Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Does anyone have any information/opinions on my sugar-boy's medical issues? Any help/opinions/insight/experience would surely be appreciated. I did put a call into the vet today and am waiting to hear back. At this point, we are waiting on test results. We are stretched to the limit and, although my vet suggested he may need an U/S, depending on test results, we just cannot afford it. Hopefully he gets better and that the symptoms last night/this morning were due to medication interactions... Thanks for any help :-D

Here's a link from today's condo in Lantus/Tight Regulation:

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92511&p=992714#p992714

Please also see his prior condo of 4/3 (link contained in post above)

Edit:
at 2:45 p.m., he seems better; hasn't used the LB, greeted me at the door, BG in 200s, ate some (but didn't gorge), soaking up sun on the enclosed back porch...At 4:00 p.m. he peed in the LB; it seems like when he peed, he got a little bit of it on himself at the bottom of his belly (right above peep)
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

Kat

So sorry Gobble is feeling poorly. I am not familiar at all with the medicines he is on. Just wanted to send you guys some well wishes and hopes that the Gobbles gets better soon.
Edit: Just looked up Tylan and it is used for colitis and chronic diarrhea, perhaps you could ask them to switch him to Metronidazole which will help the diarrhea, also an antibiotic. What is he taking the Tylan for?

Terri
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

From the Merck Veterinary Manual Online
Characteristics of Small-bowel and Large-bowel Diarrhea

This may give you some clues about where the problem lies. There's an entire section on GI issues that you might find useful to skim.

Pre-biotics and pro-biotics may be helpful - ex FortiFlora.
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

BJM said:
From the Merck Veterinary Manual Online
Characteristics of Small-bowel and Large-bowel Diarrhea

This may give you some clues about where the problem lies. There's an entire section on GI issues that you might find useful to skim.

Pre-biotics and pro-biotics may be helpful - ex FortiFlora.
Thank you for the link!!! I looked it over and he definitely has most of the small bowel symptoms. I started him on Pearls because he absolutely hates forti-flora and can detect it in anything. I wish I could run drug interactions on tylan, mometamax & cypro but it can't be done with a regular "drug interactions" online; the tylan & mometamax don't show up, probably because they're "pet" drugs....I went to the vet's today to drop off the fecal; I talked to the tech there (the doc was in surgery) and the doc is supposed to call me some time soon....I withheld his Tylan and Cypro for now; would of liked to give him his Tylan at 11 am when it was due, but am waiting on doc to see what he thinks....
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

terri1962 said:
What is he taking the Tylan for?
He is taking the Tylan for diarrhea. He was on the Metrozinadole, but the vet suspended that last Thursday. Thanks so much!
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

Is there any chance he's been outside, or that a flea found its way in?
If yes, have you checked the fecal for tapeworms (carried via flea!)?
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

BJM said:
Is there any chance he's been outside, or that a flea found its way in?
If yes, have you checked the fecal for tapeworms (carried via flea!)?
Although not technically outside, he does go out to our enclosed back porch (he never goes literally outside, though). He is treated for fleas, however, he had a few fleas last month and is allergic to them (I had forgotten to give him his dose before the last one in 30 days--it was actually 35 days)... I do examine the poo--it is a runny dark mustard color (maybe closer to brown mustard); not terribly smelling, but smelly nonetheless...
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

Poor baby! I hope Gobbles feels better soon.
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

hi Kat

can't remember if you've tried him on a raw diet?
When Minkie had bad diarrhea - we had pretty much every test run and everything was negative.
To be honest, I gave up... of course he's a civie so a little easier to do that.

I cut out beef products completely but he does still have short periods of diarrhea (possible getting into 1 of the other cat's beef foods) and then I give him raw food only for a few days (I use a pre-mix) - it really helps him.
The vet wanted me to put him on boiled chicken (he hates) and prescription food ( :sad: ) - I think the raw turkey thigh is much better.
* I do mix in a little fish-flavoured cat food as otherwise he won't eat it (he's the fishy one!)

Hope vet report is good!

Denise
 
Re: Gobbles - diarrhea; new meds seem to have made it worse

Denise & Honey said:
hi Kat

can't remember if you've tried him on a raw diet?
When Minkie had bad diarrhea - we had pretty much every test run and everything was negative.
To be honest, I gave up... of course he's a civie so a little easier to do that.

I cut out beef products completely but he does still have short periods of diarrhea (possible getting into 1 of the other cat's beef foods) and then I give him raw food only for a few days (I use a pre-mix) - it really helps him.
The vet wanted me to put him on boiled chicken (he hates) and prescription food ( :sad: ) - I think the raw turkey thigh is much better.
* I do mix in a little fish-flavoured cat food as otherwise he won't eat it (he's the fishy one!)

Hope vet report is good!

Denise
I am near my wit's end here...waiting on a call from the vet and his lab results (fecal will take a few days extra). He would gorge himself on steak if I let him (and did the other day; he wouldn't eat so I got him a filet mignon). I tried the raw chicken petfood--he snubs it. He probably would eat raw chicken though. I'll lay out a piece of it and let it thaw (I've got natural skinless, boneless chicken tenders in the freezer). At this point, I'm willing to try most anything!!! Oh, and he would probably eat raw turkey--I can get that at the store tomorrow...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top