Harley Update: So, we have cancer...(GA notice on Lantus)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sherry and Harley

Active Member
Yesterday's News: For those who want to catch up

Ok. I've managed 2 phone calls and 30 minutes without crying. Progress. :-(

I'm thinking of scheduling an appointment at the UC Davis Veterinary Hospital. The ER doc last night recommended that I get an ultrasound of her abdomen to attempt to find out what kind of cancer she may have. Once they know that, we can talk about treatment. When I spoke to the woman on the phone she reassured me that a mass in the abdomen does not necessarily mean cancer....when I told her there was also a spot on her lung....she said, "Oh," and revised her statement.

I'm including her blood work for you to see...I have no idea what all of this means. It looks like several of her values are 'high', but only slightly so. What do I do next? What are my options? I know several of you have/are going through this. I'm going to do everything I can; I'm just not sure what that will be. I could barely afford the upkeep with the cost of managing her diabetes. Last night's visit was $700 and the ultrasound visit will minimally be another $400...and that's just for the diagnostics. I hate that managing her health comes down to money. It's devastating.

She seems ok for now, though, a little loopy and somewhat aloof. I'm guessing her behavior can be attributed to the bupe. She just jumped up on the couch to sit with me for the first time since yesterday. Oddly enough, no twitching was observed at the vet's, though she's doing it now. I took my computer to show the vet the video. I never got any explanation for the neurological issues. As I mentioned, she was concerned about the low BGs and wondered if it was tied to that. She was, however, impressed with all my data!

For those of you who are going through this, I would love to hear about what you've done. What it's cost. How it's working. This is a whole new ball game for me. Blood work results are below.

Hematology: (H)=HIGH
WBC 17.0
LYM 2.0
MONO 2.5 (H)
GRAN 12.5
LYM% 11.9
MONO% 14.8
GRAN% 73.3

HTC 45.2 (H)
MCV 46.1
RDWa 38.6 (H)
RDW% 19.6(H)
HGB 16.2 (H)
MCHC 35.9
MCH 16.5
RBC 9.8

PLT 621 (H)
MPV 10.1

Chemistry:
BUN 31.5
Creatinine 1.3
Phosphorus 5.2

Calcium 10.1
Total Protein 6.2
Albumin 2.8
Globulin 3.4
Glucose 102
Cholesterol 177

ALT (GPT) 16
ALP 29
GGT <10
Total Bilirubin 0.1

Sodium 148
Potassium 4.5
Chloride 109
Na/K Ratio 33

Thank you again to everyone for your outpouring of support. Big sigh...

s
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I have no advice but am including Harley in my prayers...Some prayers for mamabean too.
jeanne
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I'm so sorry for what you are going thru. You must be overwhelmed and exhausted. I hope you are able to get some rest during this tough time.

I don't know much about treating cancer in cats, but my cat did have some recent focal seizures. At the time we thought she was having a hypo reaction but her bg was in the normal range. When we had taken her to the ER they kept calling it a "vestibular disease". Savannah was walking as if drunk, and her seizures looked more like muscle spasms, she was fully alert and could meow. They observed her overnight and her seizures stopped long enough so we could take her home. As far as we know there is no cause. It took her about three days to get her balance back and about a week to go up stairs or jump. There is a decent amount of info online about it, it does happen more in dogs than cats so there is more info for dogs. They could not identify the cause with her, the neuro thought it was b/c of her daily roller coaster rides with Humulin N. Some info online does say that one of the causes could be a respiratory infection, I know you said there was a spot on Harley's lungs, just wondering. Also, has she pooped? How is her balance now? It might be something worth asking.

Thinking of you and Harley!
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Prayers and Angels coming to you both...Hope it turns out ok Kath
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Sherry, I found this list of groups that help people with vet bills. I have never tried any of these, but you might want to check them out. http://www.humanesociety.org/animals/re ... g_pet.html

If you scroll down a little ways there are several that say are specifically for cancer. I really hope this helps. It is really unfair to have to worry about money when you already have so many worries about Harley.

