? Gremlin - 17/11 - AMPS 266, +6 140, +10 180, PMPS 202

Laura and Gremlin (GA)

Member Since 2015
Yesterday
Grem's painkillers would basically all be worn off in the mornings and yet, he still gets into bed with me for cuddles and purrs.
Either he's super good at hiding pain or maybe it doesn't hurt that much at the moment.
How much would a broken tooth effect his diabetes? Once the antibiotics have worn off.
 
Infection/inflammation can impact BG numbers. A broken tooth can lead to infection. The antibiotic injection (Convenia) is not the best antibiotic for mouth issues.

I wouldn't worry about the buprenorphine longer term at his age. Neko had to be on bupe long term due to really bad arthritis. She was on it over 2 years. The worst that can happen is they get used to it and you have to increase the dose a bit.
 
Oh wow!! That's good to know Wendy, thank you. Now it's just a matter of cost. But I suppose he wouldn't also need to be on Meloxicam?

They have the antibiotic to ward off infection developing. Injections are MUCH easier for Grem than pilling and I already give him two pills a day which is difficult. If the tooth will be a continual risk of infection, that poses a HUGE problem.
 
Meloxicam also has an anti-inflammatory properties, but it's not something I ever gave Neko. I think the decision of whether the tooth would continue to be a problem would be a discussion with the vet. Depends how much is broken off, etc. You can get antibiotics in liquid form.
 
I guess the risk of infection and the level of pain if any would depend on how bad the break is which the vet may not be able to tell without knocking him out :bighug::bighug: so hard trying to make the best decisions for old kitties.

Meloxicam also has an anti inflammatory effort (more so than pain relief really) so they might not want you to stop that.

Gorgeous pic yesterday, I wanted to like it but the rest of the report wasn’t so good :(
 
That mouth cleaning stuff you can add to their water might also be something you can consider, sorry can’t remember what it’s called.
 
I have finally spoken to Susan, the vet. Definitely no surgery for him, but there's a chance he'll be able to live happily even with a broken tooth. I have more painkiller options if needed (aside from Meloxicam which will never stop) but it will be a matter of judging his quality of life on a regular basis. I'll take him in to be checked in a couple of weeks. For now, he's doing so well that Susan is happy to see how he goes over time. Even another month of quality life would be amazing!
 
Back
Top