Harley's vet visit

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Member Since 2009
So I interviewed 3 new clinics and chose one that looked promising. I probably won't go back but I was able to get his bloodwork done and a check for UTI, his results should be back on Monday, his blood pressure was good and his temp normal.

When I walked in and saw the walls stacked with shelves of Hills Prescription food I was so disappointed. I mostly wanted to talk about his kidney issues but the Vet wanted to talk about the diabetes. I brought my ss with and she proceded to tell me that she didn't believe in rebound. That clearly he needs more insulin, sometimes they just do, and that I should start tonight at 1 unit bid for the next week, if his PS is below 100 to go with .5u. UGG!! I think she sensed that I wasn't on board and made me promise to go to 1 unit.

She did give me a couple of sheets on the 4 stages of kidney desease and the protocols that was interesting. She didn't feel that he was dehydrated or needed fluids, that once he was getting more insulin his hydration would improve.

And my last two vets said that Harley had cataracts (sp?) and could only see shapes and movement. This vet said absolutely not, his eyes and vision are fine. @-)

The one good thing that happened was since the clinic was so close to Woody's I went over there to buy cat food and asked about vet recommendations and they gave me several cards for Holistic Vets in the area. I'm going to start checking them out.

So AMPS was 340, what do you all think now. I want to stick with the .125u for the full 5 days to rule out rebound I think we are on day 3 now. (Negative ketones again today) Sheila's syringe tips have helped, or I just got a bad batch and the new package is fine.

Any and all input is appreciated.
Thanks,
Robin
 
I'm sorry that vet office was crappy! How could 2 vets disagree on whether or not he has cataracts?! That seems like it would be a straight forward diagnosis. It's such a chore finding a decent vet. It's nice that you have holistic ones in your area, too. I wonder if they cost a lot more? I just had to find a new vet too. My experience was much better than yours, but yours sounds like my old vet. Very old school, set in their ways. I hope you find a keeper soon!
 
It looks to me like today is Day 5 on only this low dose. At this point, he's not getting much action from it, the shed seems far from full, so please consider an increase tonight or tomorrow. While I certainly disagree with this new vet on going to 1U, you can probably got to .25U from here and see if it gets him out of the pinks.

I know cat's insulin needs can change, but once infection is ruled out, I see no other reason how a cat who was doing well on small doses could possibly need 1U.

Cataracts are pretty obvious in cats, Gandalf has them and his eyes no longer dilate even in sunlight, but he's had them for a long time. Did she shine a light in his eyes at all? My vet uses a special scope, that looks like a doctor's ear scope, and a magnifying glass when she exams his eyes. I think she first noted the cataracts 4 or 5 years ago, so even when first visible a good vet should be able to diagnose that.

I think you're doing a great job, I'm sorry that it sounds like this vet didn't agree.
 
Hi Claudia, I checked out the Holistic Vets and they are more expensive, that would be ok but they are also very very far away. A friend just told me about one closer but they are really expensive, I'm going to check them out.

Thanks Vicki, I was thinking the same thing about going to .25u and go from there. We'll find out on Monday about the test results. At least the vet told me which tests would tell me what and let me pick and choose the tests I wanted done. I'll post the results tomorrow.
 
Good luck with the increase, Robin. Sorry this vet didn't work out. Maybe the closer holistic vet that's a little more expensive would be worth it to check out. If only to find a vet that listens to you and what you want to talk about. ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top