Goof's Vet visit today was concerning...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mogmom and Goofus

Member Since 2014
Overall, he's doing pretty well, but his creatinine was up to 2.7, last visit was 2.3. the BUN was down a little from last time but very normal. His weight is up to 11.11 lbs, he's developed some sores around his mouth and his teeth are in need of a good cleaning. He goes in Friday morning for that. the WBC was 21.3 and the LYM was 7.6, vet said this was most likely due to the gingivitis. Started him on Augmentin today, i forgot to ask what this could do to his bg. :(

I was advised by my vet to keep using the Evo food, but to cut back on the canned a little, add some of the dry and then to add a little water to to it. He said, and I read this somewhere else (can't think where just now) that the elevated Crea level can be caused by too much protein. It took me 6 weeks to get him to eat canned food.:banghead:
 
Is the vet worried about Goof's kidneys? If so, could you mix a little lower-protein wet food like K/D or other kidney-approved food into his regular wet food? There are some other sugar cats with kidney issues so you could create a post asking what those beans feed their cats.

Augmentin is essentially just amoxicillin, and I don't think that should do anything to his BG levels. Heads up that a lot of cats get upset stomachs from it (but a lot of cats do fine on it).
 
Yes, higher protein diets will increase the creatinine. So can dehydration.
Lowering the protein content is generally reserved for renal disease stages 3 and 4 now.
Pop over to Feline CRF for more than you wanted to know about renal disease.
 
Thanks guys. Came home tonite to find Goof vomiting. Won't touch his food and is really content to just lay in my lap. I'm using an eye dropper to put water in his mouth a little at a time, he's NOT happy about that. The vet did say that if its not improved in couple of weeks, we may need to go to RX food. I hope not. I just don't understand how he went from doing sooo well to this.
 
Yes, higher protein diets will increase the creatinine. So can dehydration.
Lowering the protein content is generally reserved for renal disease stages 3 and 4 now.
Pop over to Feline CRF for more than you wanted to know about renal disease.
He doesn't appear to be dehydrated, but I'm trying to get some water in to him.
 
If a urine specimen was taken, what was the specific gravity? That can tell you how dilute the urine is.
 
Waiting for a call back.... His skin doesn't snap back but it doesn't stay up either.but he's sitting here kind of slack jawed and just acting weird.
 
But he is drinking water on his own. He got down from my lap and went to the water bowl.
It was a really stressful vet trip for him today. This morning, before the appointment,
he was 123. he howled the whole way there, 15 miles, and all the way home. I'm wondering if this could just be a kind of bounce?
 
It might be stress from the vet or from having an upset stomach but test him in the morning again. Good that he's drinking. Has he eaten since he vomited? Is he puker? If his his kidneys are acting up, than can cause nausea. Did your vet mean if his creatinine was still on the highish side, Goof would need prescription kidney food?

If his teeth are bothering him, that could be another reason he doesn't want to eat or that his BG is high. But that doesn't explain the vomiting.

My cat stopped eating and got dehydrated and nauseous on Augmentin but it took a couple of days for that to happen. Goof might be ultra sensitive to it maybe? How many doses has he had?
 
I just re-tested, he's now 207, so hes dropping. Yup, he does tend to be a puker, but he's only had one dose. The vet
did mention other food, but he said there were a couple of other things we could try first. Goof just jumped up
on my bed and curled up on his usual spot, so maybe he's gonna mellow out. I spoke to Dr. James as soon as
I got home and found him vomiting, he said to skip the dose for tonite. I guess I'll go curl up with him.

For some reason, my iPad won't connect with my wifi tonite so i have to use the laptop. So, I'll update in the a.m.
 
Vet just called, he said it's good that he was drinking on his own and that it sure could've been a spike due to stress. Well see how he us in the morning. Thanks all!
 
Have you started the Augmentin?

Lots of antibiotics will cause nausea, so that might be the easiest explanation....Also, when you start antibiotics, you want to start a Pro-biotic too. AB kill the good bacteria in the intestinal tract as well as the bad, so you need to replace it or you can end up fighting diarrhea too
 
Just a thought-if his teeth are bothering him he may be producing extra saliva; add to that the stress of a trip to the vet, and starting antibiotics-recipe for vomiting, maybe? Still best to have his vet check him out!
 
His bg was 108 this morning. He acted really hungry this morning, but only ate a little bit, not even the kibble that he LOVES. Maybe his tummy is still upset. Kind of scared to give the med this morning.
 
that really sounds a lot like he's having some nausea from the AB...you might ask your vet for a different AB or something for nausea like Cerenia
or Ondansetron ...they are both good medications for nausea
 
Yeah, vet said he'll give me a different AB today. He s still not himself as he's not laying in my lap while I have my coffee, as is our morning routine.
 
Good, I'm glad the vet is giving a different AB. Hopefully that will fix matters. Goof may need an anti-nausea med for a day or two to help settle his stomach as well (Marshmallow needed anti-nausea meds after trying Aug but ECID) so maybe ask the vet for the meds Chris suggested. Let us know how he does.
 
Thanks everyone, will let you know how it goes tomorrow. He's still not eating much, which is REALLY unlike him, but maybe his tummy is a little jacked up.
 
Goof did just great! They did have to pull one tooth, turns out it was cracked and one side completely broken off. He acted hungry all the time, but would only eat a few bites then walk away. No wonder the poor guy was stressed. His numbers had been climbing a bit, which was a little concerning, but I checked him tonite, 98. I even checked with AT strips, 91. The vet said he was 315 at the office, yikes!!! But he HATES vet visits. I gave some pain med and he's curled up on my bed, sound asleep. :cat::) Oh yeah, he gave him some IV fluids to help flush the kidneys. I suppose the sore tooth made drinking cool water painful as well so maybe that's why he was a little dehydrated.
 
Last edited:
I'd like to update his SS, but I'm still using the AT, and I think there's a different SS for that, but I REALLY don't want to have re-enter all of that info. Does anyone know any easy (yup, I'm lazy) way to do this?
 
Take a look at the spreadsheet options currently available here.The low end of the green safe range is what is different.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top