Harley 8/18

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rob & Harley (GA)

Member Since 2009
Harley's PS's are coming down nicely.

My question is when I look at his ss I'm not seeing a nice flat Lantus curve. I'm seeing a curve that looks more like PZI with the steep drops.

His 8/14 curve he went to +4.5 77 from 332. I've been backing off the dose since then.

I switched to Lantus so I would be able to shoot the lower numbers but I'm afraid to now, so I've been dosing more like PZI.

Any suggestions or advise is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Robin
 
From what I've seen, Levemir gives a flatter curve than lantus.
I was always asked by the ladies here to give less insulin...not more (which was my knee jerk reaction)
 
I think he would be fine on .75U and here's why. 8/14 was the 4th cycle on .75U, so the response he had was typical of a good dose that has built a decent shed. The shed is what allowed it to bring the BG down that quickly and although you don't have any more tests after +6, I bet it stayed down for several hours, we call that surfing. It's what you want to see on Lantus or Levemir.

Although his next preshot was in the 200s, it would have gradually come down as the cycles leveled out over the following days, if you'd stayed at .75U.

It's up to you - continue with current doses of .5U or .4U in order to get shootable preshots, but at least get some nadir checks in to see how low he's going on these doses. If nadir is not below 150 or even 125, I'd raise the dose.

It's pretty clear I think that his break through dose was .75U. A beautiful example of a break through dose too, BTW. All those yellows and pinks on tinier doses, even .5U, then raise the dose to .75U and blam, there it is!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top