Also, when I did a search on this I came up with this one: http://www.felinediabetes.com/vetbills.htm I didn't know we had those resources here, but I'm glad they are.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

i'm very sorry to see this, sherry.

i'm wondering - why UC Davis? you're in SF, right? i just did a search and there are several board-certified veterinary oncologists in SF, campbell, san jose, san mateo ... all closer to you. i don't know how good they are, and UC Davis is probably very, very good, but i'm just thinking of the distance you'll have to drive/fly. does harley travel well? and the expense of the trip could be used for her treatment if there's any treatment option. or did your vet recommend UC Davis for a reason?
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

here's a link i saved from some time ago. it may be more useful if you have a diagnosis of what type of cancer - i don't know - but discuss with your vet for her/his thoughts?

The Pet Cancer Foundation
The Pet Cancer Foundation, in cooperation with online oncology specialist Oncura Partners, is providing any dog or cat owner in the United States with the opportunity to receive a free initial consultation with a pet oncologist (cancer specialist) for your dog or cat who has cancer. Orchestrated through your veterinarian, the free consultation will provide you and your vet with current options and best practices for different cancer treatments, including chemotherapy, radiation therapy, surgery or any combination of these.

The Pet Cancer Foundation, along with Pets Best Insurance, wants every pet owner to know that cancer treatments in pets can be safe, with few or no side effects, and can provide long-lasting or complete remission. The key to successful cancer treatment is an early diagnosis and effective treatment regime. All too often, a qualified cancer specialist is not available locally, causing you and your local veterinarian to bypass treatment. In addition, the cost may be too high and the travel time for treatments may be prohibitive for you.

Now your local veterinarian can obtain a free initial consultation from a board-certified veterinary oncologist to determine the most effective treatments for the specific type of cancer diagnosed.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Thank you, everyone for your thoughts and well wishes. I know there are folks out there who have been through or are going through this cancer thing. I am desperately looking for information. Hopefully someone will respond to my questions....

Ele, thank you for the link. I found that site a few months ago when I was looking for help with the Lantus. Unfortunately, several of those sites are tapped out for money, and the others require that you basically are at the poverty level for help, so I wouldn't qualify. It was a good try though.

WCF-I was considering Davis because it is a cutting edge facility with tons of research. It is the largest veterinary research hospital in the country. It's only about an hour and a half away, so driving would be no problem.

Sigh...I chose to bring her to SFVS today for the ultrasound instead of waiting until next week for Davis, even though my gut told me not to. I'm just so frustrated with vets. When I took her to All Pets Emergency on Thursday, I did so because I didn't want to go to SFVS. They are the MOST expensive emergency hospital and I've never found them to be overly warm and fuzzy. In trying to schedule the ultrasound today, I was told that I would have to go through emergency and pay the emergency fee....unless, perhaps, I could have the vet from All Pets call them and do a referral transfer. So I called All Pets. The doc I saw on Thursday IS the emergency doc at SFVS today. So, basically I have to pay twice for the same doc to examine her. When I got here (I'm in the waiting room now), she said she would give me a break on the intake....they are charging me $72 instead of $99....REALLY? :evil: You JUST examined her on Thursday!!! I don't know how they sleep at night. Oh, here's another kicker. I called on Friday to price the ultrasound and was told $250. Today, on my printed estimate, the price was $331. cat(2)_steam

This will be another $700 today. Not sure how much more I'll be able to do and it's breaking my heart. She estimates that cancer treatment will run approximately $500 a month...

Can those of you with cancer kitties PLEASE respond and tell me about your experiences? I asked lots of questions in my original post...

s
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Sherry and Harley said:
WCF-I was considering Davis because it is a cutting edge facility with tons of research. It is the largest veterinary research hospital in the country. It's only about an hour and a half away, so driving would be no problem.
Oh good. I had thought it was further than that; 1.5 hrs is very do-able. I used to drive Meowzi 90 miles each way to her oncologist.

Can those of you with cancer kitties PLEASE respond and tell me about your experiences? I asked lots of questions in my original post...
You may get more responses if you know which type of cancer you're dealing with. Our experience is with mammary cancer, so I'm not sure it'll be relevant at all. What did the u/s today discover?

BTW Chriscleo is in SF too, and Cleo is being treated for lymphoma. You may want to check with Chris re: which oncologist she goes to, and what steps she takes to reduce costs.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Worst case scenario. Pancreatic cancer involving bowels and already metastasized to her lungs. There is no treatment. I've been given predisone and pain meds. Now I just sit and wait...

s
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

(((((((((((((Sherry))))))))))))) there just aren't any words that can help. I have no experience to share, but I can send hugs and LL snowflakes and healing vines.

