Glucose levels dropping a lot

Status
Not open for further replies.
All things considered, Bet is looking good. He will be fine until tonight. :)

Bet's glucose test at 9pm CST tonight was 101. Because of that level, I did not give him a shot. He had eaten 3 hours earlier. I hope I made the right decision. It took three tries to get the sample! He has been feeling really good for the last few days - much more active than he's been for months. Running around like a maniac and jumping from the floor to the top of the cat tree, which I have not seen him do for a very long time. Washing himself and his fur is soft again.

I was sold the wrong kind of syringes again in spite of having written down what Chris & China said and having given that to the pharmacist tech. The packaging even said....almost all of their verbiage. But, they were 100 unit syringes and had no half-unit markings, which I did not see until I got home. Urg. Try, try again. I think this time I'll take my laptop to show them the photo Chris & China provided, as I recently did with something else I had to buy there. At this rate I'm beginning to wonder if I should get the Lantus pen refill. I guess so...

So....any suggestions as to what to do about Bet if these readings continue? I'll guess if they continue under 150 I should not shoot at all. I resume testing tomorrow. Thanks to all for your help.
Kathy Einwich
 
I was sold the wrong kind of syringes again in spite of having written down what Chris & China said and having given that to the pharmacist tech

That's why I send the picture.....the people at WalMart are mostly idiots and they don't know their own products. If you get the exact ones I pictured, they WILL have half unit markings....no matter what they might tell you.

You want 3/10ml, 6mm, 31 gauge insulin syringes.

I'll guess if they continue under 150 I should not shoot at all

Once you have the right syringes, if he has a Pre-shot under 150, then you want to stall, don't feed and post for help. Make sure your subject line says something like "STALLING, NEED HELP" so someone notices quickly. Test again in 20-30 minutes and see if the number comes up without the influence of food.

He has been feeling really good for the last few days - much more active than he's been for months. Running around like a maniac and jumping from the floor to the top of the cat tree, which I have not seen him do for a very long time. Washing himself and his fur is soft again.

WOO HOO!! Isn't it wonderful??? Feeding a low carb, canned diet does great things!!
 
That's why I send the picture.....the people at WalMart are mostly idiots and they don't know their own products. If you get the exact ones I pictured, they WILL have half unit markings....no matter what they might tell you.

You want 3/10ml, 6mm, 31 gauge insulin syringes.


Once you have the right syringes, if he has a Pre-shot under 150, then you want to stall, don't feed and post for help. Make sure your subject line says something like "STALLING, NEED HELP" so someone notices quickly. Test again in 20-30 minutes and see if the number comes up without the influence of food.


WOO HOO!! Isn't it wonderful??? Feeding a low carb, canned diet does great things!!

The verbiage you quote about the syringes, above, is exactly what I wrote down but what I got....geez. A picture is worth a thousand words. At least I only bought 20, again.

I need to buy one of those cat bags to put Bet in when I test him. Now that he's feeling better he's struggling so hard - that's why it took three tries, even with him wrapped in a towel and pinned. Someone told me where to get one. I remember seeing them years ago. I dread trying to get another test tonight. Where's a laundry bag when you need one? Thanks for the tips.
Kathy Einwich
 
Does he get a special treat that he only gets at test times? Most cats learn pretty quickly that if they put up with our nonsense of pricking their ear, they get a really good payout and don't fight it
 
Kathy,

I had the same issues with stores, I spent hours calling places and explaining what I needed. Finally I gave up and ordered online. Look back to my post with a link to syringes I used wih 1/2 markings. They are $10/box of 60.

If his sugar is 101 he doesn’t need insulin. I have a feeling he might be going into remission since he hasn’t needed insulin for 48 hours and his sugar is essentially normal at 101.

Keep testing every day and I would try to order the syringes online.
 
Does he get a special treat that he only gets at test times? Most cats learn pretty quickly that if they put up with our nonsense of pricking their ear, they get a really good payout and don't fight it

Bet has never been fed people food, but I've tried chicken. He tries to run off with whatever of that I give him and otherwise won't touch it. He does respond well to lots of pets afterwards, so that's what I'm doing. Well, off to try his morning test. Thanks.
 
