? Going away for about 36 hours- was ok now worried!

Mimis mom

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...o-vet-insisting-on-curve.265657/#post-2975041


hi everyone. So what I planned on doing was giving Mimi her normal doses I have a pet sitter coming, and right now she’s on 2.75+ because I was trying the reduce or increase smaller just to see because she sometimes doesn’t hold reductions well or doesn’t or sometimes increases are too much.
Tonight I went back down to 2.75 because of the fact that I’m going to not be able to get much testing done over the next day.
Her AMPS Was 140 and her +6 was 75. I had to run back to work so I just left her some high carb mixed with her regular raw formula.

Tonights PMPS Is 131.
My question is should I have been reducing her shot by now to drain the depot or what my plan was tomorrow was I’ll give her the morning shot before I leave and then the sitter at night will just skip her shot (fur shot) And resume the shot the following morning.
Or should I give her a small dose before I leave tomorrow so if she’s on 2.75 I can give her two units?
 
We usually suggest decreasing the dose a little if there's going to be a stranger in the house (or even if the cat knows them well, her routine is going to be different which could make her not eat normally) Also, if you have a catsitter doing shots, it's easier for them if the dose is on a line.

Will your sitter not do the shot or are you choosing to skip tomorrow night? I'd hate to see you lose too much momentum since she's starting to see some better numbers (when she stays out of the dog's food)

I'd give at least the 2U dose so you don't drain the depot too much.
 
We usually suggest decreasing the dose a little if there's going to be a stranger in the house (or even if the cat knows them well, her routine is going to be different which could make her not eat normally) Also, if you have a catsitter doing shots, it's easier for them if the dose is on a line.

Will your sitter not do the shot or are you choosing to skip tomorrow night? I'd hate to see you lose too much momentum since she's starting to see some better numbers (when she stays out of the dog's food)

I'd give at least the 2U dose so you don't drain the depot too much.
We usually suggest decreasing the dose a little if there's going to be a stranger in the house (or even if the cat knows them well, her routine is going to be different which could make her not eat normally) Also, if you have a catsitter doing shots, it's easier for them if the dose is on a line.

Will your sitter not do the shot or are you choosing to skip tomorrow night? I'd hate to see you lose too much momentum since she's starting to see some better numbers (when she stays out of the dog's food)

I'd give at least the 2U dose so you don't drain the depot too much.



So I gave her the 2.75 last night.
, should I do the same today if I plan on skipping the shot?
- I just felt like I want her to skip the shot so I don’t worry about her getting hypo at all. I am so nervous still leaving her for longer than 8 hours.
Another bigger reason is her shot time is way too late for the sitter- it’s at like 10:30 pm right now. That way when she comes in the morning to do the shot I’ll have her do it at a normal time (like 9 am/pm is what I’ve had her on before)
 
So I gave her the 2.75 last night.
, should I do the same today if I plan on skipping the shot?
- I just felt like I want her to skip the shot so I don’t worry about her getting hypo at all. I am so nervous still leaving her for longer than 8 hours.
Another bigger reason is her shot time is way too late for the sitter- it’s at like 10:30 pm right now. That way when she comes in the morning to do the shot I’ll have her do it at a normal time (like 9 am/pm is what I’ve had her on before)

I do not have answers, Rosa, but understand the angst. I need to figure out what to do, as well, as my daughter is getting married in the Fall and will keep me from being here at the normal shot time. I'll be 90 min away.

I'm not sure who else to tag besides @Bandit's Mom; in my experience, she really understands how to handle issues. I know there are others.
GBY & Mimi!!
 
Another bigger reason is her shot time is way too late for the sitter- it’s at like 10:30 pm right now. That way when she comes in the morning to do the shot I’ll have her do it at a normal time (like 9 am/pm is what I’ve had her on before)

That's a good reason to skip. I didn't know you were so far off schedule....and if it'll make you feel better being away from home, it should be fine.
 
Back
Top