Spoil her, even more than you already do. Enjoy this time.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

some cancers have been treated using the same protocol for YEARS, so a cutting-edge facility might not matter.

i like sfvs. so far i've dealt with dr mehl (surgeon), drs anderson, bowen, and stewart (internal medicine), and dr sabhlok (oncology). one person at the front desk has been a jerk but i like most of them, justin, especially (tattooed guy). erin, the nurse who works with drs anderson and stewart, is extremely competent. i always let them know i'm hurting financially and they do what they can to cut costs a little bit such as sending labwork outside for next day results rather than doing them immediately in house and cutting some fees wherever possible. if you don't tell them, they forget and you end up paying more.

my impression was that davis and sfvs' costs would be comparable, but if there's a significant savings i'd certainly be driving the 1.5 hrs. what i REALLY don't like about sfvs is that they were just bought out by VCA so they're no longer a private partnership. the partners are still there but sold the business. and dr sabhlok is leaving on sept 2 so they'll be hiring a second oncologist (i haven't met carlos rodriguez, the board-certified oncologist there).

[originally frank about what we've gone through this past year but based on your recent update i think it just convolutes the matter. if you want to know what i said i'll pm you. just want you to know that i'm so sorry, and some cats make it quite a while on palliative care alone. none of us knows how much time we have left with our kitties, and you've been given a special opportunity to love her up and let her know how much she means to you. hoping the pain meds help her a lot. (((SHERRY)))]
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

as i was writing this, i'm guessing you posted an update. pancreatic cancer for sure?

so i guess what i wrote basically just serves to let you know another type of situation related to cancer and how it's oh not so rosy either. it's horrible news, any way you look at it, but in a way it's a blessing because you know what you're up against and you can concentrate on loving her up and maintaining quality of life for as long as possible.

i'm so sorry, sherry. cancer sucks so much. :(
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Hi Chris-

Thank you so much for the information. And yes, I did want frank. Unfortunately, none of that matters anymore. My financial concerns are irrelevant, as there is no successful treatment for her cancer.

From SFVS:
"An abdominal ultrasound showed a large mass in the abdomen involving the pancreas and likely mesentery [small bowel]. In house analysis of the abdominal fluid showed carcinoma cells (type of cancer). Unfortunately, Harley has evidence of further metastatic disease to the lungs on xrays."

I was hoping for lymphoma, which has a higher response rate to chemotherapy. She said there was nothing to be done. I may call Davis and speak to the oncology department, but am probably just setting myself up for more disappointment.

She suspects with the prednisone and buprenex, I may have 1-2 months with her (without the pred, she gave us 2-3 weeks). I don't know how I'm going to do this. Just wait for her to die. Every day I walk into the door I will be fearing the worst....it's all so unfair. We beat the diabetes...why this??? 3rd cycle OTJ...BG 84. I can't really wrap my head around what and why this is happening...all I do is cry.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

(((Sherry))) Cancer sucks so bad.. it really isn't fair. Cuddles & I had 'beat' diabetes, and even CRF.. only to have cancer take her from me. It just isn't fair. But then again.. it seems we can take such good care of our babies, and have such great treatments available nowadays, that it seems we can treat everything until cancer takes them. Illnesses that were a death sentence before, aren't now. So it just seems like more people are treating for diseases until cancer shows it's ugly head unfortunately. I guess when it's time, it's time. :sad:

Hope this didn't make you more upset, but it kind of made me feel a little better about how I lost Cuddles. She lived nearly 20 years, and I'm VERY grateful for that. Doesn't mean we can't hate cancer too though. :sad:

(((((Sherry)))))
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Sherry, I am so sorry about Harley. I wish we could surround you with warm hugs to comfort you. Cherish each day and maybe take a few moments to seek a little calm and peacefulness so that Harley will be reassured by your strength and not feel your fear and sadness.

Cancer is so unfair.

