goals for Asher

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Hi kids:
What a lazy weekend for us! Today the beans and kitties seem to move from one snoozing venue to the next. Asher is asleep in bed again and Alby is on Tom’s lap helping him play Xbox. I guess we are catching up from this crazy week. And I had planned to get some work done today. Silly me.

I would say the kitties were back to 100% by Saturday. (Dental was Thurs) Everyone is eating normal amounts and I have to police Asher from scarfing down his brothers food. Birding and looking for Mr. Squirrel at the window? Check. Sparring with our brother and blasting up and down the stairs? Check. Situation: normal.

So now that we’ve gone over the dental hurdle, and they have been given a clean bill of health from the vet, I would say my short term goals are to get Asher back to Preshoots in the 200s and nadirs in the 100s. Haven’t seen Mr. Blue in awhile.
Longer term would be to go lower mid day and see some green.

Right now we are on our third cycle of 1.8 units. We crept up gradually to this after the dental just to be safe since I didn’t know what the anesthesia and pain meds would do.

So I am thinking of raising him again. Right now it looks like we are in that mid 200’s thing all day long with little or no curve.

Should I just go up to 2 units or are there any other thoughts out there? Spread sheet is current. We are pretty much working at home this week so we’d be here to test whenever.

Thanks guys. We appreciate it muchly. :mrgreen:
 
I think you can get a little agressive. You know your cat, you are going to be around and you know what to do if he would dip low. I'd said 2 units and see if we can get some of those pretty blues and greens. If not, then .2.25 in a few cycles. Ready to go for it?
 
I am ready Sue! We will up him to 2 units tonight and take it from there. Unless Asher has other plans ;) Shhhhhh! Don’t tell him ;)
 
Well, Monday didn’t start out with a great number. We upped Asher to 2 units last night and this morning we woke up to a 348 amps :(

I think what happened was I left food out overnight since we raised his dose and both cats ate less last night for supper. Asher came to me at 5am and I thought he was gonna bug me for food but he didn’t. Then when we got up at 6, our usual time, I go downstairs and all the food was gone. I think Mr. Hoover had and early morning snack. Only thing I can figure out.

I shot 2 units again this morning and will get some mid cycle numbers today.
 
Yes, could be the food. Did you get an automatic feeder? You can set it to go off with food at the time you want them to eat, and then to move to an empty slot at the time you want no food available.
 
No I didn’t get a feeder yet, we were doing ok without it but I think I will put it on my errand list today. I just can’t count on him hoovering at a bad time.
 
Be sure to get one that moves from one section to another so it closes up the one when you don't want him to eat. I have the PetSafe5 from PetSmart. It is kind of expensive, but it works great and is the only one my cats can't break into.
 
Ok Thanks for the info Sue. I will check it out. I think the ones I saw at that store were around 60 bucks or so. Asher is determined so I have to be aware of the breaking in factor too :) I’ll letcha know how I make out.
:mrgreen:
 
Glad Asher is recovering well from the dental and back to his oh so cute self. Paws crossed for good #'s today.
 
Got the pet safe 5 today. Will read up on how to work it.

Numbers sizzuck today on the 2 units. Amps 348, +4 298, +6.5 226, +8.5 242.

What would you guys do? Would it be good to stay with 2 units another cycle or do I increase? (He was at 2.4 before the dental)
 
Why not wait and decide based on the PS? although you don't like those numbers, he is moving down from the AMPS. It would be interesting to see if the PMPS is lower than the AMPS. If it isn't, then maybe that gives weight to an increase.
 
I guess I kinda figured the pmps would not be low, that’s why I asked.

We got a 283 for pmps.

We are going to 2.2 for tonight and see what happens.

Any suggestions out there are warmly appreciated :)
 
It may take a few days still before things settle out from the dental, especially if he is on meds still from that. Looks like you have a handle on things, though I'm sure you are ready for some blue-green action. :)
 
This morning we had amps of 313. Shot 2.2 again. I think we need to keep this dose for another cycle or so to see what is happening.
I am way ready for some blue green action :mrgreen:
 
Sounds like a good plan. Blue/green would be lovely. Patience is hard, but like Joanna said--give it a few days to let everything post dental settle in, and maybe we'll be celebrating with you!
 
So is this a time when I should hang tight and be patient and stick with the dose of 2.2, or do I raise to 2.4 tonight?

Amps 313 and +7 275 on 2.2 units (second cycle)...

I hate having him in these high numbers but don’t know if anything is still settling out with the dental. He is off all drugs now and has been since Sunday. He is eating normally and being policed that he doesn’t make a piggy of himself ;)

Peeing Pooping Purring Preening all normal. Napping too I-)
 
You are not seeing much movement and you are around to test. I would up it by .25. Disappointing. Thought we might see a real change with the dental. What I do think I see is a more understandable pattern? Not so variable?
 
Maybe I’ve stared at his chart too long but the only thing I see pattern-wise is that he doesn’t seem to have a real nadir yet?
And really it was kind of that way before his dental too, mid to high 200s flat with preshoots higher than we’d like.
Am I being too critical ? :shock:

We’ll move to 2.5 tonight and see where that path leads.

Thanks so much for your ear and suggestions!!!!
 
I didn't mean hold off on any needed dose changes, just meant things might be wonky for a while. I think Bix ran high for at least a week post dental. I'd recommend shooting more insulin though to compensate, and just be on the lookout for any drop in #s after a little bit. (Hopefully!).
 
Thanks Joanna. We’ll be testing and keeping an eye on him. I just never know with this guy ;-)
Fingers and pink kitty toes crossed for better numbers ahead :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top