Grayson 2/8 - Long cycles

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Grayson got 3/4 of one unit yesterday at 3 pm. By +7 he was 188, so I checked previous curves and decided NOT to set the alarm for 3 am. Got a whole 6 hrs of sleep, tested him at +12.5 and he's only at 114. Don't get me wrong, I LOVE the low numbers, but wonder if anyone else has had such long cycles.

I'm attaching the spreadsheet I've done on him... feel like I need to tweek the format some to reflect AMPS and PMPS in the same column w/ about 21 or 22 hours of + time for these cycles. Any suggestions?

He's using U-40 syringes and i'm typically shooting him in the scruff, although I've been thinking the flank may be less likely to get fur shots (probably responsible for SOME the recent spikes, although some I should've shot sooner in other cases). Earlier spikes are attributed to sneaking kibble from the siblings or eating crumbs from the floor.

Any thoughts?
 

Attachments

Good Morning Lu, ~O)

I cannot comment on the duration of insulin for Grayson's cycle as I'm running late for work and there's no time for me to review his SS. But I wanted to say a few things before logging off. There are threads on the board that show you how to create a spreadsheet on Google Docs. That way you will have more eyes on Grayson's numbers because members will not have to download his SS onto their computer. I'm sure some kind member will come along and post the links.

Also, I wanted to give you a warm welcome to PZI. Not sure I've caught one of your threads before but I didn't want to log off without saying hello.

I'm sure other early risers or 'Breakfast Clubbers' will be on soon to advise you as we get the most traffic during the morning and evening hours. Welcome to PZI!!!
 
Good morning! ~O)

Here's the link for uploading a spreadsheet in your signature using Google Docs. :smile:

I did take a look at your spreadsheet. For me, there isn't enough data to share my opinion on dose (I'm still new enough I need lots of data). Hopefully someone with more experience will be along shortly to help out with dose.

And welcome to PZIville! :-D
 
Welcome to PZI!

Long duration, past your pre-shot time can mean too much insulin. I am dealing with that this morning, I am at +13 overnight and only came up from 85 to 115. So I wait to feed and shoot.
I don’t cut back on insulin the first time it happens, unless it’s crazy low like mid greens (because it could mean that the cat ate less, or they are just trying to mess with you ;-) ), but if it happens a few times I do cut back on dose. I monitor often mid day too, just to make sure the cat doesn’t go too low then.

When you do have low numbers at pre-shot time, you can wait to feed and shoot (wait until the cat comes up above 200 if you are new to FD) so you can shoot your regular amount, or you can feed and shoot a reduced or token dose (depending on how low the cat is), or you can skip the shot all together if the cat is real low. This is a good link to read that explains all of this better than I can:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopi ... 24&t=32652

There are more expert dose folks here than me that should be along today. My cat doesn’t seem to go by “the book” so I can just say what works for us.

Getting your spreadsheet up will be helpful to people here helping with dose suggestions. Teresa gave you that link above. If you have trouble ask Sue (Sue and Oliver), she is the resident SS expert.
 
Well, he generally has great numbers and it looks like his dose is somewhere in the .5 and .75 range. It would be nice to pick a dose and hold it for a few cycles to see if he is a cat that likes that or if he is fine with switching up the dose. He hasn't gone super low on any dose, but the long duration may mean too high of a dose.

I'd he were mine, I think I would be tempted to try .5 and hold it for a few cycles (as long as he doesn't go too low) and see if he "settles" into the dose.

Re the spreadsheet. The info is great, but people will be reluctant to download it each time. Do you know how you could publish it to the web and share with anyone with the link? (I don't)

If not, any chance we can get you to put at least the last few weeks into our goggle doc? You can leave yours on if people need the longer version. Sign onto Goggle, search google docs for templates. Then search for FDMB spreadsheet. Under the title, file, publish to the web.
 
I appreciate the welcomes, feedback and links - I will pull into Googledocs as time permits. Meanwhile I've got a +18 at 202. Because he's often started over 400, and has come down as low as the 70s I've not dosed him til he was at least 250 - and then only 1/2 unit. So for the time being, we're riding it out.

Thank you all!
Lu-Ann
 
Just wanted to tell all my PZI family members, that Lu and Grayson are my neighbors! They live a few blocks away from me and we have been working together to help Grayson. I encouraged her to post here and seek advice with the wonky numbers and low doses!


Thanks for the Help!
 
...and how handy it has been to have an experienced "sugar cat coach" just down the street - or a phone call away... every 30-60 minutes sometimes! Especially when I was first struggling with getting blood, when I first hit LOW numbers and long cycles, and when I was outa town and had to miss a shot. Grayson & I are very fortunate to have Kim in our corner! Don't think he'll ever have as many miles under his seatbelt that Kitty has, but he may ultimately end up w/ a fair amt of frequent flyer miles! :-D
 
You should be able to import the excel spreadsheet as a google doc (and vice versa); that's how I did major "fixing" of Cass's spreadsheet (i.e., combining bid and tid, adding new page, etc.). Then you can publish it as normal. Of course, then you have to update the google doc instead of the excel...
 
Hi Lu, and Grayson of course,
Has anyone mentioned using u100 syringes and a conversion chart yet?
Many here do that, and it is very helpful when you get down to these tiny doses and increments.

Carl
 
Hi Carl -

Yes, thanks... that seems to be a good choice. I was looking over some of the info on micro-dosing tonight and YIKES!!!! I don't think I'm anywhere near there yet! Before my eyes went from "great vision" to "my arms aren't long enough" I wouldn't have had a problem disseminating between on the line, over the line and between the line. Now I put the reading glasses on and give it my best shot. I think when I get through this package of needles, however, I'm going to convert.

I sure enjoy reading the posts - but I feel like it could become an OCD if I don't limit my time on the board. But GEEEEZZZ!!! I sure have learned a LOT in this past month! Even from quiet observation! Thanks for this and the other wisdom I've seen your name attached to. If I can get my boy's pic small enough, I'll get his avatar up soon!

Thanks from both of us!

Lu-Ann & Gray
 
The nice thing with the u100s in the dose range you are around right now is that .6 lines up nicely with the 1.5 mark, and .4 is the 1.0 line, so it makes those two doses in particular easy with no need of eyeballing.

I love the "my arms aren't long enough" description! I have the same problem, partially corrected by bi-focals. Tri-focals are next....and wondering if quad-focals are invented yet?

Carl
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top