Tina & Rocky
Member Since 2013
I am not going to pretend that it is a "good' morning for me or for Rocky.
I am not wearing "patience pants" anymore. This is crap.
Rocky continues to surf these shitty pink numbers..I wouldn't be surprised if he went to a red or a black today.
Yesterdays' condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118606
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 293 +2 315 +5 396 +9 343
PMPS 410 +1 321 +4 365 +11 369
If you examine Rocky's ENTIRE SS, you will see that his body does better on 2.0u to 2.50u of insulin. He is NOT bouncing right now. He is just not getting enough insulin.
I know that the correct dose for Rocky right now is nothing under 2.0u, and I think there are some folks here that believe this as well..
And yet on with the rules of this protocol--
Looking at Cobb's SS chart, it was 6 days and Cobb is back in BLUE numbers. Rocky, on the other hand, is still SURFING PINK NUMBERS AND IT HAS BEEN 13 DAYS!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
You got to give Cobb "R" 17 times to get him back into better numbers, and everyone cheered you on. Giving Cobb that "extra shot" of insulin at least got him into the 200s. From Tilly's Diabetes Protocol: "200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. " That means AT LEAST Cobb is getting some healing time in there, AND, you get to do something to help Cobb heal.
I get to do nothing for Rocky. Instead, I am told to ♫sit on my hands and put on my patience pants♫ while I watch his BG surf pink, red, and black numbers for DAYS on end, which are slowly killing him.
I believe that rather than singing to me that ♫some cats are difficult to regulate♫ that the untold truth is closer to "our standard protocol doesn't work for every cat. :? " For example, in life there are different types of medication for the same illnesses in this world, for different people. Why would we believe that there is one--size-fits-all protocol for every cat? THERE ISN'T!!
I am DONE being patient with this protocol for Rocky. It DOESN'T WORK FOR HIM!! I've taken tons of blood tests that prove it. No one is listening to me.
FYI: Tilly's Diabetes Protocol: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
I am not wearing "patience pants" anymore. This is crap.
Rocky continues to surf these shitty pink numbers..I wouldn't be surprised if he went to a red or a black today.
Yesterdays' condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=118606
Yesterday's SS:
AMPS 293 +2 315 +5 396 +9 343
PMPS 410 +1 321 +4 365 +11 369
I appreciate that you are trying to make me feel better, but you don't really understand how I feel or how frustrated I am. You get to give Cobb more insulin RIGHT AWAY anytime you don't like his BG number. I don't get to do that for Rocky.Suzanne & Cobb wrote:
Tina, I know you're frustrated. I'm sorry! The reason you can't just jump back up to those doses is because Rocky earned his reductions and proved that at that time those doses were too much insulin for him.
That was coming down from the dose of 2.0u and 2.50u. His depot was full. I don't believe that he will achieve blue or green numbers with only 1.75u of insulin this time. From Tilly's Diabetes Protocol: "Reducing the dose too quickly generally does not work: most cats do not go into remission with fast reductions." Based on this knowledge and what just happened to Rocky in April I know that we are NO WHERE close to remission.
Suzanne & Cobb wrote:
You had a nice streak of green between 4/23 and 4/29, except for that one day of red, which was directly related to the skipped shot that morning. All of those doses were under 2units.
If you examine Rocky's ENTIRE SS, you will see that his body does better on 2.0u to 2.50u of insulin. He is NOT bouncing right now. He is just not getting enough insulin.
Suzanne & Cobb wrote:
Unfortunately, searching around for the right dose is all part of this frustrating game. But the protocol is there to keep Rocky safe (and save you money so you don't feel you have to rush off to the emergency vet).
I know that the correct dose for Rocky right now is nothing under 2.0u, and I think there are some folks here that believe this as well..
And yet on with the rules of this protocol--
ROCKY MUST ENDURE 13 DAYS and more (not cycles) IN PINK, RED, AND BLACK NUMBERS!!!
Suzanne & Cobb wrote:
Try to be patient. I know (trust me), I know it is hard. Yesterday I was complaining about Cobb's numbers and had to be reminded of an adjustment in our schedule. Now he's back in better numbers. You may have to bounce around for a bit until you really find Rocky's optimal dose.
Looking at Cobb's SS chart, it was 6 days and Cobb is back in BLUE numbers. Rocky, on the other hand, is still SURFING PINK NUMBERS AND IT HAS BEEN 13 DAYS!!! :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:
You got to give Cobb "R" 17 times to get him back into better numbers, and everyone cheered you on. Giving Cobb that "extra shot" of insulin at least got him into the 200s. From Tilly's Diabetes Protocol: "200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. " That means AT LEAST Cobb is getting some healing time in there, AND, you get to do something to help Cobb heal.
I get to do nothing for Rocky. Instead, I am told to ♫sit on my hands and put on my patience pants♫ while I watch his BG surf pink, red, and black numbers for DAYS on end, which are slowly killing him.
I believe that rather than singing to me that ♫some cats are difficult to regulate♫ that the untold truth is closer to "our standard protocol doesn't work for every cat. :? " For example, in life there are different types of medication for the same illnesses in this world, for different people. Why would we believe that there is one--size-fits-all protocol for every cat? THERE ISN'T!!
I am DONE being patient with this protocol for Rocky. It DOESN'T WORK FOR HIM!! I've taken tons of blood tests that prove it. No one is listening to me.
:idea: :idea: :idea: We need to come up with a different protocol to help Rocky heal.. :idea: :idea: :idea:
FYI: Tilly's Diabetes Protocol: http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm