Glucose Curve

Status
Not open for further replies.

RaniaHaddadin

Member Since 2014
Hi All, I finally got the bayer contour on Wednesday and have been religiously checking Zayts bg. I tried checking his bg on Wednesday night but i couldn't get it right. I was a complete dumb dumb and really don't read the instructions on how to use the meter. Never had experience with any diabetes. When I first started Zayt on Lantus, the vet told me to give him two units once a day. When I did that on Thursday, 3 hours after i gave him the insulin it was at 40 and 15-20 minutes later it went up to 45. I immediately called the vet because I was concerned for it being too low. She then told me to give her 1 unit twice a day. Friday was his first day on that, and his bg was not nearly as high as it was yesterday morning after I gave him 2 units. Yesterday morning before food was 350 and this morning it was 312. During the curve, the lowest it got to was 162 and just now it was 271. I don't know if she will need me to adjust it but I guess I will find out tomorrow.

I have to say that I'm so proud of the little guy, he was such a trooper through it all.
 
We have 2 protocols for giving Lantus

Start Low, Go Slow
Tight Regulation

Take a look over both and see what will fit best into your life.

Its important to understand it can take 5-7 days on the same first dose before it settles. After the first dose level, it takes 3-5 days to settle. This is because Lantus forms small crystals under the skin which gradually dissolve to release the insulin. We call this the depot of shed. There is usually a bit of overlap in doses which helps keep the glucose level smoother.

New folk should not inject if the pre-shot is less than 200 mg/dL on a human glucometer unless there is mid-cycle data to show it is safe. As you get data, you may lower that to 150 mg/dL.

Dose increases are based on the nadir, the lowest glucose post shot. This is usually around +5 to +7 hours post-shot. Dose reductions are based on going below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer for Tight Reg and 90 mg/dL for SLGS.
 
Hi there :cool:

I used Lantus and the Bayer Contour. Sounds like you have got the hang of testing your kittys BG - both important and empowering!

Lantus is a great insulin. Please visit our Lantus Tight Regulation] insulin support group for information on the safe use of lantus. A good place to start is the New to the Group 'sticky' (informational post) where you will find, among other basics, instructions on creating and tracking your kittys BG on a spreadsheet. ( Click on 'Black Kittys SS' below my signature for an example).

Welcome!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top