Hanging onto the insulin, even at lower dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robin&BB

Member Since 2013
This is kinda frustrating - could someone please look at Bat's SS? Her shot times keep getting pushed later & later because she's holding onto the Pro Zinc more than 12 hrs, with lower pre-shot BGs. So lowered the dose a bit less than 0.5, but we're still not getting above 160 @ shot time. Is this her "new normal?" Should I just try a 0.25 & see what happens to her #s ... or what?
 
1st AMPS today was 155 @ 9:53am - just now got a 168 @ 10:22. Will feed, then shoot in about 20 min. from now ...
 
Hmm.interesting that her presents continue to be low but her cycles are pretty flat. I'd say you have two choices - either chase the number like you have been (wait until the pre shot is high enough to shoot, even if it is off the 12/12 schedule and then shoot again when she rises to that range. Often this means your cycles are much longer than 12 hours apart.). Or lower the dose and the pre shot number. So start shooting when she reaches 150-160 (as long as you are sure it is rising) but only give .25. Or even less (Be sure to monitor the first few cycles.)

If you look at the spreadsheets in the remission thread, you can see people used both of these approaches successfully.
 
You might find this helpful.

Drop dosing

Using a colored liquid, so you can see it more easily, fill a syringe to 0.5 units.
Slowly squeeze out equal-sized drops, maybe by twisting the plunger, until you can get the same number of drops per 0.5 units every time.

Now, you can draw up more than the amount you need, and squeeze out drops to the dose you want.
You discharge the excess into the sink.

Decreases may be done a drop at a time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top