Grayson 5/5 - 5/6 TEST RESULTS IN

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Ole'

Grayson has been parked at the IHOP for so long, I think it's programmed into his GPS! The good news is, we seem to have broken from the reds long enough to see pink (still dreaming of yellows!), but he got down to 347 last night. That's one of his lowest readings recently. This morning, his AMPS was 370. Again, a welcome change! He's back to being ravenous... well, maybe just hungry - no snack last night! He actually knocked his bowl on the floor after he licked it clean, so of course he got more! Only to be pushed away by Paulo, who apparently is STARVING!!! I'm telling you, the abuse in my house...! :lol:

Yesterday's numbers:
Fri Mar 4
AMPS 496 Shot 3.0u
+4.5 360
NEG ketones
+7.7 429
Sub Q fluids 100 mL
MDPS (+9.5) 398 Shot 3.0
+2.5 350
NEG ketones
+7 347
PMPS (+8) 352 Shot 3.4

Sat May 5
AMPS 370 Shot 3.4

Hope everyone has a great Cinco de Mayo celebration. Margueritas (or Tuna-ritas!) for EVERYONE!!!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Better watch that abuse or your cats will be calling social services with mine! :lol:

Hope y'all have a GREAT day!!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Hi Grayson....its Baxter I don't know what Cinco de Mayo is. Is it a party? Well whatever it's is...happy day to you.
Mom let me type something to you she said to be nice. My mom said you & your mom are in the processs of buying IHop & that you will be living there. Are you marrying that waitress cat(2)_steam ? Is that why?
Grayson...that kitty isn't nice. She doesn't like you!! She is just using you for Fancy Feast. She probably can't afford to buy food like that.
Oops mom said I have to go...she says I'm not using nice words.
-Baxter


Hey guys!! Happy Cinco de Mayo to you! The celebrations are very big here in Houston. I will explain it to Baxter later. :lol:
Enjoy your Saturday!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo!

Jenn & Baxter said:
My mom said you & your mom are in the processs of buying IHop & that you will be living there. Are you marrying that waitress cat(2)_steam ? Is that why?



I OUGHTA buy the IHOP - seems that's where so many kitties are hanging out these days!!! :lol: (must be the waitress!) cat(2)_steam But since I paid off my credit card, I guess now it's okay to be frivolous! I still think the clerk at Food Lion (grocery store) worries when I buy a couple boxes of FF and a bag of bagels! Maybe I should add Cathy's stuff for kitty enemas to my shopping list! :o They'll REALLY freak out then! :lol:

We'll see what we buy - I think I like Waffle House better! I had Christmas Dinner there once - with a really nice family I met there! WORD TO THE WISE - Flying on Christmas Day is a good thing - not too busy... driving, on the other hand... NOT SO GOOD! Nothing is open except the Waffle House! And they were PACKED!!!

Oh yes, and Baxter... no weddings in our future! :lol:
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo!

I still think the clerk at Food Lion (grocery store) worries when I buy a couple boxes of FF and a bag of bagels!

Try this the next time you go....

As you set the FF boxes down... "wow, am I glad this stuff is on sale this week!"
pause.
"Have you seen the price of lox, lately?"
Pause.
"Do you have any low fat cream cheese, or should I just go with mayo?"

Carl
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Test Results:

Carl - I'm not sure there's anyone in this part of NC that knows what lox are :o ... they might send me to Lowe's or the local hardware store! :lol:

Still shooting mostly TID, and made a small effort to get some tests every two hours today. Here's what he showed me:

Sat May 5
AMPS 370 Shot 3.4
+2 361
+4 399
+6.5 423
MDPS (+8.5) 473 Shot 4.0u

Jenn - I think I already own the IHOP!

So, looking at these numbers, and after having spent months in the pinks, it probably comes to no surprise to any of us that Grayson's IAA (Insulin AutoAntibody) - the insulin resistence test - results came back positive. <20 is normal; he registered at 50. The other test, IGF-1, or Insulin-like Growth Factor-1, which is used to diagnose acromegaly, also came back positive. 12-92 is normal; Grayson registered a 236. My boy is an over-achiever!

