Grayson 5/17 - 5/19 ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Hi all -

I've been so bad at reporting Grayson's numbers lately, and am just now working on his spreadsheet, but I figured I'd give you a little peak (only cuz he had a good day today!). Been shooting 6u TID since Monday, and he's doing as good there as he was on just about every other dose he's been on lately, but with the resistance, I feel I need to hold the dose or increase it. Today at +8 I came home to shoot, and he had dropped since lunch and food, so I delayed. We will be changing insulins - I was going to wait til June to start, but he's gulping the new vial we opened last month, so we may just change sooner rather than later. Will call vet about script tomorrow. If all goes well, he'll start tomorrow night - BID, as the "L's" (Lantus & Levemir have to stay on strict 12/12. That's a scary thought for me, but I have to admit BID is much easier than TID! So here's yesterday & today - unfortunately, I haven't been getting many mid-cycle tests:

Wednesday May 16
AMPS 365 Shot 6.0 Fed FF-2
+6 332
MDPS 298 Shot 6.0 Fed FF-2 (can you believe - a yellow???!!!)
PMPS 327 Shot 6.0 Fed FF-2

Thursday, May 17
AMPS 369 Shot 6.0u Fed FF-2
+6 369 (nope, not a typo!)
+8 322 hmmmm.... Fed FF-1 and went back to work!
PMPS (+11) Shot 6.0u 328 Fed FF-2

Have a great night all! Maybe I'll see another yellow...I can hope, anyways! ;-)
 
Re: Grayson 5/17

After a LOT of time deciding how to make my spreadsheet work w/ TID, BID and some sporadic intervals, I think I've gotten it figured out! YEAH - spreadsheet is updated! (finally!)

And while doing this, I got a phone call from the president of our local humane society. My mapping skills and spreadsheet geekiness (and mostly their awesome writing skills) helped them get a Spay/Neuter grant for our inner-city area! WOO HOO!!! Line them ferals up - both dogs & cats - it's time to stop reproducing!!! Hooray for them!!!
bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif bcatrun_gif
 
Re: Grayson 5/17

Good for you Luann!!
Congrats!
I see that Grayson is doing pretty well...those pinks are better than the reds!
Hope all is going well with the both of you!
 
Re: Grayson 5/17

Thats wonderful that you helped them get a spay & neuter grant! Thats so important. I'm a big advocate for TNR and feral colonies. Good on ya.
Wow, Grayson got a yellow!
Wishing you good luck with the insulin change. Will Grayson start on Lev or Lantus?
Please don't leave us here at PZI, we would miss you and Grayson very much!
 
Re: Grayson 5/17

Since yesterday's tomorrow is today...Did you start the new insulin? Can hardly keep up on PZI, know visits to L-land to check on y'all will be few and far between, so please update us here or at least an occasional PM!!

Looking forward to hearing great things!!!!!

Libby (and Hershey, too!)
 
Re: Grayson 5/17

Haven't been posting much ANYwhere! Called the vet today to get script - priced it at Walmart & Walgreens, and on hold w/ local pharmacy 1 block from home. Looks like Walgreens is the winner! Waiting for the last of the results from Grayson's tests last week - once I have those and can send them to CSU to review, we'll be making plans. Kinda ready to just be there, but I know there's much to do/decide first! Patience, right? ;-)
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Just got back from the vet with script & flea treatment for all in my hand! Next to the ketone strips, the flea treatment is the other worlds greatest insurance policy! Everyone will love getting Manis/Pedis done, brushed, ears cleaned and flea treatment this weekend... ;-) Maybe I'll be REALLY wild & throw Dom & Jack in the tub as well... or not!

So Today didn't look nearly as good as yesterday, and due to scheduling, he got shot on a 12 hr schedule... and saw red at both shots. Not where I wanted him to be! Anyways, he's lounging very happily on the dogs blankie - a little while ago he was belly-up! I guess he needed to make some room for those TWO cans of FF that he inhaled when i got home! He looks QUITE content right now!

AMPS 430 Shot 6.0
MD/PM??? PS ((+11.5) 463 Shot 6.0

The down side of not getting any mid-cycle tests is not knowing if he had any movement during the day. And wondering if I dare increase? Probably not at this point in the game. Got the new script... now just need to decide when to start it.