This morning's test, at ~9am CST, was 66, so I guess no shot again. It took 4 tries this time, with one registering "LO" on the meter, which means low blood glucose, per the meter directions. I saw that reading last night too and tested again.

Who needs an alarm clock? My cats wake me up at 830 every morning, poking me in the face with their paws, anticipating being fed. Bet really hates his test (blood everywhere from the struggles) but besides the copious petting afterwards he gets his new favorite food. Thanks all.
Kathy Einwich
 
Good decision this morning.....66 is definitely too low to give insulin but an absolutely beautiful BG.

Given that really low BG of 26 the other day, it may be that those higher blue BGs later on the 26th and on the 27th were a bit of a bounce. I'd give Bet a break today and just test him again tonight when his shot is due. If he is again in normal range, 50 to 120, you may be able to start an OTJ (off the juice aka insulin) trial. Fingers crossed!
 
Looks like you should keep testing Bet twice a day at or near shot time and see how he does. So far he's looking good. If he can maintain normal BG levels without insulin for a period of 14 days you can declare him in remission. If he is in remission it's important to keep him on a low carb diet and to continue to test him periodically to ensure he is staying in remission. This is so exciting! Please keep us posted! :joyful:
 
Looks like you should keep testing Bet twice a day at or near shot time and see how he does. So far he's looking good. If he can maintain normal BG levels without insulin for a period of 14 days you can declare him in remission. If he is in remission it's important to keep him on a low carb diet and to continue to test him periodically to ensure he is staying in remission. This is so exciting! Please keep us posted! :joyful:

No idea why, but Bet's levels were 279 just before 9am CST and then when I tested a bit later they were 230. He fought my getting the blood sample this morning and it took two tries. I gave him a full 1 unit shot.

I could tell he wasn't feeling his best last night - he didn't fight at all when I took his levels. No particular symptoms at that time except for general blah-ness. He ate well afterwards and also this morning. In fact, I fed 4 times yesterday, a full can each time (last just after 9pm), though his sister might have finished a fair amount of his as is her habit. He has an on-again/off again sneezing thing (which wasn't happening last night) that has been showing up from time to time since his initial diabetes diagnosis. The vet gave me some antibiotics for it but said it's probably a virus that was brought in on my or a visitor's shoes. I do think I remember when that happened, a couple of years ago. He started with the sneezing thing then but mostly it doesn't show.

My cats are easily spooked because they went through Katrina with me. They run and hide when they hear rain coming. Even the slightest change in their feeding place will make them not eat, so it makes it difficult to change things with them. They are both easily stressed and freak out even when they hear something from next door.

I'll test again this evening at the usual time and keep a close eye on Bet in the meantime. Hopefully, his levels will settle. This is so unpredictable. Thanks for the encouragement and information.
Kathy Einwich
 
Ok so it appears Bet does still need some insulin support. Now that you gave him 1u you need to monitor Bet through this cycle. That 1u dose took Bet very low the other day, far too low, which is why we recommended reducing his dose to 0.75u. Please test Bet again ASAP. He is now appoachng the time in the cycle when his BG should be starting to drop more and he may drop enough to need some steering with food. Observing him is not adequate as some cats do not show signs of low BG until they are at a dangerous low. The fact that his BG had already dropped 40 points an hour after his shot suggests this may be a very active cycle.
 
Ok so it appears Bet does still need some insulin support. Now that you gave him 1u you need to monitor Bet through this cycle. That 1u dose took Bet very low the other day, far too low, which is why we recommended reducing his dose to 0.75u. Please test Bet again ASAP. He is now appoachng the time in the cycle when his BG should be starting to drop more and he may drop enough to need some steering with food. Observing him is not adequate as some cats do not show signs of low BG until they are at a dangerous low. The fact that his BG had already dropped 40 points an hour after his shot suggests this may be a very active cycle.

Bet's test at approximately 235pm CST was 78. I'll keep an eye on him. The 40 point drop this morning was waiting about 15 minutes after the first test, before I gave the shot, in case there was a problem with the initial reading.

Bet must be feeling better, he's down on the floor, attacking his sister. That hasn't happened in a while...thanks for the suggestions.
Kathy
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top