Green preshot of 44

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonimarmalade

Member Since 2015
Lantus (Glargine) / Levemir (Detemir)
Lantus and Levemir users learning how to use the Start Low, Go Slow Method or the Tight Regulation Protocol to help regulate your diabetic kitty. Lots of good info and knowledgeable people.
 
We started in the green this am and stayed through + 4. Just did +5 of 118but she had eaten a good protein snack between the two tests. I shot a 1.75
( looks like a skinny 2 really) following Dr. p's suggestion for green preshots. Worked well on Sunday. Marmy is playful and interested in rearranging all the papers I am organizing on the dining room table.for income tax purposes( wish I could deduct the four kitties medical expenses! Wow what. A refund!). Interestingly enough she is sitting on the medical expenses at the moment! o_O
 
Just a quick response because I'm at work...normally we don't shoot anything under 50 - it is too risky because there is no wiggle room if a kitty starts to drop, especially since Marmalade has not seen PS numbers like this before.

But, I see you did shoot the 44 and fortunately it has worked out OK. In the future, when you shoot a low number, you definitely want to start testing at +1 to make sure Marmalade is not heading lower.
 
Wow! Guess I was lucky. Didn't,t know about the under 50 rule. So just skip that shot completely? She is fine, so far.
 
To be honest, yes, you were very lucky! Shooting low numbers, especially when you are not data-ready and if you don't stay on top of testing can result in a dangerous hypoglycemic situation.

Yes, we don't shoot anything under 50 here. It's just too dangerous and risky.

Here's the link to the shooting and handling low numbers link that's at the top of this forum.

shooting and handling low numbers


It's a lot of information, so please ask about anything that seems confusing. We're all about keeping kitties both healthy AND safe!
 
I have read this both on Sunday when she had a low PS and just now. Just a lot to remember. I will, in the future, when a low PS situation occurs, just refer back to this before I do anything. Thanks for being there!:banghead:
 
You can always post here, too, for help when you have a low PS number!! It is a lot to remember and know, but we're here to help!!!
 
There is usually someone here most of the time, although it can be a little quiet early in the morning. But, we are an active group and we try to keep our eyes peeled for folks in need of help!
 
Congrats on the dose reduction. I'm glad you are reducing. Since you have hardly any night time tests, and given this morning's number, there's a good change Marmalade has been going pretty low at night.

I agree with Amy - never shoot below 50. But if you do see a low number, post here for help. One strategy if no one responds is to wait, without feeding, for 15-30 minutes and see if the blood sugar is coming up. Often it will come up into the safe zone so you can shoot. Paws crossed this bounce is short lived.
 
And Dr. P is of the same opinion. That makes me feel comfortable re: how to proceed.will try to do a night test tonight.:)
 
You've already gotten lots of good advice, so i'll just say that Marmalade is looking pretty encouraging!

Let us know what Dr. P said about the pm cycle tests. I'm glad to hear you're getting a test this evening.
 
I,m encouraged by your comment that Marmy is looking pretty encouraging.
With regard to the pm teSts, Dr. P feels that with my schedule and other medical demands and family demands, I need my sleep (unless, of course, some emergency arises) and said not to stress over trying to test at night in addition to what I am currently doing. But I do understand the value of pm info. So I will try to get a reading when I can. In fairness to you all, she knows about constraints and critical needs that I am attending to that you don,t so not to worry. It will all work out. Bless you for all your good advice.
 
We do have other people with medical issues that prevent testing at night. Ya gotta work with life. When you can get a test before you go to bed, it will be helpful info. If you can't . . . then we go with the day information, knowing that the cat might possibly be going lower at night.
 
Expected a low PM +5 but got 320. This diabetes fluctuation seems to have no pattern. Hopefully eyes far more experienced than mine can make some sense of it. Good night.
 
Bouncing from the lows last night/this morning. It can take up to 6 cycles for the bounce to resolve. It means you get a good sleep tonight.
 
I agree with Wendy - this is a bounce. It's actually very predictable. There's a little more of an explanation about bouncing in the second post here.

If he was at 44 this morning at amps, that was likely coming UP from something lower than that in the early morning hours. His body was bound to react to it. Depending on how much time he's been spending in low numbers, it might last up to 6 cycles (3 days). If he's been in them enough to be somewhat used to them, he might clear the bounce (return to green numbers) sooner than 3 days.
 
Haven,t heard from any of the guardian angels who monitor the FDMB this week but Marmy is mostly green and blue. Dr. Pierson had me reduce to 1.5 last night. Today all blue. Hope the green comes back - above 50 of course.
 
It could be a bounce, but that 433 does seem a bit out of place. Could Marmy have gotten into any "contraband" (kibble or high carb food)? Did you re-test? It's always a good idea to retest when you get an oddball number (whether it's high or low), to make sure it wasn't a wonky test strip or something along those lines.
 
Yes, I did retest. First read was 435 but can never get the chart to color code when I put two numbers in with a slash in between. And yes, she did get into some dry Royal Canin Diabetic that I only give up to 10 pieces a day as a little treat because Dr. P. Hates the stuff and said no more than 10 a day. However, night before last she got the top off the container( very smart and persistent kitty) and I,m not sure how many she ate before I discovered her chomping away. Also giving higher fat but still under 10 carb wet cat food to our old cat, Mystic who is 16 and losing weight like crazy, peeing gallons and always hungry, etc. but NOT diabetic or in CKD but probably has gastro-intestinal issues and has leaking bladder and failure to absorb according to our local vet and Dr. Hirsh. Marmy sometimes eats his food so could either of these affect her BG? Just tested at + 3 before I go to work and it is down to 301. Why couldn't it be 299 so I could at least see yellow?!
 
It is possible that any sort of contraband could cause a spike. A few weeks ago, my Trixie, who is in remission, got into one of my civvies' kibble bowl (long story as to why he eats kibble). Her BGs skyrocketed to almost 300 the next day - and just about gave me a heart attack! Her numbers came back down once the kibble cleared her system.

These kitties can be VERY persistent about getting into "forbidden fruit"!

Likewise, it is also possible that Marmy is bouncing. It's great that you double-checked the test - always a good idea when a number is out of place.

At least she's coming down....but yes, she IS teasing you!!
 
Have I told you that your Trixie is beautiful!? Each time I see her picture I just want to hug her! And thank you for your insights. Let,s see what tomorrow brings!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top