Hank AMPS 359-? -PMBG 93! *PLEASE LOOK-(bottom) what to do?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bettyandhank

Very Active Member
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8825 YESTERDAY

Good Lord-

What a messed up day. This is a full time job. 1st I think he got a couple bites of leftover food at 8:30-ish before I picked it up (not positive, may have caught him on 1st bite) . We are in process of trying to move up schedule incrementally for DST. So not good as we need to test in just over an hour. He is hungry, which has not been the case, feel bad not letting him eat. Decide to test a tad early @9:30, give him his treat. Multiple pricks, blood wouldn’t come. He’s hating it today. THEN GET ERROR CODE ON MY LAST STRIP!
Had called Post office yesterday to check on package (supplies), they are watching for it. Call it's there on carrier's truck, I get them to yank it so I can run pick it up NOW. Race to Post office. Grab box, race home. Run in to do control solution test for first time & re-code (someone else set up 1st time) BACK down to get him again for test. NOW WE ARE LATE. Again won’t bleed, multiple pricks, new lancet. FINALLY! Number at 359 BUT, we are 13 hours form last test,
was it skewed by couple bites food..now almost 2 hrs. ago, or treat from 1st failed attempt to test about 50 min. earlier.
His poor little ears. he was so hungry..got some breakfast and then shot @ 35 minutes late. So much for moving up for DST today.

Too much drama. Who could know 25 strips isn't enough for a week ..just all too much. By the time this is all handled, logged and posted, I am 3+ hrs. in on my day and SO behind. How do ya'll do this every day? I may finally lose a couple lbs myself for all the running around and lack of time to cook/eat.

Not sure i can rely on this number for all the above reasons. Am relieved to have strips again,...even more coming so we are stocked up. I sure felt good about yesterday's seeming progress, but here we are..
Some day this will start to become logical and make some sense. I am still not sure what the numbers mean. I am just happy when he is feeling good. Today he seems to be,...so I guess I am happy despite the number.

Ok, back to the rest of my life.

b&H
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *?

sorry to hear you are having such a rough day. It happens, but you just make the best of it, and get up to hopefully have a better day the next day. Things will calm down over time, you'll be more aware of how many test strips you generally use each week/month so you will know when to stock up, and how much to stock up on. That should save you those crazy last minute runs to town for test strips. A lot of people find that warming up the ear helps them bleed better, and over time they learn to bleed. Lots of people on here have rice socks they pop in the microwave for a few seconds and then hold it up to the cat's ears to warm them up. I have found that just rubbing the edges of mochas ears help them bleed. I hope tomorrow goes better for you guys!
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *?

I know it can be discouraging when nothing seems to go right. When I first started testing Pablo, I used about 4 strips each time and poked myself more successfully than him. :roll: I learned quickly to always have lots of strips on hand, too, because the laws of the world say that if you run out, there will be an emergent need to have them. It's just the way things work!

Keep at it. You're doing great right now! And you're wrong about this being a full-time job...we'd all be getting paid if it were! :lol:
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *?

Holly's absolutely correct -- as in all things, Murphy's Law is at play. I always have 50 spare strips. You have to figure the bare, naked minimum of strips is 4 per day providing everything goes right. That said, I've always used more than 4 strips per day. (But I'm a testaholic!) And you will need more when Hank starts giving you low numbers.

The routine gets easier. This will probably sound odd but once you've been poking for a while, the ear you usually poke will learn to bleed. I suspect it's because more capillaries form but Gabby's got one ear that bleeds very well. My entire routine probably takes under 10 minutes from testing, to making food, to shot. (Of course, I don't have to make a post office run and there's a Walgreen's literally around the corner if I'm desperate for being overcharged for strips.)
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *?

