Good day for Copper?? +12 @ 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

owlgal

Member Since 2011
Thought copper had a good day until i tested him @ +12. Now does that mean that the long duration means too much insulin? I've looked on my SS and in the past when i had long duration like this i've ended up with bad days the next. Do i wait 1hr and give token dose and then test @ regular scheduled amps(10am EST) and shoot OR do i not give a shot at all tonight.

Always something new to deal with......

lori
 
Waited 1hr and tested again and @316. Can't believe that he would double his reading in 1hr. I fed him a couple of Pure bits liver treats after i tested him. That is the only food. Can't believe they would do anything to make his reading that high. Maybe his +12 was not accurate? Not sure what to do. Will wait 30min and test again i guess.

ANybody out there?

lori
 
I have seen the quick spike happen....when the insulin is gone the BG can shoot up very quickly. In testing Kitty, I have seen 100 point increases in less than 15 minutes. I know that is hard to believe!

I think it is a good idea to retest to be certain nothing is a fluke, but the doubling of the bg in an hour is possible.

Good Luck!
 
Thanks for the info. The insulin was supposed to be out of his body by 8hrs. So did the insulin stay in his system longer OR is his body starting to work on his own?

Lori
 
Actually the Prozinc manufacturer says it has duration of 10 to 14 hours. The older versions of PZI have a duration of 8 hours.

I hope he has a good day.
 
I agree with Robin, the duration can be much longer than 8 hours. The duration can be determined by so many things. But, I think it is fair to assume that you had longer duration for the cycle. I would not attribute it to his Pancreas helping out.

Here is hoping that he has a good day!
 
Thanks everyone! I did wait another 40min and retested and he was @ 328. So i shot 1.6u just in case their was any lingering insulin left in his body and i went to bed and slept all night. YEA!

So if he has another long duration, do i just wait like i did until he spikes again or do i just give a smaller dose? Just want to be prepared tonight just in case.

His amps is 333 so dosed 1.8u again. Maybe get to see some green today.

Have a great day everyone!

lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top