Off to celebrate w/ the Humane Society folks tonight! Have a great evening. all!
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

I never would have guessed Walgreens would be the cheapest!

Great job on the grant!
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Jenn & Baxter said:
Oooo...spa day for the furries sounds like fun! They are going to love you for it.

Yes, "Spa Day"... don't think that's the way they're seeing it! :shock: :roll:
bcatrun_gif angry(2)_cat grr_red
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Lu,

Have you started the Lev yet? I know you are looking forward to his numbers to start going down! Good luck!!! Will check back in next week when i get back..

lori
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Got script today and called around to price. Walgreens wins for the pens. I wish you could buy them separately, but there's 30 cc in each & 5 pens in a box (=1500 cc). Take one out at a time. The 1000 cc vial is only supposed to be used for 28 days, making the pens more cost effective! Guess that will depend on the dose! I can either start it tomorrow, or finish the bottle of ProZinc first. Jury is still out on that one!
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Lu-Ann,
Great job helping the human society win the grant! That's so cool. :-D
You can use the pens to the very last drop of insulin. What's your starting dose?
Best of luck with the switch and I hope Grayson likes lev.
 
Re: Grayson 5/17 - 5/18

Marcy & Klinger said:
Lu-Ann,
Great job helping the humane society win the grant! That's so cool. :-D
You can use the pens to the very last drop of insulin. What's your starting dose?
Best of luck with the switch and I hope Grayson likes lev.

At the time we were at the vet school, he was doing 4u TID. They said to start him at 3u Lev BID (corrected from typo earlier - sorry!). Now that we're up to 6u (mostly) TID, I'm wondering if that needs to be a little higher. LIke 4.5. Any thoughts?

Friday 5/18:
AMPS 408 Shot 6.0
MDPS (+11.5) 463 Shot 6.0
+4.3 382
PMPS (+8) 411


Saturday 5/19:
AMPS 336
 
So, "spa day" wasn't warmly received, but tolerated! So far, I've gotten all the cats' ears, manis & pedis... gotta take Dom to visit Uncle John so I can mess with his ticklish toes! :shock: Everyone gets major brushing later, then flea treatment for all. We sure know how to party at my house!!! :lol:
 
Grayson & Lu said:
So, "spa day" wasn't warmly received
:lol: :lol: Seeing pictures in my head :lol: :lol: When Hershey was little, we had to make sure the bathroom door was securely shut or he'd get in the shower with us. Now, he just tolerates a bath, but doesn't love the water anymore. Oreo cries the WHOLE time...well...it's that pitiful, 'help, police' kind of cry...Ours didn't have a spa day, but Doug did trim their nails. Oreo's was a MAJOR ordeal - never heard him give Doug such a fit. Hershey's was done almost as soon as Doug started. As if to say to Oreo, 'Why can't YOU be a good kid like MEEE?'
 
[quote="Doug N LibbyHershey was done almost as soon as Doug started. As if to say to Oreo, 'Why can't YOU be a good kid like MEEE?'[/quote]

That's what Grayson looks like when I try to poke someone elses ears. Honestly, I think I'm VERY fortunate that Grayson ended up being the sugar cat in the house! His mom & sister Franki - OMG!!! "WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH - SHE'S KILLLLLLLLING MEEEEEEEEE!!!"

18 seconds later we're done! Actually, for them I think the issue is more the part about being held - not cutting nails! Ashley (Gray's littermate) is just the opposite. The only long-hair in the family, she just lays back as if to say - PINK! I'd like my nails painted Pretty Pink - just like Grayson's spreadsheet - and DON'T get any in my pretty long hair either!!!" :lol:

The sun is fast-fleeting... Dom may have a reprieve for today. Mom's eyes don't permit Mani/Pedis with anything but natural light!
 
Hey Baxter - apparently lingonberries turn your BGs pink! So I've been having Swedish Pancakes too... but not the yellow kind... just the pink ones.

AMPS 336
+3 326
+5.5 317
MDPS 339
+3.7 321

"Stop the merry-go-round... I wanna go back to the roller coaster!!!"

cat(2)_steam
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top