I am going to have to change vets. (please see yesterday's post) We went to someone we had not been to in years. The vet we'd seen there in the past was not in so we saw someone new. She was very nice, but at that point he was rather sick, so we were more dealing with making sure he ate, getting his insulin started, etc.. Put him on 1U bid Lantus & said to come back for a curve in 7-10 days and I guessed it would then be with the former 'primary' I had not seen in 4 years.
People were mostly nice, did not go over everything, there's just so much. I was not clear on feeding relative to shots, what targets #'s to shoot for, rules re: when NOT to shoot, etc...she just impressed not to alter the dose. I'm still not clear on whether he was DKA. We had a tech go over shots and meters which took awhile. As I was waiting to check out, someone came and sat by me whispering something about the time of their normal appt. being 30 minutes, ...ours had gone long, hope we'd gotten our questions answered. They charged me for an extended plus a tech appt, plus 2 labs. I vaguely recalled this as by then we were in information overload with everything just starting out.
The next day, a receptionist called me with some info, and wasn't keen on my home testing wondering if the Dr. had said that was 'ok'? This is a very reputable clinic, but expensive. She said to listen to the Dr. not the internet.
i called that Saturday as I'd had some trouble w/ the shots and to ask a tech a question and to get a copy of our results from our visit they had forgotten to send.
On Sunday, as you may recall, we had our first PS low number and uncertainty about shooting. They were not open so sought guidance here and at after hours emergency clinic who said to be sure to let our regular vet know. We got busy & didn't call them back for a couple days, and things were ok.

This is a cat who is NOT regulated. I am on a total learning curve without a road map. we are learning as we go, from reading everything possible and all the advice and feedback here.
Yesterday, yet another low number..it is a business day so i call there..give the info. to whichever receptionist answered..she was going to check but Dr. was in a room..said she'd call back. I mention the time sensitivity if we were going to shoot. She calls back & says don't shoot, he could be bouncing back & gives a rule of thumb range per the Dr. I mention the numbers have been all over the place since we were there, this was just today's snapshot. i am charting etc..
She then calls back a 2nd time a little while later to correct what she had said saying the Dr. recalled our meters being 40-60 pts apart (mine higher) so raised the range to 100-200 don't shoot/ above 200 shoot, under 100 call them.
I mention that now that I am testing, i will probably wait but do my own curve here. Also tried to clarify whether to go to the original Dr. who'd seen Hank several times in the past (who is part time now) or proceed with this Dr. who fit us in. She said they'd check w/ the primary & maybe have her check chart and call me.
A little later, my phone rings again and an ofc. mngr called me to say there would be no more phone time, they were on the phone 1 1/2 hrs w/ me... and was rather curt. I clarified that I had only phoned in once when his counts were low for direction being totally new to this and having been told specifically not to alter the dose. The other 2 calls were initiated by them..she had called with response & instructions, then again to correct something she'd said earlier. But it was NOT 1 1/2 hrs!! I was so shocked by her tone and call. I explained that i didn't want to hurt him by doing the wrong thing. She thought I was expecting another call back. I told her that was not my understanding but that they wanted me to send in my numbers chart to look at..possibly the 'primary' might call once back in the office. She kept asking, are my question now answered, but not in a pleasant way. I stated the obvious, that we are new to this and I certainly didn't mean to intrude. Every days is different. She said to email in the future, and gave the email address to the staff. Again, very curt. I mentioned that the rules for when to shoot or not hadn't been discussed prior to today. They gave those & directed to call if under 100. She says...don't you have Karo?
It all rubbed me wrong. I don't think it is the Drs, but certain admin. people. Obviously the money managers are watching everything. i don't recall this from my earlier experiences there.
I moved on yesterday, but it left a bad taste. Today I got yet another call from another manager..this time the one who'd whispered in my ear the day we were there. I was so foggy that day w/ all going on I hadn't really thought much about her...it was a sour note on an otherwise ok experience.I sort of shrugged her off. At the end of the day, it's all about Hank for me.

Well, she calls to say that I phoned yesterday taking 2 1/2 hours of their time... NOW It's 2 1/2 hours! What? I'd just called once in the AM. i tried to correct explaining there is a discrepancy...OMG..I was so taken aback. She says they will not see Hank again or take calls from me. I literally was not allowed an opportunity to speak. It SIMPLY DIDN'T HAPPEN as she said..but she would not allow a reply and was off the phone.

I liked this earlier vet I'd gone to here...but I NEVER recall anything like this or feeling someone in the background watching. I remember not ever feeling they remembered us, buffering the vets by phone,being pricey, etc.. the vet I saw did call us at the end of the day a couple times as i recall in the past. I don't think it's the vets...and if this primary one I went to before knew, she would be aghast. But how could you get to her?

