Glucose not changing - vet wants to go back to D/M

Status
Not open for further replies.

andiecu

Member Since 2012
Miles has been receiving Lantus insulin shots for just over a month now. Every two weeks, we've increased the dose by a unit, with the vets permission, and he is up to 4 units. Unfortunately, we haven't seen any improvement in his glucose levels with them consistently remaining in the high 300s and low 400s. During our last call, the vet mentioned that she wants to discuss going back onto the Purina D/M food if his numbers don't go down. He currently eats Evo canned food. Does anyone have any thoughts regarding this? I'm really looking for any advice (i.e. higher insulin dose; studies on cat food; suggestions for changing his diet, his insulin, anything). Overall, Miles seems to be OK despite the high glucose numbers.

Thanks for any help/suggestions you may have.
Andie
 
Andie,

I know your vet wants you to go back on DM, but please ask him "why?". Ask him what exactly it is about it that he believes is the best thing for a diabetic cat to eat? It doesn't have any super special ingredient that makes it good for diabetics. It's just lower carb (assuming it's the canned and not the dry) food. The ingredients are no higher quality than most store brands, and probably not as good as the EVO in fact. Purina markets it to vets as "diabetic" like it's some sort of magic bullet, but it isn't. It's way too expensive for what you get.

Is the EVO canned you use low carb? That's what matters. It isn't likely that EVO contains more carbs than DM does. I'd have to look on Dr. Lisa's charts, but I'd need to know which flavors of EVO you're using.

If your vet actually does have good reasons, then please share them with us. Because it will be news to us, and it might help another cat or many cats.

The numbers you listed.... are those your numbers or the vets numbers? Are they preshot numbers, mid-cycle numbers, nadir numbers? If they are just the results of the preshot tests, they aren't telling you what the Lantus is actually doing for Miles. Lantus dosing is based on nadir numbers, not preshot numbers. Without those, you can't figure out if the dose is too high or too low. It could very well be that 4u is too much, and it's forcing his BG down in the middle of the cycle, and then that drop in BG during the days and nights are pushing the numbers right back up by the time the next shot rolls around.

Do you know how much experience your vet has with Lantus? Or with Feline Diabetes in general? Have any of his clients had their cats go into remission? It generally sounds like your vet isn't up on current diabetes treatment, other than that he seems to know a good insulin for treating it. I'm just not so sure he knows how to use it.

Carl
 
It looks like you are doing a great job of getting preshot tests. Now you need to move to the next 'care level' and get some in between tests. The ideal test time is mid-cycle, but due to work and other life events it is not always possible to get a +6 every day. However any tests that you are able to get will help a lot with seeing th epicture of how the insulin is truly working for Miles. For example, if you can get a test just b4 you leave for work and then again the minute that you come home again, that would give you a hint of how low he went in mid-cycle. On weekends perhaps you are home and could get a test every hour or 2 during the 12 hour cycle. Another good time is just before ed - usually a few hours after the shot.

The EVO food looks to be quite low in carbs and should be fine. I agree with Bob that returning to DM simply b/c of the high numbers is not necessary. I do wonder, though, what your feeding schedule is. Do you feed several small meals through the day? To do this you can use a timed feeder of ever freeze some food and put it out. Most cats will nibble at the frozen food as it thaws.

I am also curious about how the vet decided to raise the dose. Did you take Miles in for a curve? If so, these numbers are notoriously high due to stress.

If you can get a few between shot numbers in the next few days, please post those numbers. It will help immensely to interpret whether or not your insulin dose is too low or too high.
 
andiecu said:
Miles has been receiving Lantus insulin shots for just over a month now. Every two weeks, we've increased the dose by a unit, with the vets permission, and he is up to 4 units. Unfortunately, we haven't seen any improvement in his glucose levels with them consistently remaining in the high 300s and low 400s. During our last call, the vet mentioned that she wants to discuss going back onto the Purina D/M food if his numbers don't go down. He currently eats Evo canned food. Does anyone have any thoughts regarding this? I'm really looking for any advice (i.e. higher insulin dose; studies on cat food; suggestions for changing his diet, his insulin, anything). Overall, Miles seems to be OK despite the high glucose numbers.

