Good morning - totally new at all this WHEW !

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura Downing

Member Since 2018
Good morning, my name is Laura - My kitties name is Flipper . He is 13 going on 14, and just diagnosed with diabetes :( , really before this I really didn't know pets get this ! I have been all over in circles trying to figure all this out , and spinning all over the place. Yesterday was the worst day ever. he spent Friday, and the week end in the hosp. he was released on Monday. I was not getting enough information and some wrong information from the vet that was on call while mine was on vacation ! I was given insulin ( vetsulin ) and syringes, told to give him 1 unit 2 times a day. Plus he has a uti, pancreas inflamed, and high white cell count. I wasn't sure if they told me he had a high key tone yesterday as I was trying to find information ( Thankfully no key tone ). While n the hospital, they gave him a antibiotic shot that last 2 weeks , IV fluids, and a shot to stop his vomiting. Luckily I asked them for some IV fluid and needles, and they gave it to me just in case. Of course he was not eating all day yesterday, and couldn't get a hold of the vet, so I started syringe feeding him. The tech told me to have him eat at least 4 temptation treats before the insulin . This is what really raised my flag, as common sense was telling me that is not enough for the insulin. I asked that vet about home monitoring and she said NO we don't want our patients doing that . Hmmm from what I read here and other places we should . Long story. I am new to this , and quite upset. This morning not too upset , just want to go full steam ahead and get him better. A few people on here already helped me tremendously ! He is still hitting the water bowl hard , and urinating a lot. Finally after complaining and being upset that my regular vet was not responding to me - she called me when she read the im on face book ! She is now going to take charge of his case from her partner that covered her while on call. She told me to order the glucose monitor kit and yes use it. first get him eating asap . she is ordering him a liquid diet as well ! I gave him 1 unit of IV fluid last night as well as 5 syringes of puree food. I also did that this morning, no IV fluid though and am ready to do a little more and give him his shot. I will post update when I get done , OH my This is still so very over whelming to say the least , but this morning I am a little bit calmer thankfully.
 
Good morning Laura! I’m glad you regular vet called and is helping you. And yay for no ketones!!!! I would say that things are looking up for you and Flipper. Hope his appetite picks up and he starts eating on his own. Did your vet tell you how much and how often to give the fluids?
 
Welcome! Once the uti starts to clear he will no doubt feel better.

The good news is diabetes is very treatable and many cats even go into periods of remission.

What is your cat eating?

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
 
Good morning Laura! I’m glad you regular vet called and is helping you. And yay for no ketones!!!! I would say that things are looking up for you and Flipper. Hope his appetite picks up and he starts eating on his own. Did your vet tell you how much and how often to give the fluids?
Whew ! yes , I give him 1 unit up to 2 times a day for the fluids, but I think so far because I am syringe feeding him , and will do until he starts eating on his own again I will shoot for once a day . But this morning he is still hitting that darned water like no tomorrow ! And urinating a lot still too. That is what my vet is worried about - his kidneys as well. His fur still looks ruffled this morning. It does seem as though ( 2nd time for insulin ) after the shot he tends to quiet down , and lays on his pillow. I am not sure if that is normal. I ordered the monitor kit, and it will arrive tomorrow morning ( I am nervous about this procedure as well, oh Lordy ) . But I know once I do it a few times I will be better mentally about it. Sharon I could never thank you enough for getting me through yesterday ! Once I know what and how I think I might be okay, but my nerves are completely shot at this point ! At least with the syringe I am getting food in :). I will be picking up the baby food this afternoon as well. But I pureed the friskies for now. and of course he is not happy with it , but oh well I will continue no matter what ! I have to call and give the Dr an update at 9, she said she will be in surgery all morning, but the tech that takes the message will be told to go in the back and let her know as soon as I call. i will update you later in the day, and THANK YOU !!!!
 
Welcome! Once the uti starts to clear he will no doubt feel better.

The good news is diabetes is very treatable and many cats even go into periods of remission.

What is your cat eating?