We are in a terrible quandary. Hank is NOT regulated. We are barely past our first week in. I don't really know what I am doing and every day brings a new turn. Someone said yesterday their auto mechanic gave better service than that when mentioning getting this call. You don't want to feel intrusive, but what do you do when you are uncertain about something w/the prescribed meds? it's so early in the game. We don't have it all figured out.
My thought was, once out of our emergency status last week, to try to get in w/ the other vet there until he was regulated for consistency,...figuring there were both good & bad up front pople there. I was certainly not feeling the warm welcome, but it could have just been this one receptionist. What must she have said? 2 1/2 hrs..are you kidding me? Caller ID says otherwise. they called me 3 times,(now 4) i called once.
I'd love to just be mad & say 'screw them'..but it is scary.

Now we are homeless at a really awful time. I don't want to take him around from place to place. Nor can I afford new exam fees over and over. I want to find his home and someone to see us through this. There was another vet we were going to try, but at the time I called they couldn't get us in for 3 days and I felt he wasn't doing well then and needed to get him in sooner somewhere. Turns out that was right as he had scant ketones. This other vet I learned has a diabetic cat herself. I am not clear on how they do it at that ofc. either. They will make a new patient appt and ask those type questions then, not for prospective patients. I need to know wherever we go that communication is welcomed not discouraged. You'd like to at least know their approach and philosophy, do they believe in home testing, etc...
I called this other vet clinic back today and this same Dr.i would have wanted to see is leaving for vacation, out all next week, w/ no available appt. until March 24th. 12 days from now!


What do we do? I have a diabetic cat, some test strips, some insulin, and no clear path besides that. There is no one to call if something goes wrong.
I am swamped right now and friends in town from out of the country next week. They aren't staying here, but i will hardly be around while they are in town.
I was already concerned if it would be okay to just continue as we are at this dose for now then to do a curve once they left anyway.
But we would have had a place to call (or so i thought- apparently not encouraged) if anything went askew.
We are operating without a net here.

I do not want to move him all over the place. Should I make this appt. for the 24th? I've already made/cancelled once before when he started getting sick before our scheduled time and I had to get him in here instead. I'm afraid if that would happen again, it would not be good and I don't want to rock that boat.
That appt. on the 24th could be gone if we wait too long.

The other vet recommendations I'd gotten are SO much further away. For something long term like this, it just did not seem a viable option. He does not do well in the car, and this time hyperventilated and panted & yowled all the way home. And that was somewhere fairly nearby. i can't see adding 30-40 min. round trip to that.

Do ya'll think you could help us through this next period with basic diabetes 101 type questions and understanding numbers and what to do with shots relative to them, timing, etc.. and we set this next appt. hoping all goes well in the interim?

I'm not exactly sure what our next steps would have been anyway. It has just been day by day so far. I suppose we have to look at his dose as we go and
would need guidance for that.

It is nearly end of day friday...almost no time left for any other arrangements to be made.

What do we do???

Advice? please!

thanks,

betty
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *? / PMPS- 93!! Please Look (bottom message

We have had quite the day. Need advice on the rest...but this is most important now. This is our lowest number yet. We skipped yesterday AM shot due to low #. Shot last night & this morning. AMPS today was high. We were late this AM due to above mishaps mentioned...not super late on the regular schedule, but off for this DST bump, about 35 minutes. test time 10:21 (13 hrs from previous)/ shot time 10:31 AM. (11.5 hrs ago). Our timing is a little off but not sure how to factor.

I am using new box of strips. My meter ran 40-60 pts. higher than the vets.

I am too uncomfortable to shoot and not clear on what the next steps are. Appreciate any guidance. Do we worry yet?
test when again? When too late to shoot?
We are so new and first time seeing green. What to do now?


betty
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *? / PMPS- 93!! Please Look (bottom message

I hesitate to jump in here since I still consider myself a newbie, but I know how it feels to panic about whether to shoot or not!

I would wait 30 min and test again.... see if BG is rising. If it is, you should shoot, possibly a reduced dose (0.75 or 0.50). Are you around to test afterwards tonight?

*edit to add - do not feed before testing again. You want to see if his BG is rising without food.
 
You don't have the data to shoot this low, so let's figure out what you CAN do. You're already later than the schedule you want to be on, right? Have you been able to urine test for ketones recently? Can you test more tonight, and do you have high carb canned food on hand just in case (not thinking that you'll need it tonight, but it's good to ask that question anyway!).

Since the 1 unit dose is leaving Hank lower than you are comfortable shooting, I think that when you do shoot you should consider a slightly reduced dose (0.75 or even 0.50) to let his range move up just a little higher. We might have to increase it again later, but that would allow you to work up to a dose instead of down from one. Easier on the bean that way. :smile:
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359- *?