(((Many hugs)))
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Angels & Prayers coming Sherry & Harley I am so sorry for your bad news Hate cancer...our little fun children should not have to get this dirty stuff....Hugsssssssssss Kath
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Sherry and Harley - I am sorry for what you are going thru. We are doing the same waiting game here. Sarcoma on the left front leg which is spreading up the leg and causing significant problems - increasing - with her walking. Tuscany is on bupe, too, and it seems to help. We saw the onc June 11th - and was told that 3 mos would be about it until she probably wouldn't be able to walk anymore. It is very sad knowing that our babies have to go thru this and that there isn't anything we can reallly do (except to help them in the end when it is time). We are just using this time to give her more love, more illegal treats (the heck with the sugar values now). I hope Harley does well for several months and you can take the time to enjoy her. We'll keep you in our thoughts.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Sherry, I am SOOOO sorry to hear about this. Love that Harley as you always have...and even more right now. I can almost promise you Harley is much less stressed about this than you are.

Sherry and Harley said:
Every day I walk into the door I will be fearing the worst....it's all so unfair.

I did that for 3 1/2 yrs, thinking ANY day...so you NEVER know! Vets are often less optimistic than us regular folk. Im glad you are starting the prednisolone. I hope it gives you much quality time with Harley!
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Thank you, everyone for your support. Maybe the collective energy will keep her going. Sometimes she seems just fine. Other times, she seems like she's not there. At times she'll look at me when I call her name, but mostly not. She's definitely not the kitty I've known and loved for 13 years. This is a cat that ALWAYS came when I called her. If I sat on the couch with a blanket, she immediately jumped up to lay with me...not anymore. That makes me really sad. I don't get the sense that she's in pain...I will continue to give her the bupe, not knowing if it's necessary or if it's working...I just can't tell. Whatever is happening neurologically (focal seizures?), continues. She's eating, but only if I sit with her and feed her with a spoon. That's fine...it's time together. I was excited when she got up yesterday morning and ate on her own...that hasn't happened since.

I've shed tears for so many cats on this board. I never expected to be doing so for my own. Last week I was preparing for a party, this week I am preparing to say goodbye. Carolyn, I wept for your Latte. I followed her story from the first day and was devastated for you. She was such a fighter, as were you...now it's our turn to fight.

Well, folks...we did it...2 days OTJ! PMBG tonight was 82. I don't know how long I will continue to track that. I just don't know if it's worth putting her through it. But it is SOMETHING to celebrate. The universe is certainly cruel. I almost wish I hadn't taken her in on Thursday. The knowing and waiting is going to be excruciating...3 days of non-stop crying...I'm exhausted.

I want to say THANK YOU to everyone on this board. What an amazing group of people...I only wish I had come here 2 years ago. Who knows, maybe we could have avoided this if we had gotten control of her diabetes sooner. I want to give a special thanks to Ronnie, Sienne, Libby, and CD. You ladies held my hand as we went through this process. And we succeeded! You ARE my heroes....

To those of you continuing the fight against diabetes, be strong. You can do it! Look at what we accomplished in 4 short weeks! The support and guidance available here is invaluable.

Best wishes.

s
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I'm sorry, Sherry, so sorry that you and Harley are facing cancer. Been there with Yoshi, off the juice and feeling great, then cancer and gone at only 11. Please savor each moment -- each second -- with Harley. We'll be here for you. (((Sherry)))
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I am so sorry for all the sadness cancer and all this other crab should not be part of our pets lives..Sending tons of beautiful green lights with rooms filled with Angels to keep you little one peacefull and with out pain God bless all the beans Kath
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I'm so sorry to hear about this diagnosis ... and the time the dr's say you have together .. it just isnt enough ...
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

I'm so sorry to see this post and the diagnosis for your sweet companion.

We work so hard to conquer the diabetes diagnosis and then this horrible disease jumps out at us and takes away our little companions that we love so much.

I'm sure that you will treasure every moment - however bittersweet - that you have remaining.

My heart goes out to you in these days ahead - but know that there are many behind you and reaching out to you in thoughts and prayer.