I have a video in my signature showing how I test my cat CC at home.
Thank you !!!!! I will watch this most likely more than once. The kit will be arriving tomorrow ! And for now just to get him eating I have pureed friskies, but the vet is ordering a liquid diet as well. Plus I will be picking up some baby foods this afternoon. I started syringing him at 5 this morning, so there would be food in his tummy for the 6 am shot. He was not happy with the syringe, but oh well. He is still hitting that darned water bowl like no tomorrow, and urinating a lot still, but I will report that this morning when I call the vet. He had his IV last night, and I will be giving him more of that tonight as well. I can only pray that we will survive this. I am a little calmer this morning so far . Is it normal after the insulin for them to quiet down and rest ? Like I said I have so very much to learn, and overwhelmed is beyond this world ! THANK YOU so very much !!!!! You have helped me so very much !!!! Words can never be enough to say on the thankfulness I have for all what you are telling me ! :)
 
Thank you !!!!! I will watch this most likely more than once. The kit will be arriving tomorrow ! And for now just to get him eating I have pureed friskies, but the vet is ordering a liquid diet as well. Plus I will be picking up some baby foods this afternoon. I started syringing him at 5 this morning, so there would be food in his tummy for the 6 am shot. He was not happy with the syringe, but oh well. He is still hitting that darned water bowl like no tomorrow, and urinating a lot still, but I will report that this morning when I call the vet. He had his IV last night, and I will be giving him more of that tonight as well. I can only pray that we will survive this. I am a little calmer this morning so far . Is it normal after the insulin for them to quiet down and rest ? Like I said I have so very much to learn, and overwhelmed is beyond this world ! THANK YOU so very much !!!!! You have helped me so very much !!!! Words can never be enough to say on the thankfulness I have for all what you are telling me ! :)
He may be setting down because he's feeling better. What kit did you order for testing?

You said his fur looks ruffled... My cat looked the same.... And still does occasionally because grooming is difficult for her... Greasy and dandruff. That will subside one he's in better numbers. What I did for my cat is too put a few pinches of cornstarch on her fur and massage it in and let it sit a few min then comb it out with a tight toothed flea comb. Fur is soft and clean feeling again.
 
Excessive drinking and urinating may be a sign of kidney problems, but it’s also a sign of unregulated diabetes. Even though he had no ketones at the vet, I would still encourage you to pick up the ketone test strips. They can pop up quickly when a kitty isn’t eating enough and has an infection. If caught early, they are much easier and cheaper to fix!
 
:):)
Good morning, my name is Laura - My kitties name is Flipper . He is 13 going on 14, and just diagnosed with diabetes :( , really before this I really didn't know pets get this ! I have been all over in circles trying to figure all this out , and spinning all over the place. Yesterday was the worst day ever. he spent Friday, and the week end in the hosp. he was released on Monday. I was not getting enough information and some wrong information from the vet that was on call while mine was on vacation ! I was given insulin ( vetsulin ) and syringes, told to give him 1 unit 2 times a day. Plus he has a uti, pancreas inflamed, and high white cell count. I wasn't sure if they told me he had a high key tone yesterday as I was trying to find information ( Thankfully no key tone ). While n the hospital, they gave him a antibiotic shot that last 2 weeks , IV fluids, and a shot to stop his vomiting. Luckily I asked them for some IV fluid and needles, and they gave it to me just in case. Of course he was not eating all day yesterday, and couldn't get a hold of the vet, so I started syringe feeding him. The tech told me to have him eat at least 4 temptation treats before the insulin . This is what really raised my flag, as common sense was telling me that is not enough for the insulin. I asked that vet about home monitoring and she said NO we don't want our patients doing that . Hmmm from what I read here and other places we should . Long story. I am new to this , and quite upset. This morning not too upset , just want to go full steam ahead and get him better. A few people on here already helped me tremendously ! He is still hitting the water bowl hard , and urinating a lot. Finally after complaining and being upset that my regular vet was not responding to me - she called me when she read the im on face book ! She is now going to take charge of his case from her partner that covered her while on call. She told me to order the glucose monitor kit and yes use it. first get him eating asap . she is ordering him a liquid diet as well ! I gave him 1 unit of IV fluid last night as well as 5 syringes of puree food. I also did that this morning, no IV fluid though and am ready to do a little more and give him his shot. I will post update when I get done , OH my This is still so very over whelming to say the least , but this morning I am a little bit calmer thankfully.
Hey Laura welcome to the group, I’m pretty new to this as well but these people on here are amazing and they will help out in any way they can, take it one day at a time, I had to literally learn that, cause I was always going to work worrying myself to death literally, it was driving me crazy and yes very overwhelming but you have an amazing group here and they have helped me tremendously, it will get better:)
 
Welcome Laura,

I am a newbie too. I've learned so much from this forum! Soon you the overwhelming feeling will start to go away. It's definitely a learning experience. Once I started testing I felt more in control. Hoping Flipper feels better very soon!
 
Laura, welcome. It is overwhelming at first. Good for you for standing up and fighting for Flipper. I think one of the hardest parts is getting through to the vets that we sugar parents WILL do what it takes to help our babies. You accomplished that well done. The rest will just take time and practice. I think you will do just fine. One day you will think back and wonder "why was I so scared and nervous". I am doing this again for the 2nd time. I just (15 days ago) specifically adopted a diabetic kitty. Yet I feel as if I forgot everything and it has only been 2 yrs that I have been away from this dance.

