Gomez -PMPS 472, +7 - 448. How can this be?

Status
Not open for further replies.

FluffBunny

Member Since 2014
Gomez's nadir appears to be +4 - 5 hours. I fell asleep tonight and I didn't get a reading until +7. How can his BG be so high? At this rate, he is going to be black again by his AMPS. These numbers are literally making me sick. I am trying so hard to care for him, but nothing is getting better.

I guess I am on SLGS. I am feeding Gomez dry Royal Canin diabetic food and syringe feeding 12 ml of Purina DM at AM and PM feedings. He has lost a lot of weight in the last month and he won't eat canned food.

Gomez is 16 years old and in congestive heart failure. The cardiologist gave a prognosis of 6 - 9 months. I am not aiming for remission. I just want him to be as comfortable as possible but these numbers are making me feel like a failure.
 
Given how high Gomez' numbers have been, it looks like he's bouncing off of yellows.

If you're planning to follow Tight Regulation for your dosing strategy, you can increase Gomez' dose to 2.0u this evening given that the bulk of his nadirs are over 300.
 
I too had to learn the Patience word......not easy, but it does get easier with time.............we all think when they have higher numbers before bed that when we awake they will be even higher, but then the depot kicks in and many times they surprise us with lower numbers as was the case with Gomez. Hope he feels better..............
 
Any chance you can work on changing the food? The dry and the DM are both high carb. They will keep his readings on the high end. Have you tried the friskies, fancy feast and Sheba? Crushing some dry and sprinkle on top of wet food? Freeze dried raw?
 
Another food I've had to switch cold turkey on H&D from FF is Nutro Senior Loaf Chicken or Duck - low in Phosphorous and low in carbs........kinda mushy so don't need to add too much water and both Guys like it and the transition was not a problem. Youc an try the wet food with some dry crumbled up on top and don't need much, then slowly take out the dry............
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top