Hi Betty, Libby is very knowledgeable and I would follow her suggestions.

(The following comments were written before I saw your revised post and have to do with your vet question:)
First of all. Sit down and try to relax! Hank will be OK. If you try to be calm and to read some of the diabetes basics that you will find in the "stickies" at the top of the forum, you will be prepared to discuss Hank's condition with a new vet (you are right not to go back to the old one). Keep in mind that most vets do not deal with diabetes on a regular basis. Every cat is different and every cat responds differently to insulin. Also, the types of insulin that used to be prescribed for cats are no longer available. Vets hear that Lantus works and they decide to prescribe it, but often it seems that they are still using the techniques and parameters that were recommended for the old insulins.
Here's what I would do in your situation. First of all, is Hank really acting sick? If so, he needs to see a vet. But if it is just his blood-glucose numbers that you are worried about, I would not see a vet right now. I would keep on testing for blood glucose and ketones and giving insulin in the dose you started on (or a slightly lower dose, as Libby suggested). It takes time for your cat's body to get acclimated to this insulin. You can't expect him to be regulated overnight. So I would test, keep the spreadsheet up to date, ask questions on this board, and, adjust your dose very gradually following the Tilly Protocol (as found in the "stickies"). People here with lots of experience, like Libby, will help you. You will begin to see results in a month or so. During this time you can take your time, do some research on vets in your area, and find one who will work with you (when you get a bit more experienced with your daily routine with Hank, you can explain to the vet what you are doing and the protocol you are following; you can refer him/her to the professional articles listed in the stickies). The word here is: be calm!! Don't panic!! Take your time and find another vet, one who won't gouge you or intimidate you.
In the meantime, carry on with what you are doing.
Ella & Stu
P.S. I really mangled Stu's ears when I started testing in January. We both have gotten better at it. The sock filled with 1/4 cup of raw rice and heated in the microwave for about 30 seconds really helps to warm the ear. It also helps to put a little vaseline on the ear after you warm it. This helps the blood drop to bead up and makes it easier to apply it to the test strip.
 
I second the advice to stall and retest WITHOUT giving food. Post your next number for advice before you do anything.

Regarding your vet: I wouldn't go back there if they PAID me. I would drive three hours away in order to never give them another penny of my money. In fact, I'd be so pissed I would march down there and make a big ol' scene in front of everyone there. And then I would post negative reviews on every website that has their office listed so that no one else is subjected to such UNPROFESSIONAL, rude behavior. I am literally so angry it's hard for me to type.

I'm a vet assistant and the office manager for an animal hospital. I have spent literal hours on the phone with clients, some of whom are rude, belligerent, and downright nasty. I have never, not once in four years, complained to a client that they were taking up too much of my time. I had a client call to ask me about cat behavior one day; he literally asked me questions like why his cat was making a funny noise (purring) and why it was kneading on his leg. He asked me about how many pieces of food to feed his cat, and I answered every single one of his ridiculous questions. Why? Because they weren't ridiculous to HIM, and HE'S the client. It's my job to answer questions, and if it means I have to make the extra time to talk to clients or sit with them for free after hours because their dog is dying of cancer, I do it. I wouldn't take my animals to a place that wouldn't treat them the way I treat our clients.

And I'm appalled they would make a comment about you taking up too much time and then charging you for an extra appointment! For real? I've never been to a place that would charge extra because the vet answered my questions. Don't go back there. For your sake, and for Hank's. They sound absolutely horrible.

You are unfortunately not the only one who has been forced by a vet to go it alone. Treating diabetes the way we do on this board seems to offend many vets. I guess a lot of them have never heard of "thinking outside the box." You need to find a vet who listens to your opinions, is willing to research, and doesn't harass you for having questions. And until then, we're here! If you have a glucometer, glucose strips, ketone strips, low-carb food, high-carb food, Karo and the other hypo tools, you can do this largely without a vet. I do it. My vet is useless when it comes to Pablo. In the meantime, save up money to switch to a better vet. If someone on this board has a suggestion for you, take it. Even if you have to drive further, at least you won't be belittled and treated like trash.

Can you tell your post got me riled up? :lol:
 
Betty -

You've had quite the day.

You don't yet have enough data to shoot your current dose at this low of a number. I just looked to see that Libby posted with the suggestion that you drop your dose so you can comfortably shoot an amount consistently. That sounds like a good idea. It will also help on the data gathering front if you can get some additional checks in over the weekend, both during the day and the evening cycles.

