Mai & Dad
Member
Hello all,
Hope everyone is doing well. It has been officially a year since Mai's DKA and official diagnosis. I want to thank everyone on this forum on behalf of him and myself. It has definitely made my life much easier, especially when repeated vet visits lead to no where.
Recent Changes: I took both of your advice and
1. Switched to a low carb food from the prescription glycobalance. Now he is on Tiki Cat Luau: https://www.chewy.com/tiki-cat-luau-chicken-egg-in-chicken/dp/34298.
2. FINALLY! I got a ReliOn Premier Blu! (One day I will share my crazy story trying to make it work haha).
Questions about LC food:
1. The new food I got is grain-free. I communicated this with my vet and he is against it. He highly recommends me to switch back to food with grain, mentioning many negative effects on cats. Is that the case? But I assume if I want his diet to be LC, it will probably be grain free?
2. I currently have a Free Libre II on him that started on 09/26. I am planning on getting another replacement just so I can post a long-term comparison results to help other "new" parents.
What is weird is that after his food swap is complete (took two weeks in total and last two weeks on new food only), his glucose was significantly higher than all previous curves. From 09/26 to 09/29, he basically had flat high curves with perhaps nadir between 300-350 (and only one nadir per day). I increased his insulin dosage on the night of 09/30 from 4.5 to 5 and now to 5.25. That was when we saw some actual changes and fluctuations.
What makes me wonder is how could this be? It was almost two weeks after he was on his new diet completely, which is higher in protein (50+% vs 40+%), lower in carb. The previous food was 14% while the new food range from 0% to ~4% to ~8% depending on flavor, and I had been feeding him mostly the 0% and 4% one. None of his other diet / insulin dosage changed during this period of time. And it should been enough time for him to adjust and 4 days of flat curve doesn't seem like a bounce anyway?
Questions about testing and dosage:
I begin testing him using ReliOn yesterday afternoon. I have updated all results in his sheet. I tested for ketone with ReliOn stick last night and this morning with multiple sticks, all came back negative (thank god!)
1. Unfortunately, I give him a lot of bruise all around both ears. At this point it is hard to find a spot with no bruise. Should I continue testing or give him a couple days off to heal? I think I am getting better but it is pretty bad at the moment.
2. Given his current situation, how often should I test? Will 2-hour per test be enough?
3. He was diagnosed a year ago, and we have been struggling to get him regulated. Although now I suspect I wasted a good 6 months due to false lows on Free Libre. But all things considered, given his current levels, do you think we'd be better off pursuing SLGS or TR? I know my signature says TR, but really we were mostly relying on vet advice.
4. Since I switched his dosage on 09/30, is it fair to assume I have been holding for a week? Or should I play safe and not rely on previous Free Libre numbers. Though to be fair, I do find its high numbers to be consistent and mostly accurate.
Sorry for another long post. And thanks again for all your valuable advice!
Best,
Hao
Hope everyone is doing well. It has been officially a year since Mai's DKA and official diagnosis. I want to thank everyone on this forum on behalf of him and myself. It has definitely made my life much easier, especially when repeated vet visits lead to no where.
Recent Changes: I took both of your advice and
1. Switched to a low carb food from the prescription glycobalance. Now he is on Tiki Cat Luau: https://www.chewy.com/tiki-cat-luau-chicken-egg-in-chicken/dp/34298.
2. FINALLY! I got a ReliOn Premier Blu! (One day I will share my crazy story trying to make it work haha).
Questions about LC food:
1. The new food I got is grain-free. I communicated this with my vet and he is against it. He highly recommends me to switch back to food with grain, mentioning many negative effects on cats. Is that the case? But I assume if I want his diet to be LC, it will probably be grain free?
2. I currently have a Free Libre II on him that started on 09/26. I am planning on getting another replacement just so I can post a long-term comparison results to help other "new" parents.
What is weird is that after his food swap is complete (took two weeks in total and last two weeks on new food only), his glucose was significantly higher than all previous curves. From 09/26 to 09/29, he basically had flat high curves with perhaps nadir between 300-350 (and only one nadir per day). I increased his insulin dosage on the night of 09/30 from 4.5 to 5 and now to 5.25. That was when we saw some actual changes and fluctuations.
What makes me wonder is how could this be? It was almost two weeks after he was on his new diet completely, which is higher in protein (50+% vs 40+%), lower in carb. The previous food was 14% while the new food range from 0% to ~4% to ~8% depending on flavor, and I had been feeding him mostly the 0% and 4% one. None of his other diet / insulin dosage changed during this period of time. And it should been enough time for him to adjust and 4 days of flat curve doesn't seem like a bounce anyway?
Questions about testing and dosage:
I begin testing him using ReliOn yesterday afternoon. I have updated all results in his sheet. I tested for ketone with ReliOn stick last night and this morning with multiple sticks, all came back negative (thank god!)
1. Unfortunately, I give him a lot of bruise all around both ears. At this point it is hard to find a spot with no bruise. Should I continue testing or give him a couple days off to heal? I think I am getting better but it is pretty bad at the moment.
2. Given his current situation, how often should I test? Will 2-hour per test be enough?
3. He was diagnosed a year ago, and we have been struggling to get him regulated. Although now I suspect I wasted a good 6 months due to false lows on Free Libre. But all things considered, given his current levels, do you think we'd be better off pursuing SLGS or TR? I know my signature says TR, but really we were mostly relying on vet advice.
4. Since I switched his dosage on 09/30, is it fair to assume I have been holding for a week? Or should I play safe and not rely on previous Free Libre numbers. Though to be fair, I do find its high numbers to be consistent and mostly accurate.
Sorry for another long post. And thanks again for all your valuable advice!
Best,
Hao
Last edited: