Grayson & Lu
Member Since 2012
Good evening all -
Grayson keeps teetering on the edge of the ketone cliff, and I keep checking every opportunity I get. He still has his appetite, and no sign of an infection, but his numbers were a little flat again today after some improved smiles since Sunday.
Tuesday the vet had said it was okay to increase one full unit - from 2.5 to 3.5, but I kinda dragged my feet, increasing .2u per preshot. Then he flashed a MODERATE test today, and I promptly gave him fluids. Tonight I increased him to a fat 3.0 and will probably go up again in the morning unless something changes.
This "livin' on the edge" - wondering if they'll flare up if I wait 5 hours to do fluids - is frustrating! It still beats going DKA, but wow... the amt of increase of his insulin in the past three weeks is frightening!
So here is todays report from the cliff:
AMPS 323 Shot 2.8 Fed FF
TRACE ketones
+1.75 340
+4.5 310
MODERATE ketones
100 mL SubQs
1/2 can FF
+5.7 363 (definitely the food)
+8.8 292
PMPS 347 Shot 3.0 Fed FF
Grayson keeps teetering on the edge of the ketone cliff, and I keep checking every opportunity I get. He still has his appetite, and no sign of an infection, but his numbers were a little flat again today after some improved smiles since Sunday.
Tuesday the vet had said it was okay to increase one full unit - from 2.5 to 3.5, but I kinda dragged my feet, increasing .2u per preshot. Then he flashed a MODERATE test today, and I promptly gave him fluids. Tonight I increased him to a fat 3.0 and will probably go up again in the morning unless something changes.
This "livin' on the edge" - wondering if they'll flare up if I wait 5 hours to do fluids - is frustrating! It still beats going DKA, but wow... the amt of increase of his insulin in the past three weeks is frightening!
So here is todays report from the cliff:
AMPS 323 Shot 2.8 Fed FF
TRACE ketones
+1.75 340
+4.5 310
MODERATE ketones
100 mL SubQs
1/2 can FF
+5.7 363 (definitely the food)
+8.8 292
PMPS 347 Shot 3.0 Fed FF