novolin can start acting in as little as 1 hour ( depending on the kitty) so having a good meal on board before the shot will help make sure the numbers don't drop too rapidly. With novolin it is suggested that you test...feed the meal...and give the shot 30 minutes later.
Temptation treats are higher carb and can cause glucose numbers to rise, so using something like a bit of plain chicken or a little bit of tuna as a treat are better.
Since you are doing a good amount of hometesting you could start with the 1 unit dose TWICE a day at the next shot time.
The information below is from the link I posted above and has some good information on starting doses and reviewing the dosing. My thought is that once you start on a lower dose given twice a day you should see less big swings in the glucose levels.
"
STARTING DOSE - N/NPH
Usually it’s best to start with no more than 1 unit of insulin, twice a day.
Post on the forum for advice specific to your own situation.
Generally speaking, for newcomers to N/NPH it’s recommended that no insulin is given if the BG is below 250 [13.8] on a human glucose meter. And you may wish to use a slightly higher ‘no shoot’ number such as 300 mg/dL [16.6 mmol/L] in certain circumstances. (See ‘Blood Glucose Reference Information’ further down the page).
If you’re using a
pet meter,
such as Alphatrak 2, be aware that these usually give slightly higher readings than human meters, so you may wish to have a slightly higher ‘no shoot’ number.
There is no general formula for converting human meter numbers into pet meter numbers (or vice versa). You are therefore encouraged to perform your own side-by-side comparisons with a human glucose meter, and/or to consult your vet for information about the specifics of your particular meter.
Note: Because the ‘no shoot’ threshold levels are often slightly higher for N/NPH insulin than for other insulins, it is particularly important that you monitor your cat’s urine for ketones. See ‘Testing For Ketones’ section further down the page.
- If, after at least a week, and having reviewed your cat’s BG levels, the dose doesn’t seem sufficient, dose increases may be considered in very small increments. Increasing doses of N/NPH needs to be done with great care. DO post on the forum for advice if you are considering dose increases for your cat. And if in doubt consult your vet.
- If you have reason to be concerned about hypoglycemia, or if your cat won't eat, decrease the dose immediately and contact your vet.
- Don’t ever inject insulin twice! Sometimes we may not be sure if we’ve given an insulin shot correctly. Perhaps we notice that the fur seems wet where we’ve injected (a 'fur shot'). If this happens, never repeat the shot/ injection. You may give too much insulin and your cat’s BG may drop too low. We have a saying regarding BG levels: “Better too high for a day than too low for a minute.” Safety first!
UNDERSTANDING 'ONSET, PEAK / NADIR and DURATION'
N/NPH can start to have an effect soon after it’s been injected. It may start to drop BG well within 60 minutes. The point at which the insulin starts to have an effect is called
onset. After onset, BG will continue to drop for a time, and the process may speed up. Be aware that N/NPH typically drops the BG fast, but this is not the case in all cats. ‘Home testing’ will help you to determine how the insulin works in your cat.
The lowest BG level of the cycle is referred to either as
peak (peak insulin activity) or
nadir (lowest BG). Experience of N/NPH on this forum has shown that the time of the peak can be quite variable, and, depending on your cat’s own response to the insulin, you may see this anytime between 2 - 6 hours after the insulin shot; though in most cats it will be between 3 - 5 hours after the shot. With N/NPH it is particularly important to know when the peak/nadir of the cycle typically occurs in your cat.
The length of time that insulin remains active (lowers BG) in your cat’s system is called the
duration. N/NPH typically has a shorter duration than other insulins, with some cats only getting around eight hours. But your cat may get a longer duration.
‘Home testing’ will help you to determine when onset, peak /nadir, and duration typically occur on a given dose of insulin. Knowing these patterns can be extremely useful, and will help you to keep your cat safe.
"
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/beginners-guide-to-novolin-humulin-nph.186097/