? Going out of town - Any FDMB Members in San Antonio? And dosage question upon return

Status
Not open for further replies.

che

Member Since 2022
We have a friend coming to feed our cat, she has watched her before (pre-diabetes diagnosis) but we don't have time to show her how to home test / shoot before we leave tomorrow (long story). We just switched to the human meter and pre-shots average between 350 and 450. She eats low-carb wet food.

I am going to call a couple vet shops tomorrow and hope there's a tech we can hire to give the shots / readings, but if not, will she be all right missing four shots? I'm assuming yes (I've read a few similar threads), I suppose the more important question is when we return, do we start from the beginning and give a lower dose? Or are we still good to give the normal 4U even if she's missed the previous four doses?

There's no history of ketones.

Also maybe there will be some miracle FDMB user who would be willing to help out (for cash of course).

Thanks y'all,
Che
 
I don’t see any tests on your ss since 7/9, nearly a month ago. You won’t start over after missing 4 shots though.
 
Last edited:
There's one person in the Feline Diabetes group on Facebook that says she's in North San Antonio near Bulverde. Don't know if that is close enough or not. (or if there's enough time to set anything up)

We have a map that members can put where they live and what they're willing to do. Show newbies how to home test, how to give insulin, some are willing to house-sit/come give insulin, trade cat-sitting, show how to do subQ fluids...basically whatever each person is comfortable with.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top