As to your vet dilemma, I believe what the office manager did is akin to malpractice. It falls under the umbrella of patient abandonment. It is certainly counter to the instructions that the vet provided. It is probably something you can report to the state veterinary licensing board if you want to pursue action. If not, find another vet. I would, however, suggest you write a letter to the primary vet and the other vet who saw Hank. Often the vets are completely unaware of what the office staff are doing and how they are treating their patients' caregivers.

I'd encourage you to make the appt. with the vet who has an opening later this month so you know you have a vet lined up. I also do not think it's unreasonable to ask to have the vet call you prior to your going in as a means of screening. If you wanted to find a new doctor for yourself or a family member, you probably wouldn't think twice about calling to check the person out. I've made initial appointments for a consultation with a hair stylist! This is Hank, who you care very much about and it's your money; you are entitled to be a good consumer.

If it's not already apparent, you'll get however much support here that you want. Many of the members have had even more harrowing experiences with those who are now their former vets. Vets deal with a myriad of conditions in every species of animal that they treat. The primary focus of what goes on here is feline diabetes. The level of current information, knowledge, and skill is remarkable. While it may take you some time to get comfortable with the people here and the guidance that's provided, I think you already understand that the information is trustworthy, regardless of what the receptionist at your former vet's office may think.
 
Thank you so much for helping...we really need it. It's all still so new and rather scary.

Update: 1 hour later tests at 116. He seems fine, but this is all uncharted territory.

We are slightly later on schedule than normal, yes. BUT, there are many caviats. Our 'normal' time had been 10/10, which i have typically been w/in 15 -20 minutes of. We were also planning the DST time shoft, and have bumped for that, but due to yesterday's unexpected skipped dose, and this mornings delay with strip issues and having to test/shoot late, everything is wonky.
Also, had this all stuck to plan and we had done the DST shift, I was going to need to shift yet again to allow for a couple late night end of next week. So it may be we just stick w/ this slightly later schedule, adjusting back AFTER that. But I cannot honestly figure it out factoring in the DST part.
I am going to have to deal w/ that part later.

We will have had 3 low numbers this week, this being lowest. All involving skipped doses so early in the game when he is not regulated. I don't understand enough of the big picture or what this all means. And i am operating w/out a net (see earlier post) ya'll HAVE to stay with me!

I don't yet have my HC canned, do have HC dry and Karo. We are still adjusting to everything and trying to get all the correct provisions. I am now long on strips.

I have not tested for urine ketones in over a week, but do have some strips. I bought the one's that test ketones only, not glucose. I wasn't sure and just guessed and grabbed. This was before he was on insulin. We are still trying to figure it all out. Do I need to test for ketones?

I'm not sure what to do on dose adjustment. it's all over the place. he was 359 just this morning, 259 last night.

I am officially 12:30 form our last shot.. (window closing?)

OK.......NOW WHAT?


THANKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS everyone for riding this w/ us
 
here's what I'm thinking. It's late and you're not yet data ready to shoot a number this low.

I see two choices, and either one will work so you can choose.

1) if you want to change the schedule back to whatever you want it to be, then I would skip tonight's shot and restart at a lower dose (0.75 or 0.50) tomorrow at whatever time you want Hank's regular time to be. Please get a ketone test tonight if at all possible - ketones can reappear when not enough insulin is being given. It's not terribly likely but possible, so good to test.

2) or test again in another 1/2 hour, and if he is still going up then shoot a token dose of 0.25 tonight, then that will become his new shot time (you'll adjust it back later).

Either way, please go out tomorrow and buy some high carb canned food (like Fancy Feast varieties with gravy). Those are by far the best tool when you start getting numbers that are lower than you like. A little bit of gravy gives you great control over the numbers.

I have to go to bed, but Sienne and others are watching for you. :smile:
 
Thank you so much everyone. This is such a roller coaster ride. today has just been crazy.

Unfortunately I had already fed him before these posts came across. Our schedule had gotten so messed up today, he was hungry and had not eaten much.
He still is not crazy about some of the new foods, & still dealing w/ that transition. It was only a week ago that he was so sick and had been losing weight. I think he is holding his own. They wanted him to eat (we never got to part 2, then what)

Sienne, I think you said it right, it does feel like abandonment. I do not have a long or deep relationship w/ them, but I have a sick cat and no clue as to how to manage this. They gave very limited instruction. Feel a bit scared as each moment brings something new. We will know some day, and have a reservoir to pull from, but not there yet,...not by a long shot. of COURSE we have questions.

