Grayson 2/19

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Very Active Member
Good morning all!

I upped Grayson's dose from .2u to .3 yesterday AMPS and .4 PMPS. Seems to have been a good thing as he was only 360 at todays AMPS! I've been trying to catch him before he climbed into the reds, but sometimes that meant shooting a little earlier (or in this mornings case - a little later!).

It appears that although hid did good for a few cycles, the .2 was too little insulin. Unfortunately I slept through last night, so I didn't catch his nadir - which is usually later in the cycle. Here's what he had:

Sat PMPS 385 shot .4u
+2 321
+4 346
+6.5 315

Sun AMPS +14 360

Hope everyone has some great numbers today!

Lu-Ann
 
Morning! ~O)
In agreement that the .2 didn't seem to give Grayson the duration he needed. Looks like that increase was in order.
 
Mornin Lu-Ann ~O)

Good luck today with the increase :-D Hope you have a relaxing Sunday with some good numbers!
 
Thanks all - we'll see what he does today... right now, he's trying to get Moochie Pooch [cat] 's food. He can't imagine why there would possibly be any food left on a plate???!!! :smile:
 
Grayson & Lu said:
Neither rhyme nor reason - just numbers:

AMPS 360 shot .4u
+2 352
+ 4.25 246
+5.5 272

+6.5 247
+8 316.

Hmmmph! if this is part of the ascent, and he continues to climb... I'm wondering if I should stay w/ the .4 or maybe bump up a little. Anyone have thoughts? I'd really like to at least see a number in the 100s!

Thanks in advance!
 
Hi Lu-Ann, no advice on the dose as I am not familiar with microdosing to suggest a comment to it but your SS reminds me so much of Sev's and his kitty went OTJ recently. Seems like you get those ultra long durations like he did. Have you checked out his SS? You may glean something from it.
 
Hi Lu-ann
I would hold for a little while to settle
and if you dont see anything I would raise a little
Wishing you good numbers :mrgreen:
 
Sev and a few others seem to be/have been in the same ballpark as Graysons numbers, and in some cases, seeing their OTJ status especially, has me quite optimistic! Not counting chickens quite yet - but the value of having our spreadsheets available for viewing is great!

Thanks for your observation! You never know who you might help by having your numbers out there! Or seeing commonalitites between different folks!
 
Okay - here's a first...

Grayson had his PMPS 384 and I shot .4
at 2.75 he's 154!!! That's NEVER happened before!!! That's really fast for him to drop. Should I need to worry, or just keep a check on him and try to breathe??? If you see his spreadsheet, he's never been in the 100s in the first 3 hours following a shot - only when it's been the second half of a cycle.

Got the Karo out just in case...
 
Yes, breathe. This is a fast drop, but the cycle may not drop low. And even if it does, food (and syrup if needed) will bring him up.

So test in 30-45 minutes to see whether he will level off or drop.

If he gets down in the 50s, some regular low carb and test. 40s - gravy off some higher carb food. Below 40, syrup.

I will be round tonight if you need help.
 
Yes, that is a quick steep drop for Grayson. But, hopefully he will level out--feed him a little of his normal food.

I am home if you need me -- just call. Do you have any canned foods with gravy? If not, I have some and will bring them to you. I would test again in about 30 mins.
 
I think he self - doctored. It appears he reached into Bo's crate and probably ate some of the Kitt-N-Kaboodle. Emp0ty bowl is right by the door (it was further back where it would've/should've been out of reach. So i just checked him and he's at 344. The KNK has got to be the reason. No Karo tonight.

Based on what you're all used to seeing, will the food spike it for 200 points? There couldn't have been much left - Bo is usually a good eater.

And will it wear off, so it will look like a second drop after about 2 hours? Or will it likely remain high? Geez - I thought I was coming home to double digits - and then to see 344!!! YIKES!!!
 
Unfortunately, there are no rules. It's ECID. Sometimes 2 pieces mean a huge rise, some cats can eat more and have no reaction.

Gotta find a way to get rid of the dry. It really meant one step forward, two steps back.

So your number in the am will be skewed. I would think about going back to .3 and holding the dose awhile, barring numbers too low. We don't know what your .4 was going to do, but it looked like it was heading down pretty fast. Looks like he might take a while to settle into a dose.

(edited for dumb mistake)
 
Well, whoops, that 1 in front of the .3 and the .4 does make a difference. Sorry about that.

I think the cycle won't give you much info because you can't be sure how the dry food influenced him. Unfortunately, it's like starting over.

I am thinking the .4 was too high and .3 would be good tomorrow, unless something weird happens.

I'll go back and edit so it doesn't confuse anyone.
 
This was definitely weird. But also the first time he got down from the very flat cycles I've been getting with .4u .3 and .2 units. Will the food "wear off" as it does right after the preshot/feed/shoot - abt 2 hours?
 
I don't know. Once you can see how dry food influences him, you will have data for the next time (hope there isn't one). Sometimes the dry food takes a while to raise the numbers and they stay higher longer. It's why we don't suggest dry food for hypos - often it doesn't act fast enough and then lasts awhile.


But ECID.
 
Copper likes to do this to me all the time. Very unpreditable and frustrating. I still can't figure out what is different in those cycles either.

Hope Grayson will come in with a low amps. Do you live in NC too? Getting snow? We have got about 5inches so far and still snowing. I love it! FInally some snow.

Lori
 
Lori - you must be in the mountains - I'm in the coastal plain. Just rain, although the forecast is rain, freezing rain, sleet and snow - and by tomorrow - poof - all gone!!! Just checked the doppler... looks like the snow runs from Sanford to Roanoke Rapids and a little blip in Rocky Mount. Maybe we'll get a little something, but it was 66 degrees here Friday - ground is not frozen, so even if the weather stayed cold it would still go away.

As a midwesterner, I miss the snow but I always get a chuckle out of going to the grocery store here when there's snow forecast (or even a possibility of a dusting). Bread, milk eggs - all cleaned out! So I guess everyone is home making French toast! :lol: Oh yeah, and then there are all the closings!!!

A couple of days ago, someone said something about lining up all the sugar cats and giving them a group "talking to" about throwing their beans a curve. I can picture it now - a row of cats lined up - and them paying as much attention to us beans as a bunch of teenagers!!! :lol:
 
Finally starting to drop after stealing food from another kitty! Let's see if he can find a nadir - or if his +2.75 ends up being it!

Review:
PMPS 384
2.75 154 - YIKES!!!
+4 344 (snuck some dry food)
+6 302
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top