Going Into the 200s again.

Status
Not open for further replies.

geekgirldany

Active Member
When some of ya'll get a chance please look at Catee's SS.

He is going into the 200s again. I am still using the Alphatrak and Relion meters. I ran out of Relion Strips this morning. He had been doing okay but now even on Relion he is going into the 200s.

I've increased his dose from 0.3/0.4 units to 0.6 units yesterday. Should I hold until Monday? My friend is wanting me to go on up to 0.8 units but I am thinking I should wait.

My concern is he is going into the renal threshold on the Relion meter. I am very concerned.
 
Is there any way to get a nadir today to see how low he goes on this dose? That might help make a decision. I think I might stick to the 0.6 tonight and then if he doesn't go down, up it tomorrow and monitor. That way, you'll have a few cycles of this dose to see if he just needs to settle in.
 
I agree with Rachel. Hold the dose a few cycles and then raise if he is still flat and in the 200s. No chance of an infection or getting into some contraband. (I think I remember that he does eat dry that is higher carb, but could he be getting into something really high carb?)
 
I hope no infection. I don't think he is getting into anything high carb. I will keep him at the 0.6 units until Monday evening.

PMPS 275 on alphatrak... close to this morning. I will get a afternoon nadir tomorrow.

Is it good if at nadir he is flat, doesn't go up or go down very much? Or does that indicate a increase. Just notice he seems to do that.
 
Last edited:
Catee had a pretty big jump last night. Relion numbers from 119 at +6 to 217 AMPS. Is he bouncing from the increased dose?
 
I'd give the dose a few more cycles to see what happens. It wasn't a huge jump from nadir to pre shot - just more than you are used to seeing.
 
Is your kitty eating the DM dry exclusively? Also, how much food does he get daily (every 24 hrs) --- and what does Catee weigh?

The truth is that Purina DM dry is 31% carbs (3 times more than the recommended 10% carbs or less). (The dm canned is only 3% carbs, however.) The DM dry formula is WAY too high-carb to feed a diabetic cat! If Catee is a dry food addict and absolutely refuses to eat low-carb canned, you really do need to transition* him to either the EVO or Young Again dry, either of which is much, much lower in carbohydrate content. *(Can't do that too suddenly, as a low-carb diet can drop his BG # considerably & may require a dosage decrease as a result. I would recommend doing 75% current food/25% new food for a few days, then 50/50 for a few days, then 25/75 & finally 100% new.)

A diet of less than 10% carbs is an essential part of treatment for diabetes; I have to wonder whether his current diet is part of the reason that you're not seeing Catee's #s #s come down much.
 
PMPS 247 Relion meter. I will keep giving him 0.06 units another day or so. Just get concerned when I see the Relion meter going over 200.
 
Robin, he weighs about 14 lbs and yes is only eating Pruina DM Dry, 4 ounces of food a day. He has been on it since he went off remission in 2014. Prior to that he went into remission with Young Again Zero Carb food. They changed the shape slightly and he quit eating it. I've tried EVO as well, I believe there is something with the shape, too big, I don't know. From my research Purina DM is about 18% to 20% carbs.

Yes I know it is higher but he was doing quite well on it until recently his numbers have started going back up.

He has had alot food issues in the past. About 5 years ago he quit eating and nearly died. So if he will only eat Purina DM then that is what I will give him. I occasionally will try to get him over to the lower carb food as he will have days when he will stop eating Purina DM.

So I am just doing the best I can for him.
 
Robin, he weighs about 14 lbs and yes is only eating Pruina DM Dry, 4 ounces of food a day. He has been on it since he went off remission in 2014. Prior to that he went into remission with Young Again Zero Carb food. They changed the shape slightly and he quit eating it. I've tried EVO as well, I believe there is something with the shape, too big, I don't know. From my research Purina DM is about 18% to 20% carbs. Yes I know it is higher but he was doing quite well on it until recently his numbers have started going back up.

He has had alot food issues in the past. About 5 years ago he quit eating and nearly died. So if he will only eat Purina DM then that is what I will give him. I occasionally will try to get him over to the lower carb food as he will have days when he will stop eating Purina DM.

So I am just doing the best I can for him.
Gee, didn't know you'd had such a rough time with him eating! The only other thing I can think of is to take him in for a dental exam/cleaning, if you hadn't done that recently? As untreated gingivitis can cause BG #s to be higher - and that's very treatable.
 
Absolutely, he has to eat. If that's what he eats, that's what he eats. I think it is worthwhile to try to find a lower carb food he'll eat (especially if he won't eat the DM sometimes!), but in the end, you feed him what he eats. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top