Going out of town?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam Flowers

Member Since 2017
I need to leave town for a couple days next month for the holidays and do not have anyone who can administer Mogee's injections. Even if I did have someone who would do it, Mogee would be so terrified of someone coming over I doubt he would eat with them here, let alone let them test and inject him.

I have thought of boarding him, but he is so terrified at the vet as it is, that his numbers will most likely be through the roof anyway.

I would be able to give his AM shot on Saturday and would not return until Sunday at around 1 PM. So he would miss his PM shot on Saturday and would miss his AM shot on Sunday. So two shots total.

Is this something that I can do? Should I just cancel my trip altogether? Any advice is appreciated as I have never dealt with this situation before.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20171122-131644.png
    Screenshot_20171122-131644.png
    307.6 KB · Views: 93
Any chance you can take him with you?

My 88 year old mom loves going to Branson for the holiday shows, so for the last several years, I've packed China up and she goes with us!!
 
Any chance you can take him with you?

My 88 year old mom loves going to Branson for the holiday shows, so for the last several years, I've packed China up and she goes with us!!

No. I mean I thought about it but Mogee hates the car and he hates other people. He is an inside cat that has lived with my fiance and I his whole life and we never have people over. Whenever we do, he sprints and he hides under his chair until they leave. As for the car, it is the same thing. Absolutely hates the car. I've tried everything as far as trying to get him comfortable outside of our place over the years and nothing has helped.

We are visiting my family in Colorado Springs, Colorado. Mogee can barely last the 10 minutes in the car to the vet. I can only imagine what 20 hours total, there and back, would do to him.

Definitely understanding that Mogee's needs are first and my life revolves around the 6 AM/ 6PM feed/shoot.
 
I think people aren't responding because it's kind of an insoluble puzzle-- if you can't board, can't have a cat sitter give the shots, and can't take him with you, well, that pretty much exhausts all the options other than just skipping shots for a few days, and I don't think most people would be comfortable suggesting that.

My honest opinion is that the best bet would be boarding at the vet. Will he hate it? Yes. Will his numbers be higher? Yes, but better that than going too low, and you can get him back on track when you return. Whatever happens with his numbers there, at least you know that he'll be monitored, and it is only for a few days. Will the vet be staffed overnight?
 
I would love to have a solvable solution but other than staying home I couldn't think of anything. I have to board Leo because he has meds that have to be given and since he has had one saddle thrombus I would never want anyone else to witness something like that and not know what to do. He doesn't like to be boarded but fortunately he is familiar with the vets and all the techs that work there. His glucose goes up but when he gets home it goes back down. If you do board him maybe they could give him a mild sedative while he's there?
 
Mogee can barely last the 10 minutes in the car to the vet. I can only imagine what 20 hours total, there and back, would do to him.

I know the problem!! China used to puke within 1/2 mile of leaving home!! Unfortunately, the vet we use is over an hour away so I had to find a way to make it bearable for her. The key is to try to find what works best for Mogee

Some cats do better if they're in a crate that's covered with a blanket. Some do better if they're on the floorboard of the car. Some do better if they can see out and some, (like I found with China) do better if they're left out. I started taking her for short rides around the block using different methods until I found that she seemed to do best just riding in the back seat. She has her harness on at all times and is "tied in" to the seat belt, but she can go pretty much anywhere she wants on the back seat. I put a litter box on the floor behind the passenger seat in case she needs it.

Now when we go to Branson, she rides along in the back seat and we stay at "pet friendly" hotels. It's important to block off under the bed (if they're not already on pedestals) and anyplace that they can hide and I put the "do not disturb" sign on the door so I don't have to worry about housekeeping coming in.
 
You are getting into blues and greens pretty reliably lately, even within a couple of cycles after a red. And since dropping the dry food on 11/9/2017 it doesn't seem to me that it would take him long to get back on track.

Assuming no other health issues, and most importantly, **no DKA history**... I think that you have to do what you have to do in order to still have some sort of life. You know your cat best, and how he is at the vet and at home. If you were going to be gone for a WEEK, or even more than a couple of days, then my suggestion would be to board at the vet, no question. But for two shots, if he were mine, I would leave him home in his own environ and skip the shots.

