Got the new insulin bottle, looks like it is working

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mackenzie Obermeyer

Member Since 2016
We got a new bottle of insulin yesterday and started Mayton on it for his PM shot yesterday. From today's results it looks like it is working well! He was high yesterday and today's numbers were much better. I'm still not testing him as much as I should, haven't gotten into the habit yet and keep forgetting :banghead: but since he was only 181 tonight I will definitely get a +4 before I go to bed. I might try setting alarms mid day to help.
 
I see that Mayton had 3 blue PMPS values on the 1.25 unit dose, shortly before the dose was increased. Since the BG usually rises again at the end of the cycle, that makes me wonder if he had green nadirs on those days. The red 6/02 AMPS that came after the blue 6/01 PMPS looks to me like a bounce.

Setting alarms for reminders is a great idea. (I put +4 and +8 checks on my work schedule in Outlook so I get a reminder on my screen 15 minutes before each.) Since many cats go lower at night, most of us get a +2 after the PM dose. If the +2 is the same or lower than the PMPS, it's an indication that the cycle might be more active than usual and more frequent monitoring might be needed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top