Emmy & Dude (& Mittsi too)
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

((Sherr)) This is so sad and I am so sorry that Harley got this diagnosis. I lost my baby boy Remi to cancer(not this kind) so I know how hard it is. Remi was at a point where the only thing we could do was pallative care. I just know Harley will feel your love everyday even though this is so sad for you. Post here as much as you want about how she and you are doing. Of course I hope you have much more time than the prognosis.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

((((Sherry & Harley)))) I am so sorry that this happened to you both....tears of sadness for you....love each precious moment together.....
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

{{{{Sherry and Harley}}}}

Gosh, what a blow. (On several levels.) I'm in tears for you, knowing what a painful time this is and will be. Praying for a peaceful transition for both of you as you go forward.

Jean and Blaze
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...now what??

Hi Everyone-

Just thought I'd give you a quick update. Not a good day for us, so if good news is what you're looking for, I want to warn you up front and give you the opportunity to hit the back button now. She's refusing all attempts by me to spoon feed her. She doesn't even want the pill pockets, which she was crazy about before. She's probably only had 1/4 can of food today. In my desperation, I tried to pry her mouth open and place a tiny piece of food in there. She gagged it out. Yesterday I was in higher spirits because I managed to get about a can and a half in her, maybe even a little more. Last night, she wandered over to the water bowl and lay down to have a drink. She actually even ate a little bit of the food I left out yesterday when I went to work, but none today. When I got home tonight, I found a puddle of urine in the middle of the hardwood floor. That's clearly not a good sign. She has a belly that looks like she swallowed a balloon, but I can clearly feel her spine and hip bones. I was so sure that the Prednisone was going to take hold and she'd turn around. If I pick her up and put her on the ground, she lays down immediately...not really taking any steps. I honestly think her belly is so big it's hard to move around. The vet said we'd know it about 2-3 days if the Pred was going to help. We're on day 3, so this is not a good sign....now I'm back to crying. It's all happening so fast. I just don't know what tomorrow will bring. I wish I could get her to eat...I have one can of every flavor open, in hopes that I'll find one she likes....nothing....I'm just not ready for this...

I'm sorry the news is not better, but I wanted to let you know what was happening here. I fear that my next post will be the worst news of all...

s
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...

Sherry, my heart goes out to you on this dx and type of cancer. Some things you may not want to read but I feel I should write. I remember one vet telling me how painful pancreatic cancer can become towards the end so watch her for that. I have also lost two to lung cancer......no previous signs till major breathing trouble. Watch her for difficulty breathing. I also lost one to a liver cancer, no warning signs, but took her in because I saw her breathing funny. Dummy here thought she might have a "silent" cold going on. She was blue by the time I got her in to ER, put immediately in oxygen. Critical Care vet, loved that man, came back and told me she had a pyothorax, unknown cause at the time. No chest trauma or injury to cause it. I left her there and she passed away before I even got home. Necropsy gave me the info......liver cancer had spread to her lungs and eaten away part of the lung and she developed pyothorax. Another one I lost to liver cancer just backed way off on eating, started doing very loose stools, vomiting yellow bile. Took him in and in this case I did opt for exploratory because we couldn't find any other way of knowing. I sat and waited there while they opened him up almost knowing in my heart what they would find. I had already said my goodbyes to him and did not let him wake up when it was confirmed.

We never know.....they are so good at hiding things from us.....and even when we do know too many times there truly is nothing we can do except to watch them and to know when it is time to let them go.

You and Harley are both in my prayers that she will let you know when it is time to help her leave for the Bridge.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...

((((((Sherry and Harley)))))) My heart is breaking for you. Sending peace and comfort to surround you both.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...

don't know where else to post. believe harley has lost her fight? sherry, i am so sorry. cancer sucks so much. cats know when it's time and refuse eating at that point. went thru the same thing with our kitty Piggy early this year. i wish you peace, dear sherry, and many reasons to smile thinking of your beautiful harley. (((Hugs)))
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...

I an very saddened by Harley's condition. Can can progress fast. It did for my civi Stacy. Take care of yourself too as well as Harley.
 
Re: Harley Update: So, we have cancer...

I am so sorry for your loss - my Bibb lost his cancer fight 3 weeks ago and then 2 weeks ago, Eli was diagnosed with diabetes. Purr-ayers and hugs going out to you.
 
Oh man, I am so sorry to hear this.

Know you're in my prayers, and so is Harley. Lots of hugs of comfort to you...she's at the Rainbow Bridge and watching you through the holes in the floor of Heaven, and will wait to see you again.

All our love-
Michele
And the herd of 10
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top