Thanks for any help/suggestions you may have.
Andie

Hi Andie,
First, I'll comment on the food business. Stick with the EVO; it is a much better food choice than the D/M that the vet is 'pushing'.... D/M is a lousy food. It is helpful to more level numbers if you can feed more frequent but smaller meals; many people use auto-feeders set to open at times when the owners may be away from home. If you want some other food options, check for foods under 10%carbs on this list:
http://www.catinfo.org/docs/Food%20Char ... -22-12.pdf

Next, I will say that it's great you are testing before shots, and that's fine for some insulins, but not enough for Lantus or Levemir.... you want to base your dosing on the LOWEST point in cycles, not on the pre-shot numbers.
What's happening between the two shots? Are the numbers staying high and pretty much flat, or are they dropping very low and then bouncing high again by the time of the next shot? Depending on what's happening mid-cycle, you will adjust your dose.

If the 12hr cycle is all high and flat numbers, you may need to increase the dose, but if the numbers dip low, under 100 and then bounce back up, you may want to drop the dose a bit. You want to see a bit of a curve lower at some point between 2 shots. I know that others may say that the 2u was too high of a starting dose, and that you should cut right back to 1u shots to confirm no toxicity is present, but I would not say to cut back until you know what's going on between shots.

If possible, pick a day where you can test every 2hrs between two shots and then into the next cycle for a couple tests..... that way you will see where your cat is going with the numbers and how well or poorly the insulin is working. At that point, you can figure out what to do with dosing.
 
Thank you all for the information. All of this is exactly what I was looking for but didn't know it until you told me. I will try to answer all your questions here but please let me if I missed any. There were a few repeat questions so I just used the first time it was asked.

Deanie and Boo (GA) said:
You only have preshot levels listed. What are you basing your dose changes on?
The vet is making the decision to change the dose based on the pre-shot levels on the chart (I gave them a link so they can look at it whenever they want).

Carl & Bob said:
are those your numbers or the vets numbers? Are they preshot numbers, mid-cycle numbers, nadir numbers?
We do all the testing at home, and they are pre-shot. I was unaware of the need to do a curve to test to true effects of Lantus. The vet thought we should wait until Miles numbers were regulated. Because of your help, I'm going to run a curve today, hopefully every two hours.

Carl & Bob said:
I know your vet wants you to go back on DM, but please ask him "why?"
My husband asked when we first changed foods. First of all, we decided to change to wet food because of all the information on this site. The vet doesn't seem to think dry or wet matters, as long as it's D/M. Secondly, regarding "why" D/M is so much better, her answer was that "they have found the perfect blend of carbs and protein", but didn't seem to have any other answer. To me, it seems like the Purina rep has convinced her it is the only way to truly help your cat. If she continues to insist, we will require more information than that though.

Carl & Bob said:
Is the EVO canned you use low carb?
Yes. We selected EVO for now because all their canned varieties are very low in carbs. We have been feeding him "Cat & Kitten - Chicken & Turkey" and "Turkey & Chicken".

Just-As-Appy said:
what your feeding schedule is. Do you feed several small meals through the day?
We feed Miles twice/day at 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. I'm a stay-at-home mom so smaller meals throughout the day isn't out of the question. Is that a better method for treating him?

Carl & Bob said:
Do you know how much experience your vet has with Lantus? Or with Feline Diabetes in general? Have any of his clients had their cats go into remission?
The vet seems to be comfortable with feline diabetes since they have a few other sugar kitties they treat, including the cat of one of the vet-techs. She mentioned a few cats have gone into remission but she seems pretty confident that it will only happen if the cat is eating D/M. Not only is she uncomfortable with us feeding Miles a non-D/M food, but she is quite uncomfortable with us using a "human" glucose meter instead of the feline model. Despite her obvious "brain-washing", we are still comfortable with our vet treating Miles because she is allowing us to push her out of her comfort zone for treating a sugar kitty. I'm really hoping Miles can show her Purina D/M and feline glucose meters aren't the only options. We wouldn't be able to do this without this forum. Thanks again for all your help!
 