I would love to have had you on the phone w/ her, she raised her voice at me, would not allow a comment, then hung up. It simply wasn't accurate, i called with low numbers for guidance, that was it. I have no idea what was miscommunicated. end result is same,..she made me feel terrible. We don't have time to deal with it right now.

he actually looks good right now. he was a sick boy last week, but better w/ insulin. It has just been a jumpy wacky week number-wise. Do you see any pattern or signs? i sdon't even know what to look for.

So, the update is...Unfortunately i fed him before i knew that wasn't a good idea.
1 hour later his number was 116.
he had a high number this morning.
We are 1 1/2 hours late for our shot regular time/ 13 hours form this morning's (delayed shot)
it's been 50 min since the last test.
BTW, could the new box strips/control test have any impact?

i am starving BTW, no time for meals w/ all going on. Just a sidebar.

Can ya'll all come live with me for the next month or so til we figure this out?

checkin back- Thnx!!
 
Ok, yet again my last post crossed w/ Libby's last, so hadn't read it.

By skipping his dose, ketones could be a concern that quickly? ie: test tonight (if he pees) vs in the AM?

it is an hour later, and i could test again, but it is AWFULLY late to make this any sort of regular time. It's nearly midnite.
Though that could work itself out partially w/ DST. And again, NEXT week as mentioned, I needed to bump to accomodate a few nights I'd be late as well.
there is probably a way to make sense of this..i can't at the moment however...too beat to sort it out.
Sienne, can you figure this out?

it is getting awfully late though..we better do whatever it is soon....I'm fading.

Can you tell me why suggested NOT to feed him if the number was low? My instinct was the opposite. I need to understand the thinking so I can learn

do I need another test? Do i need to wake in the middle of the night to do one, or can we go to bed and wait for AM?
should i try for a urine test? wished i'd known that for the other 2 we skipped.

Is this low a good thing in the scheme of things?


ok, thnx some more

Oh, and thanx for taking care of us while we are homeless. We remain grateful.
 
Betty & Hank said:
Can ya'll all come live with me for the next month or so til we figure this out?

You mean you haven't figured out that you've got an entire community of people in your back pocket!! (lol!!!!)

I can be a bit assertive when it comes to dealing with health professionals. I did have a "sit down" with the office manager at my vets' office after a series of face offs with one of the reception staff. I tend to think you's want Holly by your side, although I've been known to make the same suggestion she did about waging an internet information campaign in situations like this where the service has been unprofessional (to say the least).

There are a few things you need to stay focused on. You're now stocked up on strips. Make sure you never have less than 25, preferably 50, in the house. You will go though a ton of them the first time Hank give you a number in the 40s. You will be testing every 15 to 30 min. until he stays surfing. (40s are good numbers -- they earn dose decreases but they are scary the first couple of times you deal with them.) Get HC canned food in the house. Pick up at least 5 cans and keep a stockpile. Like Libby noted, HC food is the best means of dealing with low numbers. If you look at Gabby's SS, you will see the times when I'm testing like crazy and I usually note what kind of food I'm giving her. If you don't already have them, pick up Ketostix. Stalking Hank to the litter box may be a challenge. Since he may have had some ketones when he was diagnosed, you want to make sure there are not more than a trace amount at any time. Ketones can be dangerous so we all test to make sure they are not making their presence known.

Get more spot checks. This is what makes you data ready to shoot lower numbers. This is the biggest challenge - especially with a hectic schedule.

The front end of this learning curve is absolutely overwhelming. And we've all been there. The good people here walked me through what could have been two hypoglycemic crises at times when my vet's office was closed. I've also found that my vet's "no shoot" number are numbers that I will routinely shoot and not think twice. You'll get there. We all get there. I have no doubt you will be comfortable managing Hank's diabetes within a few short weeks, even though it may not feel that way now.
 
Posts crossed.

Ketones can develop quickly. However, if Hank has been negative, I doubt they will crop up in any great amount overnight unless he has an infection. I doubt you'd be getting low numbers if he had an infection brewing.

It's fine to skip the dose and start tomorrow with a 0.5u dose so you can shoot twice a day without worrying. That will give you the consistency that Lantus likes. If you skip, you can shoot at whatever time you like in the AM. If you need some help setting a time, I'm happy to help. If you are more than 14 hours past your AM shot, it's best to skip.