Make this site part of your daily routine. Ask for help and advice all you want. Flipper will be better for it and you will have all the support you could ever imagine.:):):):)
 
He may be setting down because he's feeling better. What kit did you order for testing?

You said his fur looks ruffled... My cat looked the same.... And still does occasionally because grooming is difficult for her... Greasy and dandruff. That will subside one he's in better numbers. What I did for my cat is too put a few pinches of cornstarch on her fur and massage it in and let it sit a few min then comb it out with a tight toothed flea comb. Fur is soft and clean feeling again.
Good morning, I finally got my power and internet back on. Ok , I have the alpha trak 2, , I took him in to the vets office yesterday for weight and glucose check. his BG was at 350, so they told me to up his dose another unit. his weight went from 12.2 up to 12.5. I have gotten him to eat a jar of baby food from the spoon finally in the morning just before his shot, in the evening he would only eat a half of a jar, so I syringe the other half. I am still giving him one unit of iv fluid as well at night. This morning he is looking and acting a little better, fur a little softer, and seems alert a little more. I will be watching the video on testing in a bit, as the tech used the vein in his ear. I don't know yet. He is starting to clean himself too. still hitting the water, esp after his shot. I will be getting the urine strips too I think , just to be safe. I woke around 2 am hearing crunching of the few pieces of hard food I left out, so maybe he is just starting to feel a tad better ?
 
Laura, welcome. It is overwhelming at first. Good for you for standing up and fighting for Flipper. I think one of the hardest parts is getting through to the vets that we sugar parents WILL do what it takes to help our babies. You accomplished that well done. The rest will just take time and practice. I think you will do just fine. One day you will think back and wonder "why was I so scared and nervous". I am doing this again for the 2nd time. I just (15 days ago) specifically adopted a diabetic kitty. Yet I feel as if I forgot everything and it has only been 2 yrs that I have been away from this dance.

Make this site part of your daily routine. Ask for help and advice all you want. Flipper will be better for it and you will have all the support you could ever imagine.:):):):)
Thank you so very much Paula ! This helps me feel so much better !
 
Welcome Laura,

I am a newbie too. I've learned so much from this forum! Soon you the overwhelming feeling will start to go away. It's definitely a learning experience. Once I started testing I felt more in control. Hoping Flipper feels better very soon!
Thank you Jen ! I have learned so much in such a short period, but so very much more to learn and go through I know. I think you are right esp about the testing , I will do my first one today - eek !
 
:):)
Hey Laura welcome to the group, I’m pretty new to this as well but these people on here are amazing and they will help out in any way they can, take it one day at a time, I had to literally learn that, cause I was always going to work worrying myself to death literally, it was driving me crazy and yes very overwhelming but you have an amazing group here and they have helped me tremendously, it will get better:)
Thank you !!! I am so very thankful for all the help and support I have found here ! I am just now realizing I will have to take it one day at a time , as I feel I am going crazy worrying constantly . Everyone is helping me so very much, and I am so grateful. It is amazing , everyone is right here for us ! I am thanking God for guiding me to everyone here. Today I will be doing a test on him for the first time, so I am praying for me to be able to do it right and not hurt poor Flipper while attempting it. I was very, very nervous upping his dose last night, but he seems ok this morning, a little more alert too .
 
Excessive drinking and urinating may be a sign of kidney problems, but it’s also a sign of unregulated diabetes. Even though he had no ketones at the vet, I would still encourage you to pick up the ketone test strips. They can pop up quickly when a kitty isn’t eating enough and has an infection. If caught early, they are much easier and cheaper to fix!
I will get them today . THANK YOU so very much for this info !!!!!
 
Hold off on raising that unit. Your vet was basing that recommendation on just one test.... See what the numbers are over the next few days and get comfortable with testing. We always recommend raising slowly by no more than a half unit at a time because even a tiny hit of insulin can make a huge impact. Get used to testing so you aren't trying to learn how in a moment of panic if he drops too low.

In sorry to hear he's still not eating well. Normally we say no kibble but eating SOMETHING is better than eating nothing!!

No food 2 hours prior to the preshot test though.

Let's set up a signature next. Click on your name at the top right corner and choose signature. Add info such as your pets name, date diagnosed, insulin type and dose, food you're feeding and any other health concerns and medications.