Can you at least have someone come in to check on him on Saturday night and/or Sunday morning (or particularly if there is an unexpected delay in your return)...leave fresh wet food, make sure that there is no vomit around the house, and peek under the beds so someone can lay eyes on Mogee? We used to have a super-scaredy cat (needed blood pressure meds, but not diabetic), and this was the best that we could do for short absences because being at the vet seemed worse than him being home and not getting his BP meds.

Just my opinion.
Sandi.
 
Last edited:
I agree with Nan. This is a sticky situation.

Does your vet have a quiet room that Mogee could stay in? If not, call around to other vets and see if they have one.

University of Nebraska in Lincoln has a vet school. I would think they have a teaching hospital. Maybe you could contact them and see if they offer a boarding service. Be sure to tell them Mogee is diabetic.
At the least, maybe they have a student that would be willing to pet sit. Just leave Mogee in a room where he can’t hide (like a bathroom). Detailed instructions are a must.

It would be much safer for him to be somewhere he can be monitored.

Just some ideas.
 
I have opted not to travel at all since Mia's diagnosis because she is a scaredy little mama's baby. She is terrified in the car and at the vet and if anyone comes in the house. She even acts a little skittish around my husband though he has never given her any reason. I had to be out all day today so he had to feed the girls their lunch. He called me and said that Mia was 'freaked out' by the fact that it was him feeding her (or more accurately, anyone feeding her that is not met) so she just ran away without eating. (She did eat after he left to run errands.) So, I understand your dilemma. If I was in your position, and the travel was important enough to me that I really needed/wanted to go, and it was just going to mean missing two shots, I would do it. I would leave her at home and let her miss the shots, because I know my baby, and I know that would be what would make the most sense for her. My sister has always stopped by each day when I travel to check on the girls, give them food and scoop their litter. (Mia hides while she is in the house, by the way. She has to hunt for Mia to confirm she is ok.) But, I know it would be nearly impossible for her to test Mia and give her shots, so I have no idea what I am going to do if/when I need to travel.
 
I need to leave town for a couple days next month for the holidays and do not have anyone who can administer Mogee's injections. Even if I did have someone who would do it, Mogee would be so terrified of someone coming over I doubt he would eat with them here, let alone let them test and inject him.

I have thought of boarding him, but he is so terrified at the vet as it is, that his numbers will most likely be through the roof anyway.

I would be able to give his AM shot on Saturday and would not return until Sunday at around 1 PM. So he would miss his PM shot on Saturday and would miss his AM shot on Sunday. So two shots total.

Is this something that I can do? Should I just cancel my trip altogether? Any advice is appreciated as I have never dealt with this situation before.

I agree with Sandi. If Mogee has no DKA history, it would most likely be okay for you to miss 2 shots. If you were on a depot insulin (one of the Ls), I think there may be issues since missing would mess with the depot, but Prozinc is an in-and-out insulin. I relatively recently went out of town the exact same amount of time and we left Lou to his own devices. I dosed him Saturday am (a lower dose to be safe) and resumed Sunday pm, and I was rather pleased with how well his numbers held. Lou is on Vetsulin, so I just continued on like nothing happened. While we were gone, I had given them (Lou and our civvie Bella) plenty of YAZ, a full can of Fancy Feast, and then we froze a can each of Fancy feast and set that out for them. When we returned they still had some dry and had eaten all of their wet food (fresh and frozen). Obviously, every cat is different, but we had no problems. We don't travel often, but I'm glad we took this opportunity, considering we had made the plans months prior to Lou's diagnosis. At the end of the day, you just need to do what is right for you and Mogee. :bighug:
 
You are getting into blues and greens pretty reliably lately, even within a couple of cycles after a red. And since dropping the dry food on 11/9/2017 it doesn't seem to me that it would take him long to get back on track.

Assuming no other health issues, and most importantly, **no DKA history**... I think that you have to do what you have to do in order to still have some sort of life. You know your cat best, and how he is at the vet and at home. If you were going to be gone for a WEEK, or even more than a couple of days, then my suggestion would be to board at the vet, no question. But for two shots, if he were mine, I would leave him home in his own environ and skip the shots.

