Good news (I guess)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Drashiel

Member Since 2023
Hi!
Yesterday during my routine nadir points of control, found a measure under 50 (I did 3 to be sure, one was 49, another 53 and 59) so I called my vet. She thinks that his pancreas is starting to work fine again and now has reduced our dosage to 0.5U/12H. At night we have a spike of 250 4 hours after the shot, I think it is caused by Somogy effect but Moar looks good when values were low (I added extra feed and was prepared to add honey if the values go lower).

A few days ago we were talking about my doubts about food, insulin, and prednisolone for IDB, hope this post can help other members with the same diseases that my cat:
- Regarding insulin, she knows about other insulin (glargine) but she prefers to start with caninsulin because you have the option to use the pen and some cats can be controlled with this insulin. Some pet owners are overwhelmed with too much information and the pen is a more friendly way to start to manage diabetes.
She was not reluctant to change, but since it is controlled with Caninsulin, we let it be for now.
- About food, I was not able to find any food suitable for IBD, renal, and low on carbs. I wrote to multiple manufacturers of food asking for candidates based on carbs levels, phosphorous, and description of food but no one has any option low on carbs with hydrolyzed protein and low on phosphorous.
- Finally, about changing prednisolone for IBD, we prefer to do no more changes. Last time we were testing various doses, sometimes he stopped eating and we had to raise the dose. Since we only had to manage the IBD we knew that he stopped eating because the dose was low. Now with pancreatitis, we don't know if it is a problem of the pancreas or of the IBD.

I´ll call my vet to confirm about spike we had yesterday night and will check for nadir with 0.5U, but looks good, I have my fingers crossed.
 
Are you able to get any tests in during the pm cycles? At the moment you don’t have many tests there? Even a before bed test is good.
There is no such thing as Somogyi …seee THIS LINK
What you are probably seeing is bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Are you feeding 30 minutes before giving the dose of insulin? And giving snacks of food during the cycles?
 
Hi,
Yes, I feed with more food between shots, but the thing here is that on nadir of insulin I had 250 and with 1U never had those values. Ussualy are under 100. But in the morning I had very low values, I guess that is a bouncing effect due low glucose. At night I feed with food with high Carbo (because I have another diceases to manage) and leave wet food for all night. Measure was taken prior feed with the wet food.

I feed and 10 minutes later shoot the insulin. I do this way from the beginning and never had any issue, probably because food is high on carbohydrates.

Regards.
 
Please wait 30 minutes after feeding before giving caninsulin. It needs food aboard as it hits fast. Are you able to get any tests in during the pm cycles?
 
Regarding food....

A great deal depends on what stage of kidney disease a cat is at. If CKD is more advanced, a phosphorus binder can be used with any canned food and it will neutralize the effect of phosphorus on the kidneys. As a result, you can feed anything. If the kidney disease is not advanced, there are foods that are lower in phosphorus and low in carbohydrates. If the cat has IBD, I would look for those foods that are novel proteins. Usually the hydrolyzed protein foods are high in carbs and not the best quality.

Another option is to switch to a raw diet. You have a great deal of control over what goes into the food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top