going on vacation--is once a day okay?

Status
Not open for further replies.

equine99

Member
Before this recent incident with the accidental double dosing (see my other thread, *sigh*), Snowflake has been doing really well lately (relion ss is most recent one). assuming her numbers come back closer to where they were by the time I leave, and look like they've been looking, is it probably okay to only have a pet sitter come once a day to do her shot? My roommate will be here the whole time, so she will be feeding and cleaning more than the one time a day the pet sitter is here, but doesn't feel comfortable testing or giving insulin, and it's beyond my budget to have a pet sitter come twice a day. I was thinking I could start out this way, and have the pet sitter test and write it down on my chart, and have my roommate email me the results, and if she starts to get really high I could then adjust and ask her to come twice a day. BUt I figure once a day is better than none a day, right? Or am I total off base?
 
Yes, Once a day is better than none. But, insulin really needs to be given twice a day. How long are you gone for?
 
Kim, you really ( :mrgreen: ) need to see her ss....can you find a pc without a firewall?

Before the whole mixup the other night, she was shooting as needed and I think if the food test had been done may have been a few days into a trial by now.
 
Oh wouldn't it be so nice if they invented a insulin that lasted 24 hours.

Yes, giving insulin 1x a day is better then not giving any at all. It is really better to get the cycles evened out on a 12/12hr schedule. It helps repair the pancreas if possible. You do have signs that Snowflakes pancreas is working because of the lower PS numbers. So at this point it's very important to help the pancreas out in all ways possible.
So when you give insulin 2x it helps support the pancreas. Even when it's micro dosing....giving just .1 or .2.
When you give insulin just 1x it's supporting the pancreas for 12 hrs, but straining it the next 12 hours. Which is making it work super hard. It can't repair when it has to work hard.

Hope this helps.
 
Actually, if those numbers return after that double dose, it doesn't look like you will be on a 12 hour shot schedule.

Insulin is only necessary when numbers climb into non-diabetic numbers, which would be 150 here. If snowflake is below 150, he doesn't need a shot. He could be under 150 at +22 and still not need a shot.

This is all good!
 
I will be gone for 9 days, so it's not the shortest trip. What would you say I should tell the pet sitter to be the no shoot number? I've been shooting at 150, but since no one will be testing to monitor the rest of the day, maybe I should say 200? I'm just worried her P might be teetering on the edge of function, and if she doesn't get anything during that period, it'll fall back to not working. Or I can adjust her dose and ask the sitter to shoot 0.2 if it's 150-200 and 0.3 if 200-300 and 0.4 if it's above 300?
 
equine99 said:
also, to clarify, Snowflake is a girl kitty :)

-Kathryn
I felt bad after typing that because I was assuming and I realized I might be wrong! Thanks for correcting me, it's MS. Snowflake!

When will you be leaving? If we have a few days and see if SHE gets back to where she was before then advice may be totally different. Update us today (fix your ss if you can too) in a list: looks like this as example, your numbers are different and just put in whatever tests you have. If PMPS is still high we may want to increase the dose to get her back down.

AMPS 373 shot 0.3u
+4 393
+6 320
+8 300
PMPS 340

And before all this mess the last couple days, I don't think her P was teetering....I think he was running and it was masked by the insulin
 
I think I would draw the line at 200 for the sitter. Although your roommate will be there, if she won't be able to test she won't know if snowflake goes low enough to require help.
I think I would go with .2 between 200-300 and .4 over 300

Carl
 
I'm leaving a week from today. I think the 200-300 at 0.2 and 300+ at 0.4 is a good idea. I'm taking the day off tomorrow, to relax and study before I take the GMAT on Saturday, so I'll be home and can test at +3 intervals so see what's going on more closely.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top