Harry's diabetic chart & info

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
Hello!

I am new to this, I have one forum which many people have already responded to, with regards to his new diabetic nature. . . . he's had 1 unit twice a day, (bid?) for a week now, and has gained back 1 pound since e initially lost over 1/3 of his body weight over the last several months. (and then we found out it was diabetes)
So I have been advised by helpful cat owners on this site to open this forum with his insulin dosages and info.
I have below the link which I have just started for his GB's and all other notes. I was going to keep track on paper at home (which I have been doing), but I would like any advice or tips that could be useful in a newbie with a pissy-at-times black cat please!

https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AtKESmI8aCo8dGtESGhlY2d4bkNSQXUwZUk0WjFSaHc&output=html

Thanks for everything so far - this site is amazing!! Where can I send a thank you card!!!!
- Helena & Harry

....And if the link doesn't work, how do I make this available for people to click onto? Sorry, again pretty new at this and trying to figure it out...?
 
chatcat24 said:
Hello!


(url)https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AtKESmI8aCo8dGtESGhlY2d4bkNSQXUwZUk0WjFSaHc&output=html(/url)

....And if the link doesn't work, how do I make this available for people to click onto? Sorry, again pretty new at this and trying to figure it out...?


Replace the parentheses with the brackets [ ] to make the link clickable.

Code:
[url]https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AtKESmI8aCo8dGtESGhlY2d4bkNSQXUwZUk0WjFSaHc&output=html[/url]

https://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=0AtKESmI8aCo8dGtESGhlY2d4bkNSQXUwZUk0WjFSaHc&output=html

Don't forget to put the SS link in your signature :smile:
 
Hi again!

I am doing my best to post the info into the ss, but have some questions:
- I had given him his insulin in the a.m. and had four GB tests done thru the day, and another insulin shot in the evening (after his last GB test). I've tried to enter the first line in the ss showing this....
So I guess I'm asking if I have 2 GB's in the "a.m." and 2 GB's in the "p.m.", I appropriately put the info into the a.m. and p.m. spaces?

-Do most people put what amount of food their cat ate and when, also?

-Do most ss also show the decimal (ex. 331.2, instead of 331) of the exact GB test numbers? Or, is it not necessary?

Thanks again everyone!!!!!

Helena & Harry
 
Welcome Helena.

First and foremost, read the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. There is a HUGE amount of information there -- too much to digest initially -- but it will help you get oriented to Lantus Land and how we do things here. Don't worry -- everyone is overwhelmed at first. There are a lot of people here and we will all lend a hand.

Harry's spreadsheet (SS) - The test before you give a shot in the morning is Harry's AMPS (AM pre-shot) BG test. The same for PMPS. If you get a test 3 hours after you gave Harry his shot, that's your +3. We do everything in +hours because we have members here from all over the world and to talk in terms of what time it is on your clock, will make no sense since we don't know what time zone you're in.

I would encourage you to always get a test before you shoot. It's the only way you will know if it's safe to give a shot. We also encourage you to get at least one test during each cycle. Most of us test more than that but one spot check in the AM and one in the PM cycle are the minimum. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point of the cycle, the nadir, not the pre-shot BG number. That's why those spot checks are important.

The decimal isn't necessary on the US form of the SS. I'm guessing you're from outside of the US and use a meter that is calibrated differently than a US calibrated meter.

If you use your SS to keep track of food, that's fine. Most people, if they are tracking food, do so either in the comments section or create an additional column for food information.

Please ask questions. The people here are very generous with their time and experience and knowledge. Take a look at our condos (the daily thread we open -- one condo, per cat, per day) and our SSs. It's a great way to learn. And please post often. We're here to help.
 
Alright, I shall peruse the sticky notes! Thanks for the tip. I have been testing pre-shots before food has been given, but question - how do I access / edit / add-on to the ss thru google? Is there a search I can do? (either in this site or with google?)
I have done a brief search thru google and can't find my ss - that I can access, that is. (edit)

Help?

thank you!!!
 
I'm not sure if this will work.

Click on the link to your SS from your post. Scroll all the way to the bottom of the page. There should be a link at the very bottom that says, "Edit this page if you have permission" and click on it. It should take you to your SS in a form you can edit. Then, bookmark the document.

I think if you go to http://docs.google.com it may take you directly to those documents you own (i.e., your SS) or to a log in page. (If I go to that link, it takes me to the documents I own.)
 
Hello!