My vet and I will be consulting w/ the NC State Univ Vet School, and I'll be shifting most of my attention over to the Acro/IAA/Cushings forum, and working with the folks there to learn more. The collective knowlege there is going to be more thorough than anywhere else, I'm certain. This is still a relatively rare-occuring condition, with even fewer cats formally diagnosed. So much for my friend telling me "Your cat is unique, but he's probably not THAT special!"

Keep us in your thoughts & prayers as we embark on this new journey - I'm still kinda reeling from the reality check that it has presented - and I've already concluded that there's some things I'm going to share w/ my vet (and hopefully others) for their diabetic clients/beans. The obvious - encouraging home-testing, taking an active lead role in your pet's care, the availability of support groups such as this board, and encouraging our vets to not just offer the standard treatment protocal, but to advise their clients that there are other things they may do and tests that may identify other situations if they are interested in going one step further. No more floundering with "high dose kitties" and beans that never know they might be able to actually break through the resistence. Having been in the trenches now for just under 4 months, I know I still have a lot to learn... but if my time here ends up helping someone else, it's all been worth it!

I'll check in to see everyone, and will keep you posted on his progress/status/developments. In the meantime, if you see someone who is "swimming in a field of pink", you may want to encourage them to have these tests run. $15 and $49 are a drop in the bucket compared to time spent floundering and wondering why he could barely see yellow!

Lu-Ann
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST REULTS IN

Lu,
Knowing is better. And there are people who have dealt with this and will be able to help you out, and eventually, we'll all learn from it. Will you be staying on Prozinc or switching to Lev?
You had better keep us up to date! We need your sense of humor here :-D

Carl
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Know that I'll be praying for y'all and you begin this journey to helping Grayson get better regulated. Have to admit, it's all Greek to me, but I plan to do some reading to know more about what you're dealing with.

Glad to hear you won't forget us and will come back OFTEN! :-D

HUGS and PRAYERS -
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST REULTS IN

Carl & Bob in SC said:
Lu,
Knowing is better. And there are people who have dealt with this and will be able to help you out, and eventually, we'll all learn from it. Will you be staying on Prozinc or switching to Lev?
You had better keep us up to date! We need your sense of humor here :-D

Carl

So far, we've received the results. My vet and I have chatted, but clearly we both need to get up to snuff and have some consultations before any decisions are made. In the meantime, I'm gradually increasing his insulin again, in the hopes that we might eventually catch a break-through - but timing, doses, insulin, treatments... are all unknown at this point. I figured I'd be reading most of the weekend, with some home/yard projects while the weather was good (yard work is very theropeutic for me!) Got some commitments tomorrow, so the home/yard stuff will be a bust, but that will give me ample time to read, read, read and learn some more about Acro/IAA. The dance for us has just changed dramatically!

Thanks for all of your support!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Oh Lu, I can just imagine that this is both a heartbreak and a relief. But now you can put your amazing mind to work figuring the ways to help Grayson most. You better not be a stranger - we need to know how Grayson is doing, and how you are coping. The very best of luck to both of you - you're in my thoughts and will be often.
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Thanks Sue. I'm not going away completely... I'm MUCH HARDER to get rid of than that!!! :lol:
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

I'm away on a business trip but I was just checking in on you guys and saw the news. I can imagine it is both things for you, good to know and scary to know. But at least you can move forward now, and it sounds like between your vet, the vet school and the acro forum here you will have lots of good information to help Grayson a lot.
Hugs and prayers and light and love comin' your way Lu.
:YMHUG:
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Thanks, Donna!