Once you start testing you'll want to set up a spreadsheet that you can add to your signature
 
Okay , THANK YOU ! I was very worried last night of raising it so much to begin with, and you just confirmed my doubts :) I am right now going to attempt testing him before I give him his baby food. Now if I gave him 2 units last night, and his reading is in a good range this morning should I go back to the 1 unit , do you think ?
 
Okay , THANK YOU ! I was very worried last night of raising it so much to begin with, and you just confirmed my doubts :) I am right now going to attempt testing him before I give him his baby food. Now if I gave him 2 units last night, and his reading is in a good range this morning should I go back to the 1 unit , do you think ?
I was watching him like a hawk last night, I was afraid it would drop and I would have issues, but he did seem ok though
 
ok back, not so bad ! The meter came up err the first time, then used a new strip and wow ! It read 590 ! These meters don't lie ??? I don't get it, how could it go so high over night esp when I did give him 2 units last night ??? Then I went to feed him after the test, he didn't want the baby food, so I had to syringe him :( . This morning he was acting a little more alert as well ???? I am thinking of giving him the 2 units again with this reading so high , not sure though, maybe it would crash to quickly :(
 
ok back, not so bad ! The meter came up err the first time, then used a new strip and wow ! It read 590 ! These meters don't lie ??? I don't get it, how could it go so high over night esp when I did give him 2 units last night ??? Then I went to feed him after the test, he didn't want the baby food, so I had to syringe him :( . This morning he was acting a little more alert as well ???? I am thinking of giving him the 2 units again with this reading so high , not sure though, maybe it would crash to quickly :(
okay - now calmer head ok I will raise it only 1/2 unit for now - I think I will test this afternoon to see how it is going.
 
Hi Laura, glad to hear from you! Try to get a test 4-6 hours after the shot. For eating, I agree with Janet that for now just get him to eat anything. Have you tried warming the food a bit, tuna juice, crushing a temptation treat on top of the food? Are you still giving the fluids?
 
Hi Laura, glad to hear from you! Try to get a test 4-6 hours after the shot. For eating, I agree with Janet that for now just get him to eat anything. Have you tried warming the food a bit, tuna juice, crushing a temptation treat on top of the food? Are you still giving the fluids?
Yes Thank you ! I am worried that it is up, and I don't understand why . Yes I do warm his food, and it is strange because he acted a little better by waking me up tapping on my face :) , but when I tested and saw 590 now I am stressing again. This morning - it seemed as though he didn't want to eat only 2 teaspoons of baby food before his shot, so I syringed the rest , then gave him 1 and a half unit's of insulin like Janet said. And yes I am still giving him his fluid iv - 1 unit at night for now, just so he doesn't dehydrate. He tends to go at that water bowl right after the insulin shot though. I am also laying out 7 different types of food , he will lick a little of this and a little of that at times, but not eating it :(.
 
Until you get more tests in we can’t be sure, but sometimes those really high numbers are just ‘bounces’ from the blood glucose going low from what the cats body is used to, or dropping fast. Their body will release stored up glucose and you’ll get a high reading. More tests will confirm this or show us he needs more insulin.
 
Cute avatar!!!! Yes, it will get better. Once he starts eating and you get the hometesting down, much less worry!
Okay THANK YOU !!!!! Because right now I am worried beyond ! And thank you , that is my Flipper, how ever he now has a lettuce ear on the left, from a what do I call it a large bubble that was fixed , but healed to look like lettuce lol.
 
Okay THANK YOU !!!!! Because right now I am worried beyond ! And thank you , that is my Flipper, how ever he now has a lettuce ear on the left, from a what do I call it a large bubble that was fixed , but healed to look like lettuce lol.


That was an aural hematoma. I have a cat with one too!
 
Ok right lol, my mind is whirling all over lol. the vet broke it and stitched this plastic thing on it, and I has to squeeze it many times a day, but the ear dis formed any way :(, but he doesn't mind , and neither do I lol , I think it gives him character. lol Did yours go all lettucy too ?
 
Oh ok, thank You ! But it really worries me though :( , does this stress of worrying ease up at all ?
Yes!!! You are just starting this marathon... It will get easier!!! Way to go getting the test! If he's still off eating is call the vet and ask for an appetite stimulant tomorrow. Gotta get that kitty eating!!
 
Yes, you will be less worried and stressed once you get the testing routine down. It's your very best window into what's going on with your handsome boy. :)
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Janet mentioned in her post above that it would help us if you set up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
  • click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
  • click on "signature" in the men that drops down
  • type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has.
Another thing that will help us help you now that you've started BG testing at home is to set up a spreadsheet like the one we use here. We can all see it and will look at it before offering any dosing advice. If you're using the AlphaTrak meter all the time make sure you choose the version of the spreadsheet for pet meters: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your SS, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important of BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.

