Glucose levels

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charlotte&Brioche

Member Since 2023
So sorry for all of the posts, I just do not have a lot of guidance atm.

When I initially took brioche to the vet his bg was around 500, and we got it down to 400 with diet. We started insulin a few days ago and he’s consistently been at 400. Im not sure if I’m doing anything wrong or if this is somewhat normal with cats?

part of me is anxious because there’s a chance he’s been untreated for a long time, since he was previously a stray.
 
Here is your first post foe continuity https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ting-a-cat-with-diabetes.276896/#post-3067448
It would be really helpful if you could set up the signature which only takes a couple of minutes and will tell us about Brioch.
You will find how to do this here Help us help you
Also if you could set up the spreadsheet and add the data you are collecting from the freestyle libre. If you can’t do it I can get someone to help you, so just let us know.
Can you tell us what you are now feeding him?
Are you feeding 30 minutes before the insulin shot?
Also I would give snacks during the first half of all the cycles…say at +2 and +4 and +6.
Insulin is a hormone and sometimes it can take time to work.
If we could see your data, we could help you.
What dose are you giving at the moment?
 
Most of our cats were untreated for some period of time. It's more the case that we begin to notice something is "off" and the cat has been diabetic. It's less common for a caregiver to go to the vet for a routine check-up only to find out their cat is diabetic.

The best way for us to be able to help you and/or answer your questions is if you set up a spreadsheet as Bron suggested. The information on setting up a spreadsheet and your signature is in this post. I'm also tagging one of our members who can help you get this set up if you need assistance. @Bandit's Mom
 
Here is your first post foe continuity https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...ting-a-cat-with-diabetes.276896/#post-3067448
It would be really helpful if you could set up the signature which only takes a couple of minutes and will tell us about Brioch.
You will find how to do this here Help us help you
Also if you could set up the spreadsheet and add the data you are collecting from the freestyle libre. If you can’t do it I can get someone to help you, so just let us know.
Can you tell us what you are now feeding him?
Are you feeding 30 minutes before the insulin shot?
Also I would give snacks during the first half of all the cycles…say at +2 and +4 and +6.
Insulin is a hormone and sometimes it can take time to work.
If we could see your data, we could help you.
What dose are you giving at the moment?
I got ahold of the vet and she has increased his dose, I am feeding him 30 mins prior to the shot. He was on 2 units but is going up to 3. Should I be asking all questions on the same thread?
 
I got ahold of the vet and she has increased his dose, I am feeding him 30 mins prior to the shot. He was on 2 units but is going up to 3. Should I be asking all questions on the same thread?
We increase by .25 units at a time. Please don't give 3units, as stated above, we need you to get your signature & spreadsheet up. Please check your notifications to see your replies to your questions.
 
Especially if you're using Vetsulin, I would proceed cautiously with a dose increase. Vetsulin is a harsh, fast acting insulin. If this were my cat, I would increase slowly and in 0.25u increments so you can be sure that Brioche is in safe numbers.
 
I agree with Sienne. Increasing from 2 to 3 units is too much. I would get the spreadsheet set up first, add the data and then have a look to see if an increase is needed. We can help you with that.
 
Hey all, his second libre fell off so I ran to the store and grabbed a relion premium monitor to test him myself. Im struggling quite a bit to get blood from him, even when I do get some it’s not nearly enough. He’s starting to get irritated with me and I’m starting to get frustrated because I just want to be able to know where he’s at. I know this is a common issue but I didn’t know if anyone had tips for a cat that may still be adjusting.


Also, started a spreadsheet and updated my signature.
 
Well done setting up the spreadsheet and signature...very helpful.
Hometesting hints and links... have a look at this link which has information and further links for you to look at and help you with hometesting.
It is hard the first few days but you will get there.
Make sure you warm the ear, milk it towards the tip and reward Brioche every time, even if it is not successful.
Have a look at the illustrations to see where is the best place to prick.
Have a cotton ball or a tissue to hold behind the ear when you prick it.
 
Hello all. Is anyone able to link information about SLGS vs TR dosing methods? I have been searching on the forum and cant find the information I found previously.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top