They've got a lot more info on the acro page than I expected. Got lots of reading ahead of me!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Lu I'm sorry and also glad - it's a good thing to know what you are up against and plan your moves accordingly. I'm glad to hear you won't be leaving us totally- I know we'll be very interested not just in how Grayson is doing but also in what you are learning and how your path is unfolding.
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Awww hon I'm so sorry. Go through the process, let the shock and sadness sink in, cry, be angry. When you get through that, pick yourself up and know that there is a whole new group of people waiting to welcome you with open arms who have been down this path and can guide you.

Big gentle hugs.

Please keep us updated.

Robin
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Thanks all -

Had dinner w/ a friend tonight - one that was concerned when I first started testing Grayson - she thought it was cruel and that he didn't have any "quality of life". I swear, if she came in my house, spent a few minutes with each cat, and that she didn't know that Grayson was a solid gray male cat, she wouldn't be able to tell which was the diabetic... unless she looked at his right ear. Other than that, nothing about him is terribly obvious. And that he jumps up on his own initiative to get tested, to me, that seems like he knows that testing is a means to an end - of feeling better, that is! When I told her that, she pretty much backed off. She was not one of the folks I was training to do the testing & shots, as I never had a real sense of support where his diabetes was concerned.

It is truly amazing, however, that other friends have stepped up and offered to help w/ him and/or have offered support. And for all of them and you guys, I'm extremely grateful! Thanks & good night.

Lu
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Even though you didn't want Grayson to test positive, it must be a great relief to know why he saw hardly any movement.
Now that you know why, you can learn from the Acro group and tackle this.
Please don't leave PZI, we need to hear Grayson updates and would miss your support and great sense of humor if you don't check in. : )
(((Big Hugs))) to you and Grayson!
 
Re: Grayson 5/5 - Happy Cinco de Mayo! TEST RESULTS IN

Grayson, this is Linus. My mom is typing for me. I hope we get to talk more on the PZI board, I know my mom learns a lot from your mom and from what is happening to you. I hope you feel great really soon and have some really great numbers. My mom is excited because she said I had the blues today. I don't think I felt sad, but whatever. Let's get together at IHOP really soon. I hear that maybe we can eat a low carb breakfast there instead of pancakes. Mom says I can go if I only eat eggs and bacon.

Keep in touch, ok buddy?
Linus
 
I think my eyes are bugging out from all the reading... but so much to learn, so many questions to ask, so many pieces of the puzzle I need to know before I can start to make the first decision! Grayson's path will not be chosen hastily...

Need to update his SS - he's missing since about Wednesday. Will do that between the commitments of the day today.

Recap:

Saturday, May 5
AMPS 370 Shot 3.4u
+2 361
+4 399
+6.5 423
SubQ fluids ~90 mL
MDPS (+8.5) 473 Shot 4.0u
Ketones: NEG/TR
+4.5 416
+6.5 398
PMPS (+7.5) 410 Shot 4.0u

Sunday, May 6
AMPS 392 Shot 4.0u

It's pink - barely pink, but I'll take it!!! ;-)
 
I know we have discussed this in person, but I felt a need to post my thoughts here.

I know this is not the dx that you wanted, BUT at least you know. I applaud you for having the courage and initiative to test Grayson so early in the dance. So many people, delay or avoid testing for Acro and IAA in fear of the dx. I know....... because I lived this. I am certain that Kitty had resistance, but I never tested her, I didn't want to know ... eventually, I think we broke through it with agressive tid dosing. Due to your courage and willingness to face the possibility of the Acro and IAA dx , you have allowed Grayson a better future. You did not waist time and were proactive, in an effort to give him the best care possible. You did all of this, at the expense of your emotions-- but, in an effort to help Grayson-- how admirable!

You will figure it out..... and I will help you! We will learn together!

Now, quit testing so much and start reading....we have A LOT to comprehend!
 
I can't tell you all how fortunate I am to have someone just down the street that can walk me through all these crazy dance steps! From learning how to make my little turnip bleed, to letting me try her meter when I was questioning EVERY reading I was getting, to knowing that there's someone that I can trust with his care if I have to miss a shot, and having a sounding board when I've got so many things floating around in my head! I don't know about doing this at the "expense of my emotions" but maybe my sanity?!!!! :lol: Honestly, I don't know how others get through this on their own!