We suggest not feeding if you are stalling a shot because you need to know what's happening with Hank's BG level. If you feed, the next test will be influenced by the food. So, if you are stalling, you don't feed and re-test in 15 min. increments. That way, when you get a rising number, you know that BG numbers are rising spontaneously and not due to food. When you stall a shot, you are looking to see that there's a surf or that numbers are rising.
 
Welcome you guys!! So sorry you had such a bad time,yet many of us do with the vets, till you find the right one..
Yes, you do have a community here, an ear, help, like minded people who love their diabetic cats--
Relax, try to sleep, Tomorrow is another day, start fresh with Hank....
 
Re: Hank AMPS 359-PMBG 93! +1 116 +3 118*PLEASE LOOK-what to do?

OK. One last test. + hours past. Still at 118, and he was and is eating some (Wellness canned LC).

This is a whole new thing. we haven't done this before.

No shot tonight. (3rd time this week). Could our pancreas be coming back? Lest i get too excited.

For all that I don't know, please enlighten. I read somewhere on the board that the beginning is your best shot at remission.
We don't want to miss doing all the right things due to being unclear.

I think we are ok til AM....if i was to do overnight checks, someone would have said. Will leave his leftovers out.

Tonight, now we go to bed.

thanks everybody
 
Oh my, I'm just reading your posts now.

I too have been through the wringer with the vets in my area. So, I totally understand how you are feeling and the frustration of it all.

I won't get into what happened with me, rather, I want to see if I can help you focus on what you need to do now and that you understand YOU ARE NOT ALONE!

Step 1 - Your goal is to collect all your cats records.

I want you to call the vet office and demand copies of all your cats records, tests, etc. Now when I say demand you may ask nicely for them. Give them 2 business days to complete this and tell them you will be in on Tuesday to pick them up.

If they do not want you to come in, then tell them to email, fax or mail it to you immediately.

You are entitled to your records. You paid for them and legally they have to give them to you. Don't be surprised if they demand a fee for this. Some places do - it should be a nominal fee less than $10. Just pay it and we'll deal with it later.


Step 2 - Review the records to make sure they are complete.

The bad vet I used, the admin staff only copied one side of the records and neglected to copy the back pages. I kid you not. It was like they didn't realize the vets wrote on the back of the page.

Step 3 - Start calling the vets in your area

Ask them what their philosophy is on diabetes, how do they treat clients. Meaning will they answer all your questions, return phone calls, do phone consults, etc. Essentially not due the things that this place did.

Your goal here is to find out a bit about them and if this place will work for you.

Step 4 - Contact the other vet you want to use and ask for an emergency appointment.

Explain to the receptionist that your current vet's office fired you and you need help immediately. Would they please fit you in on an emergency basis.

A good vet office will do this. They will find a way to squeeze you in. Even if that means you need to go before they officially open, at lunch or as the truly last appointment. It doesn't matter.

---------------------------------------------

Now, when this is done and you feel comfortable with the new vet and this board and if feel you have the proper support system in place.

The next thing you need to do is to write a letter to the vet - send it regular mail or even email if you have it - put confidential on it AND send a copy to the state vet board.

In the letter be as factual and unemotional a possible and outline what happened and what recourse you want - apology, refund, etc.

Again, even though you already have the records by now, ask for them again. Especially with the state board being copied.

--------------------------------------------------

Your second to last step - go on the internet and post copies of your complaint letter to the BBB, and any other place you can find to publicize what happened.

---------------------------------------------

Last step - put it behind you and move on.


I hope this helps.
 
Morning Betty...I will now add my two cents. Not of the 'medical' TYPE of advice but money saving advice... since you see that everyone is suggesting that you always have a decent supply of strips at hand and I definitely agree.

When you start running low again, it may save you money to switch meters. Go to Walmart and purchase a ReliOn Ultra for 9.99. The strips are always the same price...retail (maybe sometimes a little cheaper on the internet on eBay but not much) or online...they are a Walmart brand. The most expensive pack of 100 is as inexpensive as a pack of 50.00 that you'll get online for the One Touch (within 5-10 dollars but it's a lot more strips) and when you run out you can just run to a store. It's a good reliable meter and a lot of us use it. (I switched back from a One Touch to the Relion for this reason)

Just another thought to save money and keep you sane.

Hope you have a better day :)

Caryl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top