Andie,
On the feeding schedule... yes, many people see positive results from feeding smaller portions more frequently. My cat, Bob was fed four times a day when he was on insulin, and it seemed to work well. It spreads the "carb-boost" from food more evenly, and it can help keep the BGs more consistent.

Sounds like you are comfortable with the vet, and that is important. A vet that will work with you is a plus. As far as the attachment to DM.... I've only been here about a year and a half. But I've seen dozens of cats go "off the juice". Of those, I'd have to guess 99% of them didn't eat prescription food. There MAY have been one or two that used DM canned. So while your vet's experience might show results from DM, it might have more to do with what the other cats were eating - whether it was low carb or not, or maybe they ate dry food? - than with the fact that DM works. It IS low carb, but it's no better than Friskees or Walmart Special Kitty, and probably a notch or two below the EVO from a quality perspective.

Carl
 
andiecu said:
The vet is making the decision to change the dose based on the pre-shot levels on the chart (I gave them a link so they can look at it whenever they want).

Lantus is dosed based on a daily nadir value, not the preshots. Here is a link to the Lantus dosing protocol for you to print and give to your vet: http://www.uq.edu.au/ccah/docs/diabetesinfo/link4.pdf (There's a more user friendly version that we use on the boards here).

With Lantus, you need to test at least 3 times a day--once before each shot to make sure it's safe to give insulin, like you've been doing, and then a third test about halfway through either cycle. That third value will show you how the insulin is working. Of course, you can always test more than that because any tests you can get will help you piece things together, but those are the minimum number of daily tests, preferably with a curve once a week.

andiecu said:
My husband asked when we first changed foods. First of all, we decided to change to wet food because of all the information on this site. The vet doesn't seem to think dry or wet matters, as long as it's D/M. Secondly, regarding "why" D/M is so much better, her answer was that "they have found the perfect blend of carbs and protein", but didn't seem to have any other answer. To me, it seems like the Purina rep has convinced her it is the only way to truly help your cat. If she continues to insist, we will require more information than that though.

Here is a link to the American Animal Hospital Association diabetes guidelines, and I've also attached an article on how to safely and effectively use Lantus to treat diabetes in cats. Both documents discuss that a low carb, canned diet is needed. I would print these as well for your vet. I would also direct your vet to http://www.catinfo.org, which explains why prescription diets are unnecessary, and has a nutrition chart with the protein/carb/fat values of many commercial cat foods in the bar on the right hand side of the page. Purina DM canned isn't a bad food for diabetics at 3% carbs (it's the only prescription food that is suitable for a diabetic)--but it's WAY overpriced for what you're getting. As you discovered, you can get a better quality low carb food like EVO for less than what you're paying for DM. If you look at the ingredients:

Liver, poultry by-products, meat by-products, water sufficient for processing, chicken, salmon, oat fiber, salmon meal, guar gum, potassium chloride, carrageenan, salt, Vitamin E supplement, calcium phosphate, taurine, thiamine mononitrate, zinc sulfate, ferrous sulfate, niacin, calcium pantothenate, copper sulfate, Vitamin A supplement, manganese sulfate, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, biotin, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, potassium iodide. I-4573

It's nearly the exact same thing as Fancy Feast Liver and Chicken, also made by Purina, so all you're doing is paying a huge markup for the prescription label:

Liver, meat broth, meat by-products, chicken, poultry by-products, artificial and natural flavors, calcium phosphate, guar gum, potassium chloride, taurine, salt, magnesium sulfate, zinc sulfate, thiamine mononitrate, Vitamin E supplement, ferrous sulfate, niacin, manganese sulfate, calcium pantothenate, Vitamin A supplement, copper sulfate, menadione sodium bisulfite complex (source of Vitamin K activity), pyridoxine hydrochloride, riboflavin supplement, Vitamin B-12 supplement, biotin, folic acid, Vitamin D-3 supplement, potassium iodide.

