going on vacation without Fred updated

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamye and Fred

Member Since 2015
I'm going to Riviera Maya, Mexico, the first week of May and I'm having a friend come over to take care of Fred. I'm hoping my friend can stay here, while I'm gone, vs coming by twice a day. She has a min Yorkie (Max). They've stayed here before, while I went skiing, in March. She left her Yorkie in the guest bedroom, while she was at work, and let Fred have the rest of the condo. The problem was, his insulin schedule was irregular that week. Boarding at the vet would be the last option. He's never done that. His BS goes thru the roof when he goes there. I'm very anxious. Your thoughts?
 
Usually if we have to leave, we hire vet techs or petsitters to come in and take care of our kitties, but we reduce the dose...especially if we're not 100% sure that the person we expect to take care of our cat can't or won't test
 
Thanks, Chris. How's China?
Hopefully Fred's done with the bouncing. We got a little off schedule this morning. I tested him at 6:00 am ( +11) he was at 354 and wouldn't eat....
AMPS 349 @ 9:30 a.m, he ate,gave 1.0 ....I was gone all day, he ate a can while I was gone...... tested just now ..... @ 9:30 pm, PMPS 207, he ate 1/2 can gave 1.0.
This is the most challenging part, is the schedule. I am in retail (Sleep Number) and my hours range from 9:30-5:30, 11-7, or 1-9. ACK.
 
Renal threshold? Fred had a good day all under 300. Hope he keeps it going. I've started giving him 1/2 can of FF classics 4 x day.
 
Can someone take a look at our SS and give me your thoughts as to what youthink I should do about his dose. I'm leaving for vacation in a week. I'm off Mon/Tue of this coming week and will do a curve on one of those days.
 
Last edited:
I am looking at your bgs for 4/19....
looks like Fred can go from pink to blue in just 3 hours....
I think you might want to try to catch some more of those possible blues.... and if the blues are disappearing.... then we can talk about
increasing by 0.25u...
but if the blues are staying, and even a green.... then hold the dose.

generally, it's too early to decide on a dose yet , since that is a week away....
things could change even in one day....

when it gets closer, we'll help you determine how much to reduce the dose for your vacation ( unless you have a great substitute caregiver who shoots and tests plenty)
 
Thank you. I'll be updating the SS as much as possible. My friend who will be taking care of FRED, works at my vets office. She's ok with shooting and testing but she has a busy schedule. So she will probably only test in the AM and PM, before shots.
 
Aloha from Kaua'i......

I am dealing with something like this issue - I cannot find a vet tech or knowledgeable person to come for 7 days and give my cat her insulin injections - our own vet has a tech that does it and I offered her a ridiculous amount of money if she would come and do it (it is about a 10-15 minute drive to where I live for her) - but she is cat sitting during that time and declined. I basically told her to name her price (offered $400 initially but then told her to name her price). Everyone else that I know or that is a vet clinic is on another part of the island I live on and no one wants to commute a long distance twice a day in addition to their work (understandable).....it looks like I am sending my husband off on vacation by himself and canceling my non refundable airline tickets to the mainland (for his mom's 95th birthday celebration).....I love my kitty dearly and would always give up going somewhere if I couldn't find a reputable person to do this - but since this is my very first foray into trying to locate someone (she was just diagnosed 2 weeks ago) - it looks like I'm not going anywhere for a very long, long time. She won't board (doesn't handle it well) so that isn't an option either. I'm glad that you were able to find someone to take care of Fred - there are drawbacks to living on a small island unfortunately here.
 
Aloha from Kaua'i......

I am dealing with something like this issue - I cannot find a vet tech or knowledgeable person to come for 7 days and give my cat her insulin injections - our own vet has a tech that does it and I offered her a ridiculous amount of money if she would come and do it (it is about a 10-15 minute drive to where I live for her) - but she is cat sitting during that time and declined. I basically told her to name her price (offered $400 initially but then told her to name her price). Everyone else that I know or that is a vet clinic is on another part of the island I live on and no one wants to commute a long distance twice a day in addition to their work (understandable).....it looks like I am sending my husband off on vacation by himself and canceling my non refundable airline tickets to the mainland (for his mom's 95th birthday celebration).....I love my kitty dearly and would always give up going somewhere if I couldn't find a reputable person to do this - but since this is my very first foray into trying to locate someone (she was just diagnosed 2 weeks ago) - it looks like I'm not going anywhere for a very long, long time. She won't board (doesn't handle it well) so that isn't an option either. I'm glad that you were able to find someone to take care of Fred - there are drawbacks to living on a small island unfortunately here.
Aloha! I too am getting ready to go to the mainland for my father's 94th birthday. I live in Honolulu and I know my options are better here but thankfully Dusty is OTJ (remission) otherwise I'd freaking out too. I postponed my 2013 Thanksgiving trip for Dusty and I'd do it again. I have a pet nanny that will be coming over twice a day to feed and clean the litter box. Not sure if she would have been able to or willing to test and inject. There must be someone on Kaua'i that can take care of your kitty, keep looking! Best wishes...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top