Can you at least have someone come in to check on him on Saturday night and/or Sunday morning (or particularly if there is an unexpected delay in your return)...leave fresh wet food, make sure that there is no vomit around the house, and peek under the beds so someone can lay eyes on Mogee? We used to have a super-scaredy cat (needed blood pressure meds, but not diabetic), and this was the best that we could do for short absences because being at the vet seemed worse than him being home and not getting his BP meds.

Just my opinion.
Sandi.

Thank you for the advice. I appreciate it.

I do have someone that would come over to scoop and feed twice a day. I use to make this trip to Colorado about every other month as I have an ill grandparent that lives there. The last time I went was the last weekend of August. That was the weekend I came home to Mogee peeing more than normal. I haven't been able to go back since. But, yes I have someone that could check on him as that is what I normally had done even before his sugar dx.

I just don't trust, knowing how Mogee hides, putting the task in the hands of that friend to test and shoot. I doubt Mogee would come out to eat until they left and I know he wouldn't come out to get tested and get his shot.

I would take him in the car but 9 hours there and back is just too much. Plus I would think the car and being at my grandparents, a place he has never been, would raise his numbers a bunch.

I guess I am at the point that @FurBabiesMama is and I am not going to travel. Mogee is just that important to me. It's just hard because I would feel horrible to not visit and something happens before I can get down to visit again and I never get to see my grandpa again but at the same time I know the whole drive and while I was there I would only be thinking about if Mogee was okay.

I appreciate everyone's advice. I guess when I asked I was just more wondering if anyone knew what would happen if I did miss two shots. If anyone had experience with that. But I don't want anything to happy to Mr. Pickles so the phone conversations will just have to do.

Thanks again for the advice everyone. Mogee and I appreciate all the help.
 
Some vet techs pet also pet sit to make extra money and they should be pretty good with testing/shots. If you could cut off Mogee's hiding places where he'd be too inaccessible to catch him, maybe that would that work?
 
Some vet techs pet also pet sit to make extra money and they should be pretty good with testing/shots. If you could cut off Mogee's hiding places where he'd be too inaccessible to catch him, maybe that would that work?

The lady I was going to have try to administer the injections is a vet tech. She is the parent of a child in my class. We have been friends for some time as she had an older child previously in my class.

But, she has never even been to my place. So I know Mogee will freak if she does and hide. So that makes me think he won't eat as much, if at all while she's there. I have thought about having her come over - leave food out - come back in an hour with the hopes Mogee eats after she leaves - and then if he does, she can give his dose. I do have fears though of him biting. I just don't know what to expect. I know he wouldn't bite at the vet, but I'm also there, and he's not in his territory. I just feel that's an awful lot to ask of her.

Usually I have an old work friend come and scoop and feed Mogee in the morning and at night when we're gone but she hates needles so I can't rely on that.

You guys have been great with all the advice. I am just going to stay home and keep Mogee hopefully on the right track. In the meantime I am going to see if I can get that friend who is a vet tech to come over a few times to see if Mogee can get use to her like he did with my friend who usually feeds while we're away. That shouldn't be too weird as she is also friends with my fiance. Maybe then someday, I may be able to go out of town for a day or two.
 

Attachments

  • 20171125_205320.jpg
    20171125_205320.jpg
    36.3 KB · Views: 69
Good luck. I hope something works for your sake and you're able to go away now and then. I know my cat runs and hides if anyone comes to the door and it would be difficult for someone other than me to catch him.
 
I was just more wondering if anyone knew what would happen if I did miss two shots. If anyone had experience with that.
I have not missed two shots since this started, so I cannot give a personal experience on that specifically, but I missed one per a vet's request before a visit once, and it did not seem to make a difference. Obviously, the BG would not drop during the cycle as it would with insulin, so he would stay higher for the missed shot cycles, but when you get back and start the insulin again, he should come back down. Mogee does not run super high (it's been rare for him to hit 400), the food change really made a difference for him, and he is very responsive to the insulin. All of that is good and probably means you would get right back on track when you returned home. Just throwing that out there even though it sounds like you have already decided to stay home. I just don't want you to have regrets about grandpa.
 
