Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29, +6.5 58, +7 142

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31883

Well it looks like Harry has dropped again into the mid-green..... we caught it as he was cantankerous, meowy and wanted food....so as soon as we took his GB at the +6 we gave him 2 tablespoons of the MC gravy food, will test again in 15 mins. to see where he's at.
Question: I am going to wait until we get another GB in about 10 mins or so, and then give a little more food - is that what is recommended?
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

don't know how sensitive your Harry is to carbs, but at 29, i'd go straight for high carb food. at this level, there's no harm in feeding more. deal with the bounce later, if one comes - you need to get him out of the danger zone. jmho.
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

AT a 29 I'd tend to go HC! Since you already fed...post ASAP with the new numbers!!!

Bump up for EYES!!!!
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29, +7 58

Tested again (20 mins. after the 29), it was 58..... getting better! Fed more food and will test again in 1/2 hour when he's finished licking the bowl until there's barely glass left. Thanks everyone!!!!!!
(at least this time I'm not as freaked out as I was the first.....)
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

Looks like you got yourself a dose reduction for tonight!

Keep an eye on him as the shed is full so you may need to battle this for a bit yet.
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

So, the general consensus says I should drop to 1.5 units for tonight? Thanks for the tip Blue.
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

hooray for the reduction, harry!

go ahead...make helena's day!

celi & binks
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

Helena,
when you can, just update your first subject line to reflect Harry's new numbers this way we all keep an eye out for ya!

way to go Harry...a dose reduction coming your way!!! yay! :mrgreen:

and btw if you need to use the 911 just click on the icon at the top on your very first subject line....
 
Re: 911 again - Harry 12/12: AMPS 257, +6 29

Bump up we're keeping an eye on you tonight Harry....

176_cat-eyes-540x326.jpg
 
Hello!

Well Harry's back into the blue, so today worked out ok.....and I purposely didn't post the post initially as a "911" because I wasn't as concerned this time - I was more calm and knew what to do. Except for feeding him the MC food instead of the HC...but it still worked out.
Guess he's down to 1.5 units !!
Yay Harry.

Except he's been reallly not liking the ear pokes, he whines or meows like we're poking him when we haven't even poked him yet with the lancet. Anyone else have this problem? He purrs but then meows and can't wait (today and yesterday) to get away!! - and get his treats.
 
You've been getting great guidance.

PLEASE: Print this link out on how to deal with low numbers. Just for perspective, a 29 is not a mid-green. That number is too low for comfort.

I want to encourage you to start getting some tests in earlier in Harry's cycle. This is the second time he fooled you. Gabby is one of those cats who's numbers can drop early in the cycle. As a result, I get early tests in. You may need to do what you can to get a +2 or +3 as a way of informing you how the cycle is going to play out. You can't assume that because the day starts on a high number that Harry's going to stay high. He's a tricky kitty and it looks like he's copied some of Gabby's antics -- start the day in the red, drop low enough to earn a dose reduction, then bounce back into the reds. Hang on, 'cause it's gonna be a bumpy ride!

You have the option of shooting your current dose (1.75u) one last time if Harry bounces into the pinks or higher by PMPS. It's entirely your option whether to shoot through the bounce.
 
Hi Sienne and Gabby,

Thanks for the notes....and I will take your advice and do a BG test at the +2 or +3....he's all over the place! The fact that he was in the yellow all day a few days ago, then went to the green....where did that come from? Hm.
Obviously too much insulin left in....I think I will go with the 1.5 tonight, and see how it goes tomorrow.

His numbers on his chart all like a rainbow! :-|
Confusing, and will await to see what the next few weeks hold.....
 
Sometimes, a flat yellow cycle is a signal that there will be action the next cycle or the one thereafter. It's almost like these kitties need to catch their breath before drumming up the energy for green!
 
Hmmm, interesting. I didn't know if they "flatlined" then there would be action - it's almost like the calm before the storm! He tested as a 337 for his PMPS, will test again before bed. Poor Harry - all over the place again.
 
And one more thing: does anyone have an idea of what the norm is, when you're going to bed and your cat is in the red? It seems that is getting to be normal, with Harry being in the red at night. Do I just deny food for free-feeding in the evening / nighttime and go ahead with a new start the following day?
I mean, I guess it's better to be in the red (following his super low numbers from earlier that day) than in the green when you're needing sleep, right?

Hmm...just wondering what every one else does.....
 
chatcat24 said:
And one more thing: does anyone have an idea of what the norm is, when you're going to bed and your cat is in the red? It seems that is getting to be normal, with Harry being in the red at night. Do I just deny food for free-feeding in the evening / nighttime and go ahead with a new start the following day?
I mean, I guess it's better to be in the red (following his super low numbers from earlier that day) than in the green when you're needing sleep, right?

Hmm...just wondering what every one else does.....
i'm not sure i understand your question, but if you're asking if you should withhold food at night because harry is in the red the answer is no.
free feed as usual.
 
Hello Jill & Alex, thanks for the reply. I guess that's what I was trying to ask....if I should withhold food or not, so I won't. :smile:

Let's hope tomorrow is better.....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top