Been reading - and reading - and asking questions a little bit... so much more to learn! But I feel like I need to know all my options before I make a decision. That being said, I was thrilled to get a good +6, after which I gave fluids (& food), which appears to me on the MDPS as the 30 point food spike plus about 10 points of a climb. And just when I was getting ready to post, the one who used to have bashful kidneys headed to the litter box and I got a ketone test... oh how I LOVE to see those yellowish NEGATIVE results!!!

So here's today:
Sunday, May 6
AMPS 392 Shot 4.0u
+6 337
SubQ fluids + FF-C 1.0
MDPS (+8) 377
NEGATIVE ketones! Woo Hoo!!! Celebrating small victories! dancing_cat
 
Oh Luann
I am so terrbily sorry to hear this news, it just breaks my heart.
But at least you kw and now you can move forward and help Grayson.
You are both in my thoughts and prayer and please know that I am here for you whatever you need!
 
Lu, over the last couple of months you & I have become good friends. You have given me words of support, comfort & wonderful leads to help with my sister who is so sick with cancer. You have given me support & comfort with Baxter when his number werent/arent so great. We have joked around with our cats & made each other laugh over this horrible diasese that at times brings tears to my eyes.
What I am trying to say...learning about Grayosn & his new DX truly breaks my heart. You are my friends & I know his DX breaks your heart. So of coarse it makes me sad. I know you will read & read just like you did when he was DX with FD. You will become very knowledgeable & that is what is going to help Grayson.
You know there is no leaving the PZI family...once a member always a member. Members for life!
:YMHUG:
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Lu, over the last couple of months you & I have become good friends. You have given me words of support, comfort & wonderful leads to help with my sister who is so sick with cancer. You have given me support & comfort with Baxter when his number werent/arent so great. We have joked around with our cats & made each other laugh over this horrible diasese that at times brings tears to my eyes....

It's always amazing the bonds you form with others that you spend time with "in the trenches" - or IHOP! We stay up all night, holding each others' hands through hypos or ketones or whatever, and share our greatest joys & fears. It's only natural that we should build friendships with people across the country (or world, for that matter) that are as strong as those with the people in our day-to-day lives. We make each other laugh - as a means to get through the crazy times, and we cry together.

Tonight I mentioned to a friend how I have, on several occasions, gone on the grief forum and cried my eyes out over a cat I've never met or even corresponded with their bean. But loving my babies as I do, only makes someone else's loss feel personal - even if I don't know them. It's only natural that we should feel the pain of our friends' trials & tribulations. And it's so amazing to have the support of friends we know through our cats' illnesses! My friends have ALWAYS been a huge support network for me - and you guys continue to hold me and Grayson up, even when we're not completely there. I can't say enough, how much it means to have everyones' support. THANK YOU from the bottom of my heart and Grayson's too!

It's great to meet others that share my love for my furry kids - so glad you all are now a part of my world! Just know that even the smallest, kindest thing you post on someones thread, can make the difference between a good and not-so-good day for them. Thank you all!!!

Lu-Ann
 
Wow! Lu, i've been out of touch the last couple of days and just read your post of the agro and Iaa. I'm sorry that he has both, but know you are glad to know the answers and maybe now can get some help with his numbers. We will miss you!! Keep in touch.

lori
 
You might not have gotten the answer you wanted but at least now you know what you're working with and can go from there.

Ruby and I are pulling for you two!! We'll send some good mojo your way. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Amy -

I know you're LOVIN the fact that Ruby went OTJ! Honestly, I'm so happy for you!!!

