Grayson 5/11 Results from Vet School

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
I could swear I posted this last night, but I was exhausted from an entire day at the vet school, so I may have deleted it - no tellin!

As I've said previously, although the blood test at Michigan State U for IGF-1 is a good indicator of Acromegaly, it is not a "slam-dunk" diagnosis. Yesterday we met with the folks at NCSU Vet School for an abdominal ultrasound, to determine if his organs were enlarged. In addition, they ran a full blood panel, urine culture (C&S) and a 3-part test that checks B12/Folate/& something else - this one was run to determine if he has malabsorption issues like my dog Murphy had had. With this condition, they eat ravenously, usually have very liquid poops (his are large, but solid - normal), and their body is not getting the nutrients from their food. The B12/Folate/... was run to check for this, as his weight was the only thing really unusual for an Acro dx. Most Acros put ON weight!

So he had some enlarged organs, and some irregularities. Don't have a copy of the report yet, as it was nearly 8:30 when we finally wrapped up last night - should receive them today. Bottom line, not definitive, but in all likelihood, he's Acro. So, where do we go from here? First he'll have an insulin change. I can have my pick Lantus or Lev. At this point, I'm leaning toward Lev, but it's not etched in stone yet. The change will take place in a couple of weeks for scheduling reasons, and from an economic standpoint, it will enable me to use up most of my ProZinc - not that I couldn't find some willing recipients here! ;-). I'll crunch some numbers and then see if I can locate that machine in the basement Dad always talked about. :lol: If everything goes as I expect, we will probably proceed with the SRT. LOTS to read still, understand, consider... and even more, BIG decisions to make. So if I'm absent from the board, you'll know why.

Oh yes, one other thing... last night I gave more insulin than intended. I usually overfill the syringe, then push out some w/ the air bubbles. Anyways, as the last contents of the plunger went in, it occured to me - OH CRAP!!! Already exhausted, I managed to stay up w/ him til 1 am (+3.5 as his schedule got totally toasted by not being home to shoot at 6:30 - then he wouldn't eat - huh??? - is this the wrong cat?), then set the alarm for 2:45 (+5.3). He actually had some range for a change! Here are his numbers:

Thursday May 10
AMPS 517 Shot 4.0u
+.75 494
Vet school 10 am to 9:20 pm
PMPS (+15) 474
+2.5 396 RU371
+3.5 357 RU372
+5.3 307 RU319
...at this point, I'm thinking Limbo! How low will he go??? And at this point, I'm very thankful that he IS insulin resistant, as otherwise, I could've really had a hypo situation on my hands!

Friday, May 11
+11 297 RU 284 (thinking, "WOW, REALLY??? Yellow sure is pretty!!!"
AMPS (+12) 327 Shot 5.0u Wow, nice!
+3 301 RU268

I mistakenly thought that the larger dose broke the insulin resistance. It just demonstrated that he can handle those larger doses. But it sure was scary!!!

So - a good day to all - now let's get back to Chewy's party!!!
 
AHA - found it!!! The Acro group is on Facebook - pasted this up around midnight or later...

Grayson May 11 - starting early

Going backwards here... I just ruined Grayson's night! He was on the chair in front of the dining room window, smacking at a moth on the outside of the glass. He was slapping the glass REALLY hard! So I turned down the lights and pulled the curtain across - talk about a mean mommy!

And that on top of an all day trip to the vet school. Since they said the IGF-1 test wasn't a slam-dunk diagnosis, they did an ultrasound. They still never came out completely and said "he's definitely acro", but they did say he had several markers that are typical in acro cats. Because we didn't leave there til after 8:20, I don't have the check-out papers, so I'll post details when I get them.... I don't trust my scribbled notes!
...
I got to meet Dr. Lunn. She is now (as of yesterday) at NC State! Talk about falling into my lap! I'm impressed! She didn't seem the slightest bit put off by me and all my questions, home-testing, the Fancy Feast (which the other doc wanted to change), or the comparisons of Rx treatments vs SRT and other things I've read up on.

I'm going to look over everything over the next couple days, crunch some numbers (refinance the house? :) ... ) and decide what I'm going to do... although right now I have a pretty good idea.
 
Dear Lu,

wish I had words of wisdom or knowledge to share - just a big hug of hope. Get some rest, although, you'll probably ask, when? Not enough minutes in each 24 hours, but try to get some rest.

Best wishes, Sophie
 
Glad you got an answer to Grayson's puzzling numbers & I know there are some very smart folks in that Acro group!
 
There certainly are - and some REALLY high dose kitties too!!! YIKES!!! I had trouble shooting 6 units into Grayson... there are people there that shoot, or have shot, 104 units! YIKES!!! Can you imagine? Insulin resistance is an amazing thing!

I still am somewhat inept at FB, guess I'll need to find a 10 yr old to teach me the ropes!!! :lol: So many learning curves in my world these days!!!

Grayson is doing well - in spite of everything, if you didn't know which cat was diabetic (or even acro, for that matter), and you met all of them, you probably wouldn't pick him out! That's one thing that makes me feel much better about everything - he seems normal - just has awful numbers - on everything!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top