Thank you, I believe that worked(adding the ss to my profile / signature). I will keep it all updated with Harry's results. . . although he's been very quiet and on his own today. Which is unlike him (compared to this week). Our vet told me to do another blood curve as of next week, and to just do the GB tests before each injection. So my question to who ever can help me, is: What do you do when it looks like (with a flashlight) both of his ears are slightly hemoraged? Do you still do the ear prick test anyways, or do you back off? I'm thinking that when we do the tests they both look like they need a break. ...Although I still need to do the GB's BID.

Comments for this one?

Helena & Harry (in a wonderful winterland outside day today!)
 
I test no matter what Gabby's ears look like. Testing is the only way to keep your cat safe. With all due respect to your vet, I would encourage you to continue to get at least one spot check per cycle. Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle. If you are only getting pre-shot tests, you won't know if Harry's numbers are running low at the middle of the cycle.
 
The pre shot BG test numbers are vital; they tell you if it is safe to give a shot or not, so you need those numbers.
Since Lantus dosing is NOT based on those PS numbers, you will not know if a dose is working or not unless you get some mid cycle tests. Without the mid cycle checks you have no idea if Harry is dipping low, or staying high all cycle! Each of those situations tell you two very different things!
If Harry is dipping into blue numbers at mid cycle, you may not be wanting to increase dose, but if he is staying high pinks all through the cycles, then he likely needs a bit of an increase.
NOTE; the two decisions were based on the nadir, the mid cycle number, and not at all on the PS shot numbers.

When testing on my cats' ears, I use the lancet device as it's faster and I am sure less felt by them. And I don't aim for any vein because you hit it and you will have tons of blood and not just the drop that you need. Their ears 'learn' to bleed so over time, it will get better. So long as the ear is warm, you should be able to get a drop for the test. Be sure that you hold snugly with a tissue for a few seconds afterwards to lessen swelling and bruising. My cats sleep through most of the tests,
 
Hi!

...To answer your questions, and thank you for responding so quickly. . . . .

Gayle & Shadoe - I have for sure been doing the PS numbers / tests, and I will do a mid-cycle BG test as well. Like it was mentioned, the nadir is important. . . . so far he's only had 2 yellow digits about three-four days ago, otherwise it's been all pinks. Is the units given based on one-week intervals? I mean, is the amount given for a week at a time to see if it works or not (or should be raised?)?
I shall keep checking the BG's and go from there. . . . .
The fact that your cat sleeps thru the BG tests - WOW. Someone('s cat) to look up to!!!!!!!!!! (jealous!)
...How long has your cat been on insulin for?

I have used the lancets this whole time, but my hubby has been doing the test while I've held Harry - Still freaked out of my mind with needles and doing the poke test is always nerve racking for me. His ears are so red (with the flashlight on them), so we try to pick a spot each time that's not red or the least. We have always been aiming for the vein, or just to the outside of it, is that correct? The warm sock realllly helps.

Gingers mommie (Lori) - yes, I do have Harry on canned wet food, it ranges from Fancy Feast ocean fish feasts or turkey / giblets to his fave, the Snappy Toms' (they may only have that up here in canada) tuna with cheese or salmon. He loves his fish! I have made notes about a couple weeks ago with lists of food that are higher protein and low carbs, and we have taken away his dry food altogether. Thanks for checking, you never know!!

Sienne and Gabby - Good call about the mid-point testing, I will follow your advice and do that. I'd like to know what his BG is at thru the day. . . . even if he's not a fan of getting the ear poke!

Alright - today is a new day ....let's hope he gains more weight!!

Helena & Harry
 
I was reading your SS and saw that you were feeling guilty about the pokes on her ears. Please don't feel guilty. Your kitty will thank you because she is going to feel so much better when her numbers are regulated. So, just remember that everything you are doing TO her is FOR her own good!! You are being a good mommy!!!

Good luck!
 
Maverick loves the walmart special kitty turkey and giblets.

Regarding the ear pricks I think you are supposed to aim between the ear and the vein - not hit the vein. The flashlight will help you aim. Only one ear on Maverick seems to produce blood. He purrs when I get him ready for his ear pricks and insulin cause he knows he's going to get pure bites freeze dried chicken from petsmart. This stuff is like crack to a lot of cats here and Maverick is no exception. I break a couple up and put them down and he doesn't even notice his insulin shot he's too busy trying to hoover up the chicken pieces.

I posted pics on Maverick settled between my legs on his back like a panda bear and the tool we use to light his ear up and prick at the same time. We aren't using a lance but a 25G needle tips (box of 100 from the vets office). It was 10$ for 100 of them.
 
Hello and welcome Helena and Harry! (love those cats and beans with alliteration in the names!)

