Gonna be a long night...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah Smith

Member Since 2016
Cooters diving again, 94 at +4.... started steering him with some medium carb hes been dropping about 100 pts per hour since his injection. Did the same last night but slowed down a little... retest in 20
 
his PM was 500 so I didnt think anything in giving him the 1.2....shoulda figured he was off from last night
 
his body is totally different at night for some reason..... 1.2 is too much the last few days but 1 isnt enough....

gonna need some dosing advice in the AM for sure
 
He just ate 2 HC treats, the little temptations, hoping that will help stabilize him a little later, hasnt been hitting his nadir till +7
 
You've had quite a day, tornados and a diving cat! Your the one that needs the:bighug::bighug:! What time do you shoot in the AM? @Rachel is usually up early to help with dosing. Looking at your SS, 5/1 he was 600+ and dropped to 181 @+4 on 1u.
 
shoot at 530 usually, thanks for tagging her :) I think I need to start low again and work him back up again, but dont want to see blacks again...was upset with the 501 on his PM, first black in a few days....sorry for the babbling posts, I babble try to crack jokes when I'm nervous, gonna go test him again
 
hes not wanting to eat any more of the gravy, gettin fussy with me a bit, gonna try a different flavor I guess... the food I was giving him was 19% so dont know if that counts as HC or MC... have some 21% thats a different flavor
 
if I shoot at 530 I can get a +1 on him, I start at 7, cant shoot any earlier really because I dont always get to leave work on time at 3:30 so not usually home till 430, sometimes 5
 
Last edited:
still a bit off his nadir, so dont know if I should try some higher LC? thoughts? hasnt had anything but the 2 treats for a little bit now...
 
Went with a teaspoon of 11%, hes at 112 at 5+40... I love blue numbers! Gonna hold off a half hour to test again
 
Blue is my favorite color! But if you can get him to come down slowly, green is pretty too! Yes, hold off on more food until you test. You want a couple rising tests with out being food influenced
 
Bobby said something this morning after last nights panic session. He said once I see nice safe green numbers I'll get addicted lol. My problem is i dont know when they are safe, when hes averaging a drop of 100 points an hour I get scared I'll miss the turning point before hes into a hypo. All i can think is 'OMG hes dropping at 95 points an hour, we're 3 hours off nadir and hes at 115, that means he'll be hypo within the hour" especially last night when he started sort of slow and gained speed on the drop.
 
It's all new still, you'll get the hang of it. He does drop hard and fast and that's scarey. I hope you can get the dosing figured out soon. BTW Bobbie is a she:oops:
 
opps! sorry Bobby if u read this! 191 @just after +6... wonder if I should switch to lantus or levemir, but want to give the prozinc a little time
 
ProZinc is a good insulin so give it time. But if he keeps with the steep dives Lantus or Levemir might be a good idea.
 
Im going to see where he is in a half hour, if he's still rising a little or holding steady I will probably go lay down and get up in a bit to check him.
 
gonna catch a nap, hes at 233 at +6&40 so I way overshot him :( numbers going to be a wreck at AMPS.... Sorry for snatching you into it so late, but thanks for talking me off the ledge:bighug::bighug:
 
Not surprising with what happened last night. What does are ou thinking? You said you aren't home today to monitor right?
 
Cant monitor, was thinking 1u he seems to stay higher during the day, my moms coming later to feed him, but wont let me show her how to test
 
My problem is i dont know when they are safe, when hes averaging a drop of 100 points an hour I get scared I'll miss the turning point before hes into a hypo. All i can think is 'OMG hes dropping at 95 points an hour, we're 3 hours off nadir and hes at 115, that means he'll be hypo within the hour"
Oh, yep, I've been there too and really understand how scary that can be...
Here's a bit hug for you, :bighug:(((Sarah))):bighug:.
You did absolutely brilliantly!

I wonder if Cooter is getting these nosedives because he's dropping out of a bounce at the same time that the insulin is really kicking in....?

Eliz

 
Last edited:
Wow, great (exhausting) jobs ladies!

I think Elizabeth nailed it - likely that he has a fast big bounce in the am, clears it early and starts to drop with the insulin. See how today goes and then consider a lower dose tomorrow - maybe 0.75 or even 0.5 and see how it looks?
 
That makes sense... my mom was feeding him late morning a few days the end last week for me so it may have stabilized him on the drop, thats why we had better numbers. She didnt come yesterday so he dropped and bounced, hence the high PMPS maybe?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top