Simon'sMommy
Member Since 2013
All of the pink numbers Simon has in his tests (and as you can see, I have done a good amount of testing!!) make me so very nervous that my sweetie is slowly deteriorating and getting organ damage. I know that if his BG is above 240, it is not good. I am at a loss as to what else to do. We have slowly raised his dose (even though the vet wanted 3 units, I refused and went to 2.25 and held that for a good while before raising it to 2.5 very recently) and still, he does not make it to the end of the 12 hour cycle on ProZinc without heading straight up into pink again.
I have checked his urine here and there and no ketones detected, but I am still REALLY scared that he is sustaining more and more organ damage. Still no pain in his back legs that I can detect or any change in that. He put on a couple of ounces (from 14lbs 11 oz a couple of weeks ago to 15 lbs even yesterday) and is happy, purring, preening, peeing and pooping well. He seems...well, fairly normal except he seems to be hiding out a little more often during the day then he used to. My husband is home during the afternoon fairly often for an hour or so and feels Simon is sleepier than usual. He usually gets a +5 or +6 and they are generally in blues but spike back up quickly after that.
Simon has an early nadir from what we can figure. Somewhere between hours 4 and 5 are his lowest and he climbs up from there. Sometimes quickly!
What do we do now? I am just sad thinking that this is damaging him inside. I actually cried thinking about it today. :cry:
Can someone suggest something? My vet does not like Lantus and/or Levemir although I see some cats have good results with this insulin but we are gone much of the day and so can't test as much as we do on the weekends. So, without changing insulin from ProZinc, how can we help him to get better readings. I know about patience but I though a month in would show more greens and blues and at least yellows at AMPS and PMPS. :YMSIGH:
I have checked his urine here and there and no ketones detected, but I am still REALLY scared that he is sustaining more and more organ damage. Still no pain in his back legs that I can detect or any change in that. He put on a couple of ounces (from 14lbs 11 oz a couple of weeks ago to 15 lbs even yesterday) and is happy, purring, preening, peeing and pooping well. He seems...well, fairly normal except he seems to be hiding out a little more often during the day then he used to. My husband is home during the afternoon fairly often for an hour or so and feels Simon is sleepier than usual. He usually gets a +5 or +6 and they are generally in blues but spike back up quickly after that.
Simon has an early nadir from what we can figure. Somewhere between hours 4 and 5 are his lowest and he climbs up from there. Sometimes quickly!
What do we do now? I am just sad thinking that this is damaging him inside. I actually cried thinking about it today. :cry:
Can someone suggest something? My vet does not like Lantus and/or Levemir although I see some cats have good results with this insulin but we are gone much of the day and so can't test as much as we do on the weekends. So, without changing insulin from ProZinc, how can we help him to get better readings. I know about patience but I though a month in would show more greens and blues and at least yellows at AMPS and PMPS. :YMSIGH: