Having trouble with dosing-advice please! (Prozinc)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mere.bear3

Member Since 2021
Hi all - my vet started my cat on 3u and after low numbers, we went down to 2, then agreed to 1. I was able to do 3 doses in a row at 1u but was too low to give tonight’s PM shot. Should I try dropping to .75u tomorrow? TIA!!
 
Hi!
I am way too new to comment on dosing, other than to suggest you read the Start Low, Go Slow post to really absorb how that method works (you hold a dose for several cycles but dose decrease or increase is based on the nadir, not the pre-shoot numbers), but I want to ask if you plan to transition to low carb foods soon. Royal Canin Glyco dry and Purina DM are pretty high in carbs.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/
 
Last edited:
do 0.75 but try to be consistent. If the preshot is under 200, stall without feeding for an hour and see if it's going up. If it is then you can shoot.
 
I would also encourage you to get some tests in during the PM cycle. It is just as important as the am cycle. Cats often drop lower at night.
Try and get into the habit of getting a before bed test. If that test is lower than the preshot BG I would set the alarm and get up and test later to see if the BG has dropped low.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top