Can you do a "trial run" and skip a couple of injections - the same as when you're going away - and do extra BG checks to see how he responds?

That would give you some idea of what might happen when you're away.
 
I have not missed two shots since this started, so I cannot give a personal experience on that specifically, but I missed one per a vet's request before a visit once, and it did not seem to make a difference. Obviously, the BG would not drop during the cycle as it would with insulin, so he would stay higher for the missed shot cycles, but when you get back and start the insulin again, he should come back down. Mogee does not run super high (it's been rare for him to hit 400), the food change really made a difference for him, and he is very responsive to the insulin. All of that is good and probably means you would get right back on track when you returned home. Just throwing that out there even though it sounds like you have already decided to stay home. I just don't want you to have regrets about grandpa.

I called and talked with my grandpa on the phone last night. I told him what everyone suggested and we both agree it is best to just keep Mogee home.

I am going to talk with Erin tomorrow morning (friend who is the vet tech) and see if she will come by once or twice over the next couple weeks to get Mogee used to her. If Mogee will come out when she's over (he only does this with my fiance's mom, my mom, and Jess- lady who usually checks on him) then I may feel comfortable with eventually leaving for a day or two.

I just know either way, I will worry about Mogee. It would be hard to have fun elsewhere while constantly worrying about my boy back home. That's how it is while I'm at work during the day, so it's hard to believe I could manage being 9 hours away at this point, just starting out.

Last night, I had my first real scare. Mogee got low but not below 50. He was acting strange and meowing like crazy. He would lay down - stand up and walk in a circle - meow - and lay back down. This was after he was eating like a wild man. He repeated this for about 20 seconds and I tested him again (he was 68 @ +4 but I gave some of the Glycobalance so didn't worry too much) but he had dropped more to 54, lowest BG since diagnosis. I panicked, and gave more treats and put some syrup on his tongue. Tested 15 min later and he was 71 and then eventually 88 @ +5. And of course he shot up to his highest AMPS in over a week, 395.

He had been at 3 units since the night before. I had been getting high blues at 2 and 2.5 but 3 units sends him down to about the 60 and lower range.

I guess I keep him at 2.5 units for a while and see what happens?

*Mogee and the squirrel that's been teasing him and trying to drink his balcony water
 

Attachments

  • 20171124_122747.jpg
    20171124_122747.jpg
    47.5 KB · Views: 65
Last edited:
Can you do a "trial run" and skip a couple of injections - the same as when you're going away - and do extra BG checks to see how he responds?

That would give you some idea of what might happen when you're away.

I was really contemplating doing this consecutive shot times this past weekend as I've been off work since Wednesday. I wish I would have. But part of me sees Mogee's numbers on the verge of something great and I didn't know what it would do to his numbers. That's why I asked here. Still worried about if he will get too high missing those two consecutive shots.
 
I think bringing the vet tech in over the next few weeks is a great plan! Who knows, maybe Mogee will take to her quickly and you'll be able to take your trip.

That episode with the low numbers is concerning-- I'm so glad you are monitoring so closely! It sounds like Mogee may be extra sensitive to lows (it's an every cat is different thing-- some cats show no symptoms down into the 30's, others, like Mogee may show hypo-like symptoms even above the usual "take action" number). It may not have been true hypoglycemia (he may have just felt "funny" because he's not used to those numbers), but definitely something to keep an eye on. Those are the kind of numbers we're usually aiming for (good healing numbers for the pancreas!), but you might need to aim a little higher until he gets more comfortable down there. Sometimes, feeding a little bit of low-carb food early (before they get into the low numbers) on a day when he seems to have some downward momentum can slow them down (side note: I know this from Lantus, but I'm pretty sure it will work the same with Prozinc-- someone will correct me if wrong!).

One last thing to keep in mind: there's an additional risk with skipped shots, that of developing ketones. Luckily, it doesn't sound like Mogee is ketone-prone, but it's something to keep in mind if doing any experiments with skipping, and I'd be especially nervous about doing it in a stressful situation (like with you away).

