Gomez - PMPS - 549. Why???

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
I increased Gomez's dose yesterday. My vet recommended that I increase to 2 units it a few days ago but I delayed. Today he seemed to be doing pretty well, but his PMPS is awful. I want to scream. Why is this happening? I actually didn't mean to increase to 2 units today. I was going to stay with 1.75, but I ran out of the needles I was using and I had to use a different kind and I just couldn't calculate 1.75. It was closer to 2 which is why I called it 2 on the chart.

I felt pretty good today and now I am in tears again. This whole process is making me sick. I can't sleep. I haven't been eating. I worry about Gomez constantly. I ordered Ketone test strips, but they won't come until tomorrow.
 
I may have mentioned this previously. I think Gomez is bouncing off of yellow numbers. If you look at his spreadsheet, when he drops into yellow numbers, his numbers then bounce into the 400 - 500s. Bounces occur because your kitty isn't used to being in lower ranges (even if they are still relatively high), there is a fast drop in numbers, or numbers drop low. As a result the liver and pancreas "panic." When this happens, a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones are released. This cause the numbers to spike upward. As frustrating as it is for us, it's a normal phenomenon.

 
Are numbers this high dangerous? How long will it take to go back down if it is a bounce? I hate this.
 
It can take up to six cycles to clear the bounce. My Neko had plenty of black in the beginning, and still managed to survive five years on insulin. Those high numbers aren't good long term, so you want to increase as quickly as is safely possible to do so. And test daily for ketones. You should be able to get ketostix or the equivalent at any human pharmacy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top