It IS good to finally understand why he kept hanging out at "IHOP" - flat as a pancake numbers - so the Insulin Resistance wasn't a big surprise - actually a relief. But knowing there's a tumor growing in my little guys head... that's much harder to wrap my brain around. I'm feeling glad that we've probably caught the Acromegaly early, but that doesn't make it that much easier. The more I read, the more I'm ready to jump on a plane and get there. But I know I need to be completely aware of the options/alternatives before I jump in blindly. That's why this research phase is so important.

You know how difficult of a decision it was to change insulins. That's the least of my worries right now... it's just one small component piece of the big puzzle. Crazy!

Thanks for your support. Will stay in touch - and hope you'll do the same! Give Ruby a hug from "Auntie Lu"! :-D

Lu-Ann
 
hi lu!

i started to answer all of your questions, pull up old emails and whatnot, and realized that it's all in the post i did on the high dose forum, right down to contact information for CUS. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=52744 Take a look and see if it doesn't answer everything.

i'll still look and see what else i've got that might be helpful. as i said, i haven't been sorry for one minute that we did it.

These are all from emails from Dr. Lunn, some in answer to my questions, some in prep for the treatment:
Hi Julie

It is regarded as a fairly slowly progressive disease, but the sooner we treat, the better. I think there is a lot of variability between patients. Some cats that we treat may have had the disease for a long time - others seem to progress really fast.

It is very likely that you can leave by noon on Friday. I just warn everyone that we are depending on the functioning of a lot of delicate and temperamental equipment - CT scanner and the SRT machine can sometimes go down and need maintenance. And that can throw everything off by a day or so.

Most of these cats come on Monday and have CT that day. The plan is made that evening, and SRT is given Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and the cat can leave after the last dose. If we had to go into Friday we could make sure he went early and got done by noon. So chances are you would be gone by noon on Friday - just no guarantees.

I would be very comfortable with you working with Dr Timian. She is on service the week of Sept 19 and 26. I am on the following 3 weeks. I am out of town the week of Sept 19. I will be here, but not on clinics, the week of Sept 26.

The hyperthyroid test is called T4. I will look for it on the labwork you had sent over. The alkp is not specific for hyperthyroid - it is affected by a lot of things.

To assess the kidneys, and to prepare for the SRT, the tests I recommend are:

CBC (complete blood count)
Chemistry panel
Urinalysis (urine taken at the same time as the blood)
Urine culture (urine taken by needle from the bladder)
Urine protein:creatinine ratio
Blood pressure
Total T4 (thyroid test)
Fructosamine.

The first 3 on the list are required prior to anesthesia. If you could get the tests run next week and email or fax the results to me we will have them ready for anesthesia. I did not receive any of the faxes, so not sure what happened to those.


Hi Julie

Don't worry about the blood pressure. It is very quick and easy to do here, and I think it might even be included with the cardiology examination that we had briefly discussed. If they don't do it, one of the other clinicians will be sure to get the blood pressure checked.

Yes - CSU accepts credit cards.


Hi Julie

I have an appointment reserved for Punkin next Monday at 10 am. That is when you will meet Dr Timian. However, we will need you to arrive at 9 am so that somebody can take Punkin back to anesthesiology so they can examine him and make the anesthetic plan. He will then be returned to you in time for the formal appointment with Dr Timian and her student.

Please do not feed Punkin the morning of the appointment - he should have no food after 10 pm the night before. He should have access to water the whole time. Please give him 1/2 your normal dose of insulin at the usual time on the morning of the appointment. Please bring copies of any medical records, x-rays, ultrasounds etc.

Please call the hospital, today if possible, and give your details so the medical record can be created. Please call 970 297 5000 and select small animal enquiries. Explain that you have an appointment next Monday at 10 am with Internal Medicine One, and they will take all the necessary details. At that time you can get directions to the hospital, and recommendations on accommodation if you need those.

Please let me know if you have any questions. I have copied Dr Timian on this email as I am going out of town tomorrow and won't be back until 9/26. You will be in very good hands as Dr Timian has a lot of experience with cats with acromegaly.

Thanks,

KL
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top