I hope this helps! :)
 
Sometimes warming up the food a bit helps. You could also try adding tuna juice, FortiFlora, or Bonito flakes
 
Ok right lol, my mind is whirling all over lol. the vet broke it and stitched this plastic thing on it, and I has to squeeze it many times a day, but the ear dis formed any way :(, but he doesn't mind , and neither do I lol , I think it gives him character. lol Did yours go all lettucy too ?

Yes it did. We don’t know why he got the hematoma. It’s caused from cartilage damage usually due to them scratching, but we found no evidence of ear mites or fleas.
 
Yes, you will be less worried and stressed once you get the testing routine down. It's your very best window into what's going on with your handsome boy. :)
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Janet mentioned in her post above that it would help us if you set up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
  • click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
  • click on "signature" in the men that drops down
  • type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has.
Another thing that will help us help you now that you've started BG testing at home is to set up a spreadsheet like the one we use here. We can all see it and will look at it before offering any dosing advice. If you're using the AlphaTrak meter all the time make sure you choose the version of the spreadsheet for pet meters: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your SS, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important of BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.

I hope this helps! :)
OK I will be rereading this when I get today.
 
Yes, you will be less worried and stressed once you get the testing routine down. It's your very best window into what's going on with your handsome boy. :)
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Janet mentioned in her post above that it would help us if you set up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
  • click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
  • click on "signature" in the men that drops down
  • type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has.
Another thing that will help us help you now that you've started BG testing at home is to set up a spreadsheet like the one we use here. We can all see it and will look at it before offering any dosing advice. If you're using the AlphaTrak meter all the time make sure you choose the version of the spreadsheet for pet meters: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your SS, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important of BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.

I hope this helps! :)
OK thank you ! I will try to do all this when I get back from the store and I will definitely call the vet in the morning for a stimulate too ! Thank you for that too. I just did another test and it read 343.,so I will leave him alone for now lol . he just finished eating a delectable delight puree type treat,and is now curled up on his pillow resting .
 
Yes, you will be less worried and stressed once you get the testing routine down. It's your very best window into what's going on with your handsome boy. :)
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Janet mentioned in her post above that it would help us if you set up your signature (light grey text under a post). Here's how:
  • click on your name in the upper right corner of this page
  • click on "signature" in the men that drops down
  • type the following in the box that opens: kitty's name/age/date of diabetes diagnosis/insulin you're using /glucose meter you're using/what he eats/any other meds or health issues he has.
Another thing that will help us help you now that you've started BG testing at home is to set up a spreadsheet like the one we use here. We can all see it and will look at it before offering any dosing advice. If you're using the AlphaTrak meter all the time make sure you choose the version of the spreadsheet for pet meters: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's the basic testing routine we recommend:
  1. test every day AM and PM before feeding and injecting (no food at least 2 hours before) to see if the planned dose is safe
  2. test at least once near mid cycle or at bedtime daily to see how low the BG goes
  3. do extra tests on days off to fill in the response picture
  4. if indicated by consistently high numbers on your SS, increase the dose by no more than 0.25 u at a time so you don't accidentally go right past a good dose
  5. post here for advice whenever you're confused or unsure of what to do.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here's an explanation of what we call "bouncing". It explains why a kitty's BG can go from low to sky high:
  1. BG goes low OR lower than usual OR drops too quickly.
  2. Kitty's body panics and thinks there's danger (OMG! My BG is too low!).
  3. Complex physiologic processes take glycogen stored in the liver (I think of it as "bounce fuel"), convert it to glucose and dump it into the bloodstream to counteract the perceived dangerously low BG.
  4. These processes go into overdrive in kitties who are bounce prone and keep the BG propped up varying lengths of time (AKA bouncing).
  5. Bounce prone kitty repeats this until his body learns that healthy low numbers are safe. Some kitties are slow learners.
  6. Too high a dose of insulin can keep them bouncing over and over until the " bounce fuel" runs out and they crash - ie., have a hypo episode. That's why we worry so much about kitties that have had too high a starting dose prescribed by the vet and the owner isn't home testing.
.................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

Here are some tips on how to do urine ketone testing (VERY important of BG is high and kitty isn't eating well!):
  • put the end of the test strip right in his urine stream as he's peeing
  • slip a shallow, long handled spoon under his backside to catch a little pee - you don't need much
  • put a double layer of plastic wrap over his favourite part of the litter box and poke some depressions in it too catch pee.
Most test strips have to be dipped and allowed to develop for 15 seconds before viewing the colour change in very good light.

I hope this helps! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top