Do you give treats after testing? There are tons of low carb treats, like bits of roast chicken, freeze dried chicken, bonito flakes, etc etc. My cat would do almost anything for bonito flakes, so he LOVED being tested. I gave treats no matter the outcome of the test (whether it was successful or not).

You can also use a wee bit of neosporin with pain relief on his ears. I would dab and rub a bit on at night and his ear would look tons better in the morning. But I've been told over and over and over that their ears look bad, but our cats don't really feel much pain in their ear tips. You want to aim for the outside edge, not the actual vein (when Harry's ears learn to bleed, you'll know you hit the vein b/c it'll gush a bit) but for now, it might be ok.

good luck!
 
YAY!!!!!!

Today I have been in the mind set of getting Harry's mid-day GB over and done with . . . .and today what a surprise!!!!
His AMPS was 277, but 1/2 way thru the day I JUST did another GB test, just to see. . . and it was in the blue!! (115) !!! So. I guess we stay with the 1.5 units per shot (I will post this on the lantus forums) and see how it goes!! Really hoping that it stays this way, and so far his weight (compared to a few days ago / last week) is still 12.5 so that's good, he's not losing any more!

This is definitely a happy point in this process so far!
I do give him treats immediately after, he gets either bits of ham, roast beef or whatever meat we have around. I didn't want to pay for the treats (any more than what we're playing now for food for the greedy bastard), so whatever meat we have: he gets! And he's happppy for it. I think his absolute FAVE is tuna juice, directly squished out from the can. And every once in a while when I'm done with my cereal, he gets some leftover milk. (which I know isn't a reg. treat for cats because of their digestive tract)
...And he has been purring when we warm up his ear with the sock, he still does meow every time we poke him in the ear with the lancet but gets over it pretty quickly. He for sure gets treats every time. So lucky - to have the life of a cat!

Ginger's Mommy - thanks for the info about the dosage changes!!

So - today's a good day.

- And so quick(ly after we've started this whole thing!)!

Helena & Harry
 
Just popping in to welcome you and Harry!!!

Each day we start a new "condo" for the day. Here's the info on how:
1. go to the PREVIOUS day's condo and copy the address in the browser; close that condo.
2. open "new topic"; in the white text space that comes up, paste the address for the previous day's condo.
3. in the subject line, put the date, Harry, and then his AMPS number so, for example, it would look like this (using made up numbers) 11/26 Harry AMPS 217
4. write a WCR (well cat report) in the text area; we look for 5Ps (peeing, purring, preening, playing, and pooping)...give us a general idea of how Harry is doing; then hit "submit"
5. each time you test, add it to your subject line by reopening your condo, hitting the edit button, and typing the new info into the subject line and hit "submit". If you got three tests, it would look like this: 11/26 Harry AMPS 217 +2 188 +4 150 +6 115;
6. If you want to go back in and just add something to your condo, open it, hit "post reply", write your comments, and then hit "submit".

You'll get the hang of it all. The reason we do our subject lines that way is so the wise ones can follow Harry's progression during the day and if they see he is
going too low, etc, they can jump into your condo with suggestions.

So welcome...ask lots of questions ...glad to have you here in Lantus Land!
 
Helena:

Let me suggest you open a new condo (what we call a thread) each day. We set up our subject lines in a particular way so we can see just how well each others' kitties are doing. For example,
11/26 Harry AMPS-281, +6-115​
It's particularly helpful to have your updated numbers in your subject line in case there's something unusual going on or you have a question, need help, etc. You edit the subject line of your first post of the day. That's the subject line that is visible on the board. To bump up your post to the top of the board, you need to add a new post.

You'll also want to link Harry's SS to your signature. You won't have to worry about copying it into your condo each day. The instructions are in the Tech Support Center and should have been there with the other info on setting up your SS.

The other important factor is getting tests during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night. Since dosing is based on nadir, you don't want to miss a possible dose reduction and more importantly, you need to know that Harry's numbers are in a safe range.
 
Problem -

Harry's GB this evening was 461, compared to the 125 earlier - what happened? Why the spike (we are giving him his injection right away), and will that stay? Is this normally expected with Lantus?

Thanks for the quick help!!

Helena & Harry
 
Helena, don't worry....Harry is bouncing from that lovely blue number earlier. He has gotten used to being in the higher numbers, so when his BG starts getting down into lower, more normal numbers, his liver is "panicking" and thinking that he is getting too low. It dumps glycogen and hormones into his bloodstream, causing his numbers to rise. It's very common, and nothing to be worried about. The bounce will clear on its own, but it may last for up to 3 days.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top