Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10/11]

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Glucose Meters: WOW, is this confusing to a newbie

WOW, this gets confusing. The Alpha Trak is unaffordable in IMHO. But, I am really confused about the numbers and how reliable they are using a human glucometer. I see the chart illustrations BJM posted and I do understand them. Are these available elsewhere? Is there something to download to have on hand? When I read that human meters are [moderator removed incorrect information] and the there is a +/- 20% meter variability I really question how reliable the numbers are. I am an RN so I believe I should understand this better than I do at present, or at least have a better grip on the information. :? Maybe I am just overthinking it all. For now I will reference the info that BJM posted (thank you BJM) and see how I get along. Any advice? I am new to this. My baby was diagnosed 3 weeks ago and we are presently using prozinc 2x daily. I must begin home testing and get him regulated!
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

Google Docs will let you save the file to your Google account or to your PC, in a variety of formats.

These meters are considered good enough for human home monitoring per the FDA.

You look for trends, not specific digits, and use 1 meter so you get the knack of working with it.

Also, you can use the Secondary Monitoring Tools in my signature link. Dehydration checks, behavior, etc, round out your assessment of how your diabetic is doing. And, if you are testing and getting good numbers, while seeing out of normal behaviors or symptoms, remember that more than 1 thing can be wrong at a time. You've probably detected a few things as a nurse when something just wasn't right.
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

Thank you so much! I bought the Reli on prime and we tested today at nadir for the first time. My little guy never eveb flinched. The process was a breeze. BG was 45. I was pretty happy with that as we have only been at this for 3 weeks and at the vet his numbers were terribly high and he was very stressed. Will test again today and begin looking for trends. Behavior back to normal and polydipsia and polyuria have ceased. Now in a quandry as what to do as I must be gone for 48 hours later in the week. Any suggestions? Would one injection a day be better than none if I can arrange it? I can board him if absolutely necessary, but he is sooo unhappy there and he is 16 yrs old. But, he looks wonderful!
 

Attachments

  • in my basket_edited.jpg
    in my basket_edited.jpg
    143.1 KB · Views: 330
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

When was that glucose test taken with respect to the insulin shot?
A bg of 45 earns a reduction of 0.25 units in most cases.

Got a spreadsheet?
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

The 45 was at nadir and he is on pro zinc. (Will switch to Lantus but for now want to stick with what we started with and maybe get this regulated.) Now at 12 hr time for next dose I get a 77. He has been hungrier today than usual. Think I will cut that .25 this dose and see what we get next. Thanks again for all the help and advice.
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

Do not give insulin at 77!

What is your current dose? For new members, we recommend to not give a shot on numbers under 200, but to stall and see if the number is "rising." With a depot insulin (like Lantus or Levemir), once you have more experience and you know how your cat reacts, you might shoot low pre-shots like that 77, but with ProZinc, you do NOT want to do this. Here is the ProZinc Protocol that should help explain better how ProZinc works.
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

prairiecat said:
...Now at 12 hr time for next dose I get a 77. ...

NO SHOT ... TOO LOW

If below 200, please refrain from giving ProZinc, for safety.
 
Re: Glucose Meters: Consumer Report Ratings/Spreadsheet [10

Question! At 13 hours post injection we are at 85. I will wait and recheck. He has had his supper. I also decreased last dose .25. Spreadsheet in the process.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top