Rob & Harley (GA)
Member Since 2009
So I interviewed 3 new clinics and chose one that looked promising. I probably won't go back but I was able to get his bloodwork done and a check for UTI, his results should be back on Monday, his blood pressure was good and his temp normal.
When I walked in and saw the walls stacked with shelves of Hills Prescription food I was so disappointed. I mostly wanted to talk about his kidney issues but the Vet wanted to talk about the diabetes. I brought my ss with and she proceded to tell me that she didn't believe in rebound. That clearly he needs more insulin, sometimes they just do, and that I should start tonight at 1 unit bid for the next week, if his PS is below 100 to go with .5u. UGG!! I think she sensed that I wasn't on board and made me promise to go to 1 unit.
She did give me a couple of sheets on the 4 stages of kidney desease and the protocols that was interesting. She didn't feel that he was dehydrated or needed fluids, that once he was getting more insulin his hydration would improve.
And my last two vets said that Harley had cataracts (sp?) and could only see shapes and movement. This vet said absolutely not, his eyes and vision are fine. @-)
The one good thing that happened was since the clinic was so close to Woody's I went over there to buy cat food and asked about vet recommendations and they gave me several cards for Holistic Vets in the area. I'm going to start checking them out.
So AMPS was 340, what do you all think now. I want to stick with the .125u for the full 5 days to rule out rebound I think we are on day 3 now. (Negative ketones again today) Sheila's syringe tips have helped, or I just got a bad batch and the new package is fine.
Any and all input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Robin
When I walked in and saw the walls stacked with shelves of Hills Prescription food I was so disappointed. I mostly wanted to talk about his kidney issues but the Vet wanted to talk about the diabetes. I brought my ss with and she proceded to tell me that she didn't believe in rebound. That clearly he needs more insulin, sometimes they just do, and that I should start tonight at 1 unit bid for the next week, if his PS is below 100 to go with .5u. UGG!! I think she sensed that I wasn't on board and made me promise to go to 1 unit.
She did give me a couple of sheets on the 4 stages of kidney desease and the protocols that was interesting. She didn't feel that he was dehydrated or needed fluids, that once he was getting more insulin his hydration would improve.
And my last two vets said that Harley had cataracts (sp?) and could only see shapes and movement. This vet said absolutely not, his eyes and vision are fine. @-)
The one good thing that happened was since the clinic was so close to Woody's I went over there to buy cat food and asked about vet recommendations and they gave me several cards for Holistic Vets in the area. I'm going to start checking them out.
So AMPS was 340, what do you all think now. I want to stick with the .125u for the full 5 days to rule out rebound I think we are on day 3 now. (Negative ketones again today) Sheila's syringe tips have helped, or I just got a bad batch and the new package is fine.
Any and all input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Robin