unclestreet
Member Since 2025
hi everyone! it's jim here, on an account i never got to use! lol!
i have not updated since the board came back online at this address, but i wanted to share some information about uncle street cat because i have amazing news:
he appears to be going into remission!
i just moved to a new location that is stress-free, enriching, and overall better for his and my own wellbeing. i noticed for about 4-5 days his BG had consistently been in the 100-130 range. today, it was 85 right before dinner without having insulin for multiple days (I do not give him a shot if its below 200).
he was on 2 units of prozinc for approximately a month with recent tapering down in the last 2 weeks to 1.75 and then to 1.5 and 1.25, then a final token dose of .5 (since his reading was so good) before his BG began to completely normalize for many days in a row.
i am aware that the cutoff is usually 2 weeks to determine if remission is happening. but i feel confident based on his personality coming back and his general habits, BG readings, and appearance, that he is the cat that he used to be again!
please give uncle street your congratulations and wish him many happy days. his birthday was on August 30th and it feels like a wonderful gift to say that he is his normal self. i feel overwhelmed with joy to see him in this position, as i love him so so dearly.
obviously i will continue to monitor his sugar for many weeks ahead to ensure no rebounds occur.
thank you for the help and advice i received in this forum, particularly from suzanne & darcy.
much love to all owners and kitties out there fighting the good fight! meow!
i have not updated since the board came back online at this address, but i wanted to share some information about uncle street cat because i have amazing news:
he appears to be going into remission!
i just moved to a new location that is stress-free, enriching, and overall better for his and my own wellbeing. i noticed for about 4-5 days his BG had consistently been in the 100-130 range. today, it was 85 right before dinner without having insulin for multiple days (I do not give him a shot if its below 200).
he was on 2 units of prozinc for approximately a month with recent tapering down in the last 2 weeks to 1.75 and then to 1.5 and 1.25, then a final token dose of .5 (since his reading was so good) before his BG began to completely normalize for many days in a row.
i am aware that the cutoff is usually 2 weeks to determine if remission is happening. but i feel confident based on his personality coming back and his general habits, BG readings, and appearance, that he is the cat that he used to be again!
please give uncle street your congratulations and wish him many happy days. his birthday was on August 30th and it feels like a wonderful gift to say that he is his normal self. i feel overwhelmed with joy to see him in this position, as i love him so so dearly.
obviously i will continue to monitor his sugar for many weeks ahead to ensure no rebounds occur.
thank you for the help and advice i received in this forum, particularly from suzanne & darcy.
much love to all owners and kitties out there fighting the good fight! meow!