glucose meters

Status
Not open for further replies.

3cats

Member
Does anyone know if there is a meter that reads numbers over 600 (vs. showing "hi" for anything >600)?
 
3cats said:
Does anyone know if there is a meter that reads numbers over 600 (vs. showing "hi" for anything >600)?

if I see HI on a meter that says max read is 600, I would not want to know how much higher but would want to get it down asap.
 
Obviously I want to get the #s lower - but unfortunately, wanting doesn't equal accomplishing. Since it's consistently registering >600, I'd like to at least know how high and if the #'s are moving any with dose changes, etc.
 
3cats said:
Obviously I want to get the #s lower - but unfortunately, wanting doesn't equal accomplishing. Since it's consistently registering >600, I'd like to at least know how high and if the #'s are moving any with dose changes, etc.

No matter at what level the numbers are, a curve showing all flat numbers, especially in the 600 range, I would first check with the vet that there is no raging infection happening, or some bad oral issues.
Then you could consider ruling out too much insulin by dropping down to 1u or 1.5u BID, provided that all dry food has been eliminated.

One of my cats will climb a couple hundred into high 400s even, if she gets so much as 2 pieces of dry food/treats. She just can't handle carbs.

Rule out illness, high carb foods, then too much insulin.
Any time with constantly high BG numbers, you want to be testing for ketones daily.

If you drop back to 1u or 1.5u and hold each dose for 2days, increasing by .5u, you will know in a week if the dose was too high.

Knowing how much higher the actually numbers are will not help you in the treatment.
 
I saw an ad in a magazine for the AlphaTrak bg meter. The picture showed the meter with a bg reading of 714. It looked like the actual reading, not a Photoshopped-in number. For Human bg meters, I think the max it reads up to is 600. Anythng over that just shows up as High.

Buying the AlphaTrak isn't needed unless you really don't mind spending the $$$ to buy the test strips and not be able to buy them in a pharmacy like you can with a Human bg meter.
 
3cats said:
Does anyone know if there is a meter that reads numbers over 600 (vs. showing "hi" for anything >600)?

FYi, even most laboratory equipment doesn't read that high. For samples over the 600-700 range, the samples generally will need to be diluted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top