Grayson 2/21

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Good morning all -

Hope everyone had a peaceful night without TOO MANY bumps in the road. Grayson continues to stay in the 300s - a very nice place to be at PS, but I sure would like to see a LITTLE change during the day... even a low 200 would be good!

AMPS 340
+1 364

Not bad food climb considering he almost ripped my arm off and beat me with it because I wasn't feeding him fast enough! I gave him the unopened can & a fork to see if he could do any better while I was rolling the insulin, but he insisted that that was MY role. Staff! That's all we are to them sometimes!!!

Have a great day!

Lu-Ann
 
Indeed, cats have staff! :lol:
Looks like you have been at .4 for a few cycles now (guessing by your ss about 6 cycles?), if you want to try to raise just a little, and you are around to test, maybe you could get his numbers down a bit. So like a .5 or .6? What do you think? Anybody else have an idea?
 
That's kinda what I thought last night, but was encouraged to hold the dose.

It doesn't help that I have very limited patience - I want it to work/regulate/fall into a consistent pattern RIGHT NOW!!! Grayson has other plans, however!
 
I know the no patience thing Lu-Ann. I have the “fix it now” syndrome and it’s hard with FD because it just doesn’t work that way :shock:

I am all for holding doses until a kitty settles in. That is what has worked for us in the past. But, if you have held a week or so and you would like to try to see some lower numbers, you can raise a little at a time and see how it goes.

Again, raise when you are around to test so you know your cat is safe, and you know what the mid cycle numbers are for more info to help you decide if the dose change is working well or not.

Up to you entirely. I’d see what others think. Folks out there in PZI land?
 
Let's see what he does today then consider an increase just to .5. (you can use the U40s if it is easier). I am just worried because earlier just a little higher dose got us into one dose territory and we don't want to be there again.

Grayson's ss is an experiment for us. He is one of the first ones I have seen to get down so early into mini doses and then work his way back up. Usually minindosing comes later and gradually. And usually you are reducing because of lower numbers. He is getting normal numbers to higher numbers on mini dosing. Just be aware his numbers are very good for a beginning diabetic. I don't want to push too fast.

Nadja is in the same place - immediately mini dosing, so Grayson will help us with her too.
 
You might consider adjusting based on the PS?
Like .4 below 300
.5 from 301-350
and maybe .6 on 351 or higher?
It looks like there is room to go lower mid-cycle, and if you see a+4 or +5 that looks liw, you could give a spoonful of low carb to bump it up.

Just my 2¢
Carl
 
I like this idea. This is why it is so important to have peer reviewed advice and more than a few sets of eyes on each thread. Thanks, Carl!
 
Thanks to all. I have tendency to be indecisive - and less than patient!

Is this pretty much the customized sliding scale that Robin is known for suggesting?
 
Yes. Same idea.

All you can do is try it and see. Some cats want dose consistency for several cycles; some don't mind jumping around. It's that $&/@ ECID thing that makes this dance so hard.
 
Thought he threw me another curve ball... looked like he nadired around noon... but got home and tested him at +11 and he ran a 193. Haven't seen a 100-anything since the surprise 154 the other night at +3.

So I tested him again. TWICE! He ran a 294 and 297 at 4 and 6 minutes after the first test. Just one of those blips... but there was something a little different the first time. Grayson moved... had sucked up SOME blood, but not enough... and it was gone. My little turnip oozed out a teensy bit more and I got it before the meter errored out on me, but it had to have been close. So my assumption is, if it's close to an error, and you get a funky number, try, try again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top