The dry DM contains soy flour and the highly glycemic corn gluten meal, two ingredients a diabetic cat should never have, and is too high in carbs. Also, a diabetic should not eat dry food because it dehydrates cats, and dehydration is one of the ingredients for a deadly complication of diabetes called diabetic ketoacidosis.

andiecu said:
We feed Miles twice/day at 8:00 am and 8:00 pm. I'm a stay-at-home mom so smaller meals throughout the day isn't out of the question. Is that a better method for treating him?

Cats have metabolisms twice as fast as people or dogs, so it's best if you feed them (and especially diabetics) at least 4 times a day, or more if you choose. I feed Bandit every 6 hours, and I work two jobs, so when I'm not home or want to sleep in on the weekends I freeze his portion of food and put it in an auto-feeder to go off at his scheduled meal time. I also always wanted to make sure he had food available during the day when I was at work at his usual nadir (lowest point of the cycle, about 6 hours after the shot) in case his BG dipped a little too low--low carb food will give a nice small, natural boost to BG that wears off in just a couple hours.

andiecu said:
he is quite uncomfortable with us using a "human" glucose meter instead of the feline model. Despite her obvious "brain-washing", we are still comfortable with our vet treating Miles because she is allowing us to push her out of her comfort zone for treating a sugar kitty. I'm really hoping Miles can show her Purina D/M and feline glucose meters aren't the only options.
I would show him both the study I attached and the Lantus protocol I linked to up top--both of these speak to using either human or pet meters, with human meters being the preferred choice because of the availability and price. It makes no difference which you use in terms of the protocol--if you look, the first part of it is written for human meters, and the second part is adjusted for pet meters. All you do is change your target ranges--so 50-120 is normal BG on a human meter, and 80-150 normal on a pet meter. It is far more important that you be able to afford to test as frequently as you need to (at least 3 times a day). Not that I'm questioning your vet's priorities, but I would like to point out that his office makes money selling you both the DM and the Alpahtrak meter and strips, so he does have a financial motivation to convince you that you need these things. However, I don't want that to sound like I'm badmouthing your vet, because he may not be doing it consciously because both the meter and food reps are very aggressive in convincing vets these things are necessary, and your vet has you started out in a much better place than many new people who show up here (good insulin, home testing, low carb food).
 

Attachments

I'd emphasize a couple of the points that others made. My vet was a big fan of the prescription foods. We had a heart-to-heart after I did my homework here and on Dr. Lisa's site on feline nutrition. I pointed out that I could feed a human grade, high quality food that was lower in carbs for less cost than a prescription diet. There wasn't much she could say.

I spend most of my time on the Lantus Board. I can't think of anyone who has stuck with feeding their cat DM. We've seen a lot of cats go OTJ. In fact, since 2008, there have been 234 Lantus kitties who have gone into remission. I don't think any of them have been eating DM.

Julia linked a number of key documents about Lantus and it's use. What I don't think anyone mentioned is that your vet has been suggesting what we would consider large increases in dose. With the dosing protocol that Julia linked, you'll notice that doses are increased in 0.25u to 0.5u amounts. Increasing your cat's dose by 1.0u means that you could easily miss what could be an effective dose. As others have noted, Lantus doses are adjusted based on the lowest numbers in the cycle. That doesn't mean you need to be testing every hour but it does mean that getting your pre-shot tests like you've been doing, and getting spot checks when you can will give you far better control and knowledge about how the insulin is working.

If you've not seen the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Lantus Board, they contain a great deal of information you may find useful. The notes include the following:
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal version -- the “Tilly” Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany, which was also published by Kirsten Roomp & Jacqui Rand, DVM in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top