have to go to a wedding on Saturday - can i skip a shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

higgs

Member
Hi Everyone!

My best friend is getting married on Saturday. I have no friends who aren't going to be there, and no family that lives close by, no neighbours that i trust with Tony...

Tony's numbers (pre shot) have bounced around as of late from 9mmol to 25mmol (or 160ish to 450) but is usually in the low 20's. i have no one to shoot or test glucose this coming saturday. I'm in the wedding party and my fiencee doesn't drive so we can't get home to give him his shot.

I've only started a spreadsheet, but with my wedding coming in less then 2 weeks, and my best friends wedding, i haven't had 2 seconds to work on a sheet... :S

Can i miss a shot and continue on with them on sunday? are there other good options?
 
actually, my fiancee can get a ride home at 4:30pm to test and give the shot.

so here's another question - we normally shoot at 7am/pm if she tests and his suger is high enough to give a shot, can we give a shot earlier? then go back to 7 & 7 on Sunday?

again, we test before every shot.
 
Hi Higgs, and, of course, you too, sweet Tony,

A couple of thoughts...

Do any of our dear Canadian friends here on The Board live near you and Tony? That's a blessed and trained option...

Do any of the vet techs at Tony's vet, free-lance? Meaning, might they be able to come in, test, feed, and shoot him? Or, is boarding him at his vet's an option?

Okay, so that's technically a few thoughts... Skipping a shot probably won't be the end of the world. But, since he tends to run a bit on the high side (360+ in the US), are you testing for ketones? And, will you be leaving dry food as well as canned food?

Or? Could Tony go with you? Some cats love traveling! Gizzie loved going to Grandma's! She preferred the chauffeured-driven position in her carrier in the back seat with the door open and the carrier belted. Nikki likes riding shot gun! So, her carrier is belted and the door is closed. Nikki doesn't have opposable thumbs or know how to drive a stick shift...

A little cooler for the insulin worked/works... Pack syringes, meter, lancets, food, litter box and sifter, toys... Maybe a woobie (blanket/afghan...)...

I personally love(d) traveling with Giz then and Nikki now. Didn't even mind that their packing list exceeded mine...

Speaking of exceeding, I've way exceeded a couple of thoughts...

Enjoy your best friend's wedding! As for your upcoming wedding, we want to see photos of Tony being Best Cat...

Love and countless happy hugs for you, your fiance, your best friend, and for Tony,
Deb and Nikki -- and, Giz, who taught me every single way to think outside the box...
 
Did I read you were on Canninsulin? When is your Tony's usual nadir? Since Canninsulin has no shed and when it is gone, it is gone, probably this would be okay, especially if his lowest point is before the time your fiance would plan to shoot. You could shoot a reduced dose early and then get back on schedule on Sunday.

You can also skip. It would be nice if it were a day he was running in the 200s, not 400s, if you are going to skip.

Or if you are going to get home say 3 hours after his normal shot time, you could shoot a dose then, monitor and see where he is the next morning.
 
Great...

Thanks guys! He definitely does not like to travel :) though if the car were parked, he'd eventually just end up napping. Thanks for reminding me about ketosticks! i don't have any, the last time he was at the vet he had no trace, and his sugar was even highr than it is now. but that was a couple weeks ago.

He gets no dry food anymore, but surprisingly his blood sugar didn't drop too much with the food switch.

He is indeed on caninsulin and his naider is usually between around +6 hours. We could board him, which is what we're doing for our wedding. Good question about the vet tech's. one has a diabetic cat... maybe i'll ask them. It's $24 to board him per night including giving 2 shots (evening and morning), and $18 for a local company to come in and do it (and play with him) haha

Thanks for the advise guys, I'm thinking my fiancee will probably just go home at 4:30 and test/shoot - if needed at that point. I'd prefer not to skip given his usual high numbers...

You guys are awesome!
 
What are the times you leave and return?

Is it possible to adjust the times by either 15 minues per shot or 30 minutes per day to move them earlier or later so that the shooting times are closer?

Its the same strategy as adjusting for Daylight Savings time changes.

And in a real pinch (ie, prone to ketones), you might consider the split dosing option discussed in this post.
 
wow, i never would have thought about split dosing.. what a great thread.

I'm going to pick up some ketostix tonight on my way home from work. Tony seems to only pee while we're at work, or over night.. maybe he's shy! haha (he's definitely NOT shy :D )

again, at the vet, his sugar was way high but no trace of ketones. We made the assumption that since his sugar is lower now (though still high) he wouldn't have keytones.. but i guess he still could. He's been slowely putting weight back on though, so we also assumed that is a sign that his body is not breaking itself down and is begining to use the food for energy....

sorry that was way off topic...

I'm going to go read some posts about keytones and get myself more educated about them...

In the meantime, we'll test and shoot at 4:30 on saturday... and test again at 2am wehn we get home to see where he is at, and go back to 7 & 7 on Sunday. his sugar only usually drops from 450 to 250 after a 4 unit shot.. so he's still quite high. I know some of the folks on here shoot after a 250 reading!

my assumption is even at nadir (if he's still 250) - i could shoot a 1 unit shot and he'd still be fine... of course i NEVER would.
 
Oliver would never pee with an audience. We bought aquarium gravel put it in a clean litter box (they can't stand a clean box...) and waited outside the door for him to go. Because the gravel didn't absorb the urine, it was easy to get a sample. Other people use lentils (I know, we are crazy cat people) and torn newspaper.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top