Overall, he's looking good!
 
This was after he was eating like a wild man

This is a good thing to remember!!...Most cats will go looking for food when their BG drops, so if he's coming to you acting like he's starving, that's a good time to test!

China's biggest "tell" is coming to me for food at a time that's not a usual feeding time. When she does that, I know she's either dropped too low or dropping quickly and needs a snack.

It's all part of "Knowing Thy Cat"
 
This is a good thing to remember!!...Most cats will go looking for food when their BG drops, so if he's coming to you acting like he's starving, that's a good time to test!

China's biggest "tell" is coming to me for food at a time that's not a usual feeding time. When she does that, I know she's either dropped too low or dropping quickly and needs a snack.

It's all part of "Knowing Thy Cat"

You're right! Mogee was acting how I described and he was also laying in the kitchen in his "test/treat spot." His weird behavior is definitely what let me know something wasn't quite right.
 
I think bringing the vet tech in over the next few weeks is a great plan! Who knows, maybe Mogee will take to her quickly and you'll be able to take your trip.

That episode with the low numbers is concerning-- I'm so glad you are monitoring so closely! It sounds like Mogee may be extra sensitive to lows (it's an every cat is different thing-- some cats show no symptoms down into the 30's, others, like Mogee may show hypo-like symptoms even above the usual "take action" number). It may not have been true hypoglycemia (he may have just felt "funny" because he's not used to those numbers), but definitely something to keep an eye on. Those are the kind of numbers we're usually aiming for (good healing numbers for the pancreas!), but you might need to aim a little higher until he gets more comfortable down there. Sometimes, feeding a little bit of low-carb food early (before they get into the low numbers) on a day when he seems to have some downward momentum can slow them down (side note: I know this from Lantus, but I'm pretty sure it will work the same with Prozinc-- someone will correct me if wrong!).

One last thing to keep in mind: there's an additional risk with skipped shots, that of developing ketones. Luckily, it doesn't sound like Mogee is ketone-prone, but it's something to keep in mind if doing any experiments with skipping, and I'd be especially nervous about doing it in a stressful situation (like with you away).

Overall, he's looking good!

@Nan & Amber so I shouldn't worry about a 54? He has been around 60 a couple times and I trusted he would go back up and didn't give any high carbs. I guess the closeness to the 50 and the way he was acting was abnormal.

I realize the 60s are probably around 80+ on a human meter.
 
I'm not sure I understand-- aren't you using a human meter now?

It makes a difference here, because our usual "take action" (i.e., give high carb food) numbers are different for pet and human meter.

Human meters: anything below 50
Pet meters: anything below 68

Those cutoffs are meant to leave a safety margin between those numbers and a "hypo" that affects the cat (time enough to get out the high carb and get it working), but again, ECID, and Know Thy Cat! If Mogee can feel being in the 50's on your meter and is acting "off" in that range, then I'd definitely use a more generous cutoff as your "take action" number for the time being, just to make sure he's safe. Like I said earlier, it may not be a hypo so much as him just not being used to those numbers yet, but better safe than sorry![/user]
 
I'm not sure I understand-- aren't you using a human meter now?

It makes a difference here, because our usual "take action" (i.e., give high carb food) numbers are different for pet and human meter.

Human meters: anything below 50
Pet meters: anything below 68

Those cutoffs are meant to leave a safety margin between those numbers and a "hypo" that affects the cat (time enough to get out the high carb and get it working), but again, ECID, and Know Thy Cat! If Mogee can feel being in the 50's on your meter and is acting "off" in that range, then I'd definitely use a more generous cutoff as your "take action" number for the time being, just to make sure he's safe. Like I said earlier, it may not be a hypo so much as him just not being used to those numbers yet, but better safe than sorry![/user]

Yes. Sorry meant to say pet meter...

So that 54 on my HUMAN meter is probably a bit higher right?
 
Yes, although it's hard to make exact comparisons. That's why we just use the one "too low" cutoff for each type, and then from there only making comparisons of different numbers from a single meter type. It's too hard to guess otherwise!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top