Grayson 4/28

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
After less than pretty numbers yesterday, and a very frustrating string of numbers representing ONE test, I've resigned myself to get a new meter. You've seen me climb walls over the wonky numbers over the past month (and before), and the minor little things I've changed to ensure I was doing every little thing consistently from test to test. Last night we were on our way to Wally World to buy another meter, but got sidetracked by dinner! Although I hate to go there on weekends, I'm making an exception today and biting the bullet. I figure my sanity is worth not having to do 6 tests to get something that "looks" like it might be the right number.

Although I admit to having OCD tendencies, if you got these numbers 2 minutes apart, I expect you'd probably do the same thing - retest. Kim thought they were a curve! Here goes: 416 315 295 455 380 449 498. What would YOU choose?

Recap:

FRIDAY APRIL 27AMPS 428/404/427 Shot 2.0u
Fed 1.5 FF Chicken
+5.3 362/364
SubQs 100 mL
NEG ketones
PMPS 416/315/295/455/380/449/498 Shot 2.5u
Fed 2.0 FF Turkey
+3.5 335/347
NEG/TR ketones

SATURDAY APRIL 28AMPS 449/446 Shot 2.5u
+3.6 262/350
SubQs 100 mL
 
Did you buy the new meter yet?
I have a new confirm in a box I will ship to you. I bought it one night in a panic thinking it had test strips in it. The pharm was closed & no test strips on the shelf so I thought...oh the meter has strips in it. I opened it up when I got home & no strips. This was in the beginning of the game. So of coarse I couldn't take it back. :roll:
Let me know.
 
I seem to get consistent results with the Bayer Contour. I have a One Touch mini also but I seem to not get as wide a variance in numbers from 2 minutes apart with the Bayer. The strips for both are pricey, One Touch more so, but I order the strips from Hocks/Healthwarehouse for about 24.00 for 50 versus 69.00 for 50 at the drugstore. I order 3 at a time and get free shipping. The also have U40 syringes for about 19.00 for 100 with the sharps container.
Hope you get a meter that will give you more consistent results, I wouldn't know what number to choose as being correct with that wide swing! Guess its eenie meanie miney moe, check Grayson's BG , go go go :-D
 
Were all of those tests with the same meter and did you do all of those things the rep said to do? Sorry, I can NOT seem to do all of those things...I do as many as I can...And, were they with the same ear? I have found a great variance ear to ear with Hershey. Now I always use the right ear. And, was Grayson getting agitated/irritated during the testing time? Hershey is only so patient/gives me only so many chances before he's like - If you knew what you were doing, it wouldn't take so many attempts. Maybe you should go practice on Oreo and come back later. ;-)

Wish I had more insight to offer, but you know our meter woes...What kind of meter are you going to buy? I feel like I need to buy stock in the strips, at least I'd get something back from all of the money I pay in!

Hoping you find an answer SOON that you can live with -
 
Jenn & Baxter said:
Did you buy the new meter yet?

Yes - and used it. Thanks anyways! I went wild, as I've convinced myself that the difference in the test strips will be offset by the NUMBER of test strips I ultimately use, as I typically use 2 strips/test unless they aren't anywhere close to each other... then I pull out another... and another...:

6 strips at .36 = $2.16
1 @ 1.18= $1.18

FRIDAY APRIL 27
AMPS 428/404/427 Shot 2.0u
Fed 1.5 FF Chicken
+5.3 362/364
SubQs 100 mL
NEG ketones
PMPS 416/315/295/455/380/449/498 Shot 2.5u
Fed 2.0 FF Turkey
+3.5 335/347
NEG/TR ketones

SATURDAY APRIL 28
AMPS 449/446 Shot 2.5u
+3.6 262/350
SubQs 100 mL
+8.75 359/475 Accu Check Aviva 372/368
PMPS AC 407 / RU 411 Shot 2.5u
FFT 2.0

Doug N Libby said:
Were all of those tests with the same meter and did you do all of those things the rep said to do? ...And, were they with the same ear? I have found a great variance ear to ear with Hershey. Now I always use the right ear. And, was Grayson getting agitated/irritated during the testing time?

Yes, all of those were the same meter, and I thought I'd done everything the rep said, including hold my tongue just right! :lol: The last number was done on his left ear, all the rest on his right. He despises me when I tap into the left ear - but I figured I'd pretty much used up all the good areas on the right one! He is definitely a 1-eared boy as well... and I don't know if we were reading each others' threads initially when I spent over a week trying to get the little turnip to bleed enough for a test? Talk about burning through a bunch of test strips! A LONG time. Needless to say, the left ear isn't so good. Was he aggitated? Maybe some, but not that much. I've started testing WHILE he's eating, so he's not so focused on getting the food. Otherwise, he's extremely fidgetty.

As for the "back to two meters" thing... I'll probably do one on each for a couple of days, and if there's any major discrepancy I'll do a recheck, ultimately getting to the point of just using the Accu-Chek. There's something about it that gives me more confidence in it. Maybe because I paid more and therefore expect it to? ;-)

I heard from the vet this afternoon. The overnight freezer pack shipping container arrived from Michigan State, so we're doing the tests Monday at 8:45 am. Barring no surprises, we should have the results by the end of the week... hopefully sooner! At this point, I'm most interested in the Insulin Resistance - don't know if that could be the reason I get such a limited drop in his numbers, or if it will explain why he has the same range, pretty much from 6 units to nothing to 3u to 2u. If nothing else, we'll know what it is, or isn't! That'll be a relief either way! Now, if only I can be patient that long???!!!
 
Grayson & Lu said:
I've started testing WHILE he's eating, so he's not so focused on getting the food. Otherwise, he's extremely fidgetty.

we should have the results by the end of the week... hopefully sooner!

If nothing else, we'll know what it is, or isn't! That'll be a relief either way! Now, if only I can be patient that long???!!!

WOW - I don't think Hershey would tolerate me testing while he's eating and I'd like to keep all 10 digits, so don't think I'll be trying to find out. :lol: I'll be glad when you get the results back; I KNOW you will be! At least knowing what it is or isn't helps you form a plan of attack.

See you tomorrow..er...later today :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top