Gus's curve for Sunday

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Gus

Member Since 2010
6:30 AM: 328 BG (this reading was actually at +11 and his shot was given at 7:30 AM after he ate)

7:30 AM - 1 Unit

10:00 AM: 398 BG +2.5

2:00 PM: 314 BG +6.5

5:20 PM: 369 BG +10

7:18 PM: 438 BG +12

I sent all of this to my vet to see what she says. His numbers were better when I increased his dose, but he looked terrible and wasn't feeling good - barely moving and hiding under the bed even though his numbers were in the 200s. I don't know if I increased it too fast.

I will see what my vet says, but he cannot stay at these numbers. Sometimes I think maybe we should go back on Lantus until we figure something else out. This is so frustrating.
 
So hard to tell what is going on from his SS because of all the blank dates. But it looks like you will just have to systematically raise the dose until you break through.

I would suggest raising by .25u every 3 days if you are not getting nadirs below 200. From what little I can tell her was on 3u of lantus and could still have go up a bit to get lower numbers.

Can you fill in his SS with your recent numbers? I can look them over more when I get back (next Sun) but I think he just needs more insulin.

I know it is frustrating - but it is a slow process to get them regulated.
 
Thanks for your response Sheila. My vet thinks we are still in a symogie effect and I think she is right because Gus's numbers are slightly lower and more consistent today.

+3.5 - 310 BG
+10 - 331 BG

While not fantastic - they are lower than yesterday and more constant. I'm much happier with these numbers and hope he continues to fall as we stay steady with 1 Unit. My vet wants me to get a curve over this coming weekend and see how he is doing.

I think I rushed things and shouldn't have changed his dose as soon as I did. It is just so hard when you see numbers in the 400s. It freaks me out and I get scared, but I think I made things worse and he felt terrible as a result. Lesson learned!

Thank you again for your help and support. I will post his next curve to let you all know how things are going and get my other numbers posted as well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top