HannahGlory AMPS/139...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Priscillalea

Member Since 2011
Morning Everyone, Hannah Glory and I went on a little trip but kept up pretty much on the spread sheet, This morning we are back to normal..My question is this, she is 139 AC has now had breakfast and my inclination is no Ins. what do you think? I am home today but tomorrow I will have to go to work and I would not have given any since I would have been rushing out the door...She was higher while we were away because she had a little access to EVO dry food......my Vet would say none but I am curious what you all think....I have had her pretty much at 1.75 and am trying to drop more. She does great on only wet food. It is still early so if I should give her 0.25 or 0.50 or none let me know. Priscilla and Hannah Glory......{AC= before food}
 
Re: HannahGlory AMPS/139....Ins. or not?

Priscillalea,

I can't give you any dosing advice. Get another testing in 30 minutes and post. Maybe by then more experienced people will be online to help. Good luck!
 
Re: HannahGlory AMPS/139....Ins. or not?

Running out the door, choices are no shot, not recommended, BCS or regular shot. someone else should be along to weigh in. Good luck.
 
Re: HannahGlory AMPS/139....Ins. or not?

Thanks Barb, she is 133 one hour after breakfast with no shot.....I feel comfortable with no shot .have a great day................P and HG
 
I will try and answer your question. Hope other will offer suggestions. Lantus is a 12/12 insulin in cats. Lantus likes consistency. On 10-31 she had some nice blues. On 11-1, you reduced the dose by .5 units. Why? According to the protocol, she did not earn a reduction and if she did, it would only be by .25 units. She seemed to be doing well on 2 units. Yes, as she gets lower numbers, she may bounce somewhat. On 11-1 and 11-2, you gave 1.5 in the a.m. and no evening shot. On 11-3, you shot 2 units in the a.m. and 1 unit in the p.m., 11-4 1.5 a.m. and p.m. and the same for 11-6. This morning, did you shoot anything? In my opinion, you need to pick a dose and stick with it and see how she does. If the dose is insufficient, you may raise it by .25 units. In 8 days, you had 5 dose changes. If you would be more comfortable, perhaps giving 1.5 units for 5-7 days, unless her numbers rise dramatically and then you would increase. I realize your work schedule makes it difficult to monitor between shots but when you are home, please get some numbers. Do you have a timed feeder to leave for her when you work? I had to isolate Tuffy with the timed feeder because if left with the rest of the crew, I would not be sure she got the food.

I hope this information is helpful. It is not an easy path for our sugarcats but it can and is possible to successfully manage a kitty and work, many of us have been there. Lastly, your question about BCS. BCS is a big chicken sh*t dose.

Again, in my opinion, unless the number is extremely low and you cannot monitor, not giving insulin is not an option. I realize you had a hypo incident but she was also on 4 units and not being monitored.

Please try and get some evening tests in that too is helpful, a lot of kitties tend to drop in the evening.

Also, re-read the * stickies at the top perhaps they will help. It's a lot to remember so re-reading may help with your questions.
 
okay, thanks.the day she was 114 my Vet said no insulin, so I did what he said and when I see a low {for Hannah} number I am afraid to stay with the same dose................I'll try to do better. thanks for your patience with me................Priscilla
 
Hi guys .. you are doing fine with this :-D I know it's a lot to take in and it's a lot to understand (for me it was anyways) on when to raise and lower doses .. I felt like I was repeatedly asking the same questions over and over again (I'm surprised I wasn't kicked off the site :lol: ) It can be very scary seeing those first few "low" numbers but if you stick with it and follow the protocol before you know it you'll be shooting double digits without batting an eye .. just hang in there :YMHUG:
 
Thanks PeterDevonMocha, I also feel that everyone will get sick of my questions, so thank you for the encouragement.................Priscillalea and Hannah Glory
 
nobody will get sick of your questions...
trust me- Binks and